River Edge Accommodation

River Edge Accommodation

Breede River, Witzenberg Municipality 6858 South Africa
Traveller (119)
Kids having fun in the river at camping area
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 guest house in Breede River
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
There are five romantic, safe, free standing, river rock cladded cottages on the edge of the Breede River. Captivating quality throughout…. an ideal place to share with that special person in your life. Only an hour away from Cape Town! Amenities Wooden deck with BBQ/braai area and hot Jacuzzi (EACH HOUSE) Fully equipped kitchen with oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, coffee plunger Pet friendly and child friendly Free, fast WI-FI at each house. Ideal for a working holiday! Wood burning fireplace DSTV Channels
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Hot bath
Canoeing
Hiking
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Lazy river
Fishing
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Clothes dryer
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Breede River, Witzenberg Municipality 6858 South Africa
487Reviews1Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 334
  • 123
  • 23
  • 6
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KimmyMos wrote a review Dec 2020
Wellington, South Africa4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Camp Chloe at River Edge accommodation is a private and very well appointed camp site right on the river. There are two separate ablutions each with toilet, shower and basin and they were clean and functional. The large lapa area with built in braai and fantastic views over the river and mountains is a real gem and made for a hassle free camping experience. Kayaks and a row boat allow for maximum enjoyment of the pristine river frontage. Our dog loved the freedom of exploring the fenced off area. Highly recommended and we will definitely return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margot-lee V wrote a review Apr 2021
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice and tranquil setting. Stunning sunset views from the deck.
The cottage was well equipped and everything we needed for our stay was available. All we brought with was our food and drinks for sundowners on the deck!
The deck was also enclosed on one side - so when sitting outside - you are definitely sheltered from the wind.
Being pet friendly was a huge bonus and our pets enjoyed the river and vineyard walks as much as we did. The only suggestion I would make is for the establishment to provide a rubber bristled broom to better sweep up dog hair.

We stayed at Benjamin House.

Would definitely recommend and would return for another stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edelgard Lategan, Owner at River Edge Accommodation
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Hi. Thanks for the awesome tip about the rubber bristled broom. Will get some!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie wrote a review Aug 2020
Cape Town, South Africa13 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing few days at River Edge! Thank you so much for the beautiful facilities and great service. We greatly appreciated the extra touches: fresh fynbos flowers on the table when we arrived, complimentary wood for the fireplace (a life saver as there was snow on the mountains) and electrical blankets! We loved the decor and comfort - we had everything we needed and more. The WiFi and DSTV were nice to have, but we especially enjoyed hiking in the mountain and rowing on the river, with our dogs loving the freedom and space even more than us. We can't wait for a return visit!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy E wrote a review Aug 2020
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa9 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful location but service and cottage needs attention for the self catering price of R700 per person. The one plate on gas stove did not work. Microwave did not work too well and was quite old. 2 chairs on the verdanda were broken. When we arrived the one bag of wood that was complimentary was wet due to the rain. We stayed 4 nights and on the 3rd day we were promised fresh towels. None arrived. Both boats were so filled with water from the heavy rains and no one came to empty them for us so we did not use them. Our braai or fire place was not cleaned out once. No complimentary rusks or biscuits like you would except for the price per night. I would suggest lowering the price to R400 per person or improving your level of service and making sure everything in the cottage worked 100%.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edelgard Lategan, Owner at River Edge Accommodation
Responded 22 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. We take pride in our accommodation and followed up immediately about your complaints. You reported the large gas plate not working on the day that you left, but on inspection it worked perfectly. A pity you did not report operating issues with the gas/electric stove on day 1. The microwave is also working, but will be replaced. Regarding the outside chairs on the deck overlooking the river.... we will get more trendy chairs, because the wooden chairs although antique and solid wood keep needing attention. Our apologies about the wet wood in the plastic bag and for the boats being filled with water after the heavy rain.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandraharvey2020 wrote a review Oct 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A very private lodge for 10 peope ie 6 adults and 4 children right on the river with spectacular views. Very well designed with all mod cons, gas stove, dish washer, all the necessary pots and pans, crockery and cutlery and bedding that one would need for a weekend. One criticism would be that the staircase to the room upstairs should be made a bit safer for smaller children. We had a very good weekend and would definitely go back again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Binxrc wrote a review Aug 2022
17 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a relaxed stay. It is very farm lifestyle orientated. Most things we needed was there. We did need laundry facilities because of unforeseen circumstances and they were not able to help. In their defense, this is not advertised. So if you are traveling with a baby keep this in mind.
They do advertise pet friendly which it definitely overall. But you cannot leave your animals and go out. Our dog escaped from the patio area and we had to make alternate arrangements. We paid more for accommodation just because they advertised that it is pet friendly.
Other than that we had a lovely stay. The people are very friendly and the lady did offer to put the dog by them.
The stay next to the river is beautiful and tranquil and we had a very relaxed stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gisela M wrote a review Oct 2020
Cape Town, South Africa35 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 3 nights at Benjamin cottage to get away from home for a bit. As I've been working remotely anyway, it was a perfect opportunity to spend a few nights away. The Wifi was good, though there is no cell reception (I didn't need any).
My tip would be to bring an extension cord so you can work on the stoep as I did, but the kitchen table is also a good place to be.
The house is well designed to keep cool in the heat, and the river was super for a quick dip. But the absolute highlight is the jacuzzi, which I made full use of!
The cottage is very well equipped (even had bubbly glasses), the beds comfortable.
There's a lovely patch of lawn between the house and the river, so bring some picnic blankets to lie in the shade.
Absolutely will be back (with my dog - they are dog friendly!)
Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam Condon wrote a review Feb 2023
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were hoping the photos on FB were current and accurate having not been to REA before..well it was even better in person. Loved the character, coziness and attention to detail of the place. We lived on the stoep, so peaceful and picture perfect. The furkids were in heaven with the well maintained grass area and kept trying to sneak off to explore. The grump teen wasn't so grumpy and said we should have booked a 3rd night. The grandparents were impressed which is a tall order and couldn't wait to tell their friends about it. I can't think of anything to improve on other than maybe have some board games or pack of cards as we forgot ours. We also managed to leave a box behind which Leanda immediately replied she would assist us getting to couriered back to us. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kobusdekoker wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at River Edge was excellent. The view, privacy and location next to the Breede river is breath taking. Also the bird life is great.
Having the house on a farm further enhanced the feeling of relaxing and "shutting off" of the city environment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The site was very well equipped!
The water was drinkable, fridge/freezer was small but very useful, the boats & river were great fun, and the semi-e closed living area was a life saver.

