Lekoa Lodge

Lekoa Lodge

Farm Wolwenfontein, Villiers 9840 South Africa
Traveller (37)
Camping ground bathroom
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 lodge in Villiers
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our lodge is situated on a 9000ha working farm and bird-conservancy, at the junction of the Vaal and Waterval Rivers, 70km south-east of Heidelberg near Villiers and hour and a half from Johannesburg. With beautiful views over the hills and rolling grasslands and abundant bird-life and game, the setting is secluded and peaceful. Accommodation options include beautiful thatched chalets and serviced campsites. All chalets are fully self-catering, but you may choose to dine in our restaurant and bar. Facilities on site: Free Wi-Fi in the Restaurant and Bar with Terrace; Indoor heated pool; Outdoor pool; Conference Rooms; Wedding Chapel; Beautiful Gardens; Function Hall; Landing Strip and Helipad; 4X4, Quad, Motorbike and Mountain Bike Routes; Fishing; Trampolines; Children's Play Area; Boma; Braai-facilities; Kiosk stocking basic necessities. Activities: 4X4, Quad, Motorbike and Mountain Bike Routes; Bird-watching - our area is famous for its bird-life, with abundant species; Fishing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Mini golf
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Billiards
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Fishing
Patio
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Dining area
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Afrikaans, Bulgarian and 1 more

Location

Farm Wolwenfontein, Villiers 9840 South Africa
144Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 49
  • 12
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
taniagreen2021 wrote a review Oct 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We only had one thing that we would have preferred a more private units we did not enjoy being behind the reception area and close to the parking area, it was not private as I did ask for in our original booking, it would have been nice to have a better view in the morning and evening. The staff very friendly and accommodating. The dinner was excellent. However the breakfast portion can be increased we felt it was very small for the amount charged. The drinks at the bar was also very expensive was surprised to pay R22 for a coke that you would generally pay R7 for in a local shop. I think a fair price would be R15.00 the beers and ciders I also felt were over priced. The dinner was fairly priced for the portions that was given. We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the lovely grounds that are kept pristine at all times. Also appreciated been informed of the conferences that were taking place at the time. We enjoyed the hikes that we took as well each day, the pool table was also one of our favorite activities. The ambiance in the restaurant and bar was lovely and we enjoyed that tremendously.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lekoa Lodge, General Manager at Lekoa Lodge
Responded 08 Oct 2021
Thank you so much Tania.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brendathurley wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Chalets could be cleaner and staff more available at the bar area and Restaurant - Do not want to walk into the kitchen to have to place a order.Other than that loved it. maybe use intercom system for the rooms and bell at the tables and bar and outside pool tables.Chalets not checked for correct amount of cutlery and crockery. Water pressure in the baths very low.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
daniellemaree2021 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms, resources and facilities not as advertised on web page. Advertised WIFI, no signal even available, not even to speak about WIFI. Rooms not maintained - plugs with wires sticking out of them, without a plug cap even, just the part that goes into the wall with wires on the outside. One fridge not working. Water either ice cold or scolding hot, the mixers or the pressure was terrible. Service at the bar was bad - the bar lady just told us that she is going to leave now so no ice was even available. No thought to clients. Food was a disaster, the salads was way to weird for a normal for local people. We are not tourists looking for nuts and raw sprites. Any normal salad would have been great, and also portion sizes was a bit few.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dreamer62957 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The night of 20 th Dec untill the evening of 21 st Dec was a nightmare for us. .
Our cottages were in the middle of disrespectful, inconsiderate guests who raved on non stop for 24 hours. No one made any visible attempt to control or restrict the noise. Luckily the rain and cold chased everyone indoors on the second night. What a blessed relief.
At 3 on in the morning and still no sleep, I seriously googled for alternative accommodation and was planning on booking out demanding my money back. The rooms are 'tired' and very poorly equiped
Because the property is not correctly listed on GPS, and management know this, maps should be sent out to guests before arrival to assist them in finding the lodge.
Hannelie however, was helpful and kind and the chef helpful because we had no cooking facilities in the cottage.
Sue vd Merwe
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AELekoa, Owner at Lekoa Lodge
Responded 29 Jan 2020
We are so sorry that you had such a terrible experience. We cannot apologize enough. That night was any host's nightmare and we are so sorry you had to go through that. Although it is rare to get such disrespectful guests here at Lekoa Lodge, we have taken several steps to try to minimise the risk of such people visiting us again. 1. We have updated our Lodge description describing our venue as a FAMILY venue with expectations for behaviour. 2. We have updated our booking terms to include more prominently the same FAMILY venue expectations and highlighted our right to evict guests who do not abide by the terms or misbehave/make noise etc. 3. We have blacklisted the group in question so as to avoid ever having them visit us again. We have also updated our booking confirmation text to include a warning about the fact that older GPS systems may lead guests astray, and advising guests to follow the signs which are available for 20km around the lodge on all roads. Once again, our most sincere apologies for the rudeness of those guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
willemkleyn2021 wrote a review Nov 2021
Pretoria, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Facility is beautiful in a beautiful surrounding. My bed were perfect, the towels were prefect, the fridge, kettle, coffee etc. in place.
The Conference facility were ideal for our needs: very good Airconditioners,etc.
Food were exceptional with Sonia's touch.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky de Jager wrote a review Feb 2022
Pretoria, South Africa509 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The camping grounds is not properly laid out with braai area and electrical points being spaced out far. We also had a tick problem with all the rain.