One on our tents broke 2 nights before the end of our stay, but the familyvote was to stay regardless, so the 3 of us who didn't fit in the other tents made a shelter in the living area and were able to stay out the rest of our stay despite strong winds.

The heated plunge pool was needing to be fixed, but we enjoyed our time there regardless.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
178duaneb asked a question Sept 2020
Bloubergstrand, South Africa3 contributions
Do you have space for long weekend and are you pet friendly. Thx in advance.
Answer from Edelgard74
Worcester, South Africa8 contributions7 helpful votes
Many thanks for your inquiry. Unfortunately we are fully booked. Note that we are pet-friendly. Our website has a live calendar that indicates availability. Regards Edelgard Lategan
martinathowardsend wrote a tip Oct 2022
Cape Town, South Africa83 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A swim in the river is a must Amazing wine tasting in close proximity Bring a lighter or matches to light fires wifi is excellent "
Read full review
98sandy wrote a tip Sept 2020
Somerset West, South Africa3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Chalets are all on the river so all have great views"
Read full review
kevinbU2487JQ wrote a tip Mar 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa34 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Coetzer house is the biggest, sleeping 10 and has a nice big lawn area for kids to play. Joubert House is virtually on the River"
Read full review
_mardi_hufkie wrote a tip Sept 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa12 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in Benjamin House, but all the cabins are spaced very far apart"
Read full review
svgurling wrote a tip Jul 2017
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the Joubert cottage which was perfect for us."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Breede River area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,713 - R 1,768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeWitzenberg MunicipalityWolseleyBreede River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVER EDGE ACCOMMODATION - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Breede River, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about River Edge Accommodation
Which popular attractions are close to River Edge Accommodation?
Nearby attractions include Container Padstal (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at River Edge Accommodation?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a hot tub, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at River Edge Accommodation?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at River Edge Accommodation?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at River Edge Accommodation?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to River Edge Accommodation?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bergsig Bistro, Calabash Bush Pub, and Salt Of The Earth @ Seven Oaks.
Are pets allowed at River Edge Accommodation?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at River Edge Accommodation?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does River Edge Accommodation have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.