The bathrooms was not cleaned once the hole weekend we stayed there, they did bring some toilet paper at least.

The food was average nothing special.

The heated pool is inside the restaurant.
Then a nice cold one outside.

I you like to ride bike and quads then this is the place for you.

The garden is nice an spacious with a chapel next to the dam and conference center.

Unfortunately I had a bad camping experience and will not be returning myself.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a chalet and not camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martieroodt4 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Chalet was clean, food is delicious, the people was friendly and the out rides was awesome.
What make it special is that you can take your own quad and you can do your own thing. There is not many places like that.
Will definitely go back again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
886violet wrote a review Jan 2021
Krugersdorp, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have gone to Lekoa Lodge for the 1st time and we were VERY impressed with the service we have received from management as well as from the friendly staff. They have really gone out of their way to accommodate us. They will most definately be our 1st choice when planning a trip again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
theodoreproz wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The manager and staff are very friendly we had a refreshing a weekend, the landscape is awesome, I wish I knew I could go fishing. The food was super nice. My kids didn't like dogs but overall it is a nice place and we are definitely coming back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DJRautenbach wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed over at Lekoa Lodge, and upon arrival I regretted not to have stayed atleast another night to explore some more and enjoy the surroundings of the property. Steven is super helpful with any of your needs or questions and the chalets were perfect. We got that typical Freestate Feeling and it was just a too short visit. We wil Definately visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Vicky de Jager wrote a tip Feb 2022
Pretoria, South Africa509 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a chalet and not camping"
Read full review
RQH wrote a tip Jul 2019
Gauteng, South Africa8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be fooled by Lekoa's empty promises."
Read full review
Montjos wrote a tip Mar 2019
Midrand, South Africa42 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a big car for the gravel road"
Read full review
smendoza2017 wrote a tip Dec 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were camping and it was beautiful with views of the koppies and dam."
Read full review
886andrew wrote a tip Nov 2017
Roodepoort, South Africa77 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Most of the rooms have good views over the farm."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Villiers area.
PRICE RANGE
R 844 - R 936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaFree StateVilliers
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEKOA LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Villiers, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lekoa Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Lekoa Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Lekoa Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Lekoa Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Lekoa Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lekoa Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does Lekoa Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lekoa Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Bulgarian, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Is Lekoa Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.