We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samoset Resort On The Ocean

Save
Share
220 Warrenton St, Rockport, ME 04856-3835
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Destinia.com
View all 7 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (951)
Room & Suite (365)
Dining (39)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 10 in Rockport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rockport, ME resort and golf course located on the coast.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Golf course
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Hiking
Tennis court
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Salon
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Seating area
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1935Reviews58Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 326
  • 390
  • 136
  • 52
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Maria C wrote a review 21 Jun
7 contributions1 helpful vote
There is a lack of attention to details that likely relates to staffing issues. However, management should adjust the average cost of a stay downward given the substandard product. Here are a few of my observations: Garden outside our first floor patio was overrun with weeds. Facility needs to be cleaned more frequently as stairs from restaurants to main floor are noticeably dirty and area around indoor hot tub had debris scattered around it. Kids club was eliminated. Game room needs an upgrade. Musty smell in our room upon entering. We may return next year if the pricing is more reasonable. Otherwise, we will look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 3 days ago
Maria C., Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback following your recent visit. I apologize the maintenance and cleanliness of the amenities were not up to our usual standards, which are not related to staffing. I appreciate you bringing these concerns to my attention; which have been shared with my team for immediate corrective action. While we no longer feature a Kids Club, we offer many scheduled activities instead such as s’mores, ice cream socials, movie night, chewonki nature programs, and history talks. The game room features consoles for PlayStation and Xbox, in addition to our extensive outdoor Ultimate Backyard options. Thank you for staying with us. I would enjoy the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience, and making it up to you: 207-593-1505. With Hospitality,
Read more
Elizabeth wrote a review 19 Jun
Westchester County, New York30 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
My family and I love this resort. We have visited for Thanksgiving weekend in November and also in mid-June. The restaurant is superb. The views from the rooms are spectacular. The outdoor pool and hot tub are magnificent. By Thanksgiving, the resort is tastefully decorated beautifully for the holidays. In warmer weather, the lawn games, outdoor pool and playground are a hit with the kids. There is much to do at the resort any time of year including walking the golf course and walking out to the Breakwater Lighthouse. We love visiting the neighboring towns of Rockland and Camden. Make sure to check out the statue of Andre the Seal in Rockport Harbor and if you haven’t heard or read about Andre, get the adult or children’s book because his story is amazing. Highly recommend as a vacation destination for families with children.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 3 days ago
Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words about our resort and surrounding area! We are glad that you enjoyed the popular Ultimate Backyard which includes a plethora of activities featuring 9-hole disc golf, playground, tennis, basketball, volleyball, badminton, shuffleboard and more! I also enjoyed seeing you share information and photos of the Andre the Seal monument; a local legend here in Rockport. Thank you for staying with us once again, Elizabeth. We hope to see you again soon! With Hospitality,
Read more
Explore307019 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We wanted to love samoset. We arrived and were upgraded to an ocean room and were so excited, so excited in fact that we tried not to make a big deal out of all of the later events. The room itself was beautiful. The resort is beautiful. The service however in the resort was not good. (The service at the golf course and the pool are great). Specifically, the room was dirty and the valet was untrained. When we arrived he didn’t acknowledge us, to the point where we weren’t sure he worked there. When my husband went and got a valet cart and started putting our bags in it, he offered to help. The valet then left our car completely unattended with the keys in it and the engine running for an extended amount of time. He never gave us a ticket or seemed like maybe he didn’t have tickets? It was like someone had told him to stand behind the desk with no other directions or explanation of how valet parking works. We actually came and stole our own car back and nobody noticed. Then , when we went to go to sleep, I felt something crusty on the pillow. Our room had a pillow covered in what looked like blood and another pillow without a pillowcase. The bloody pillow was not just stained, it was crusty feeling. Something was actively on it that had not been washed off. I messaged them that we had a pillow covered in blood (not mine, it came that way). They offered to bring up another pillowcase. I told them I needed a whole new pillow. When I traded them the pillow, they said it might be makeup. Even if it were makeup (a LOT of makeup), it still would mean someone wearing a ton of makeup had slept in the bed, and they had not changed the sheets. They seemed unconcerned. It was 10pm so I thought maybe someone would follow up the next day and it was just a barebones staff, but nobody ever did. The shower was also dirty and had soap scum that I wiped off with a spare towel because it was grossing me out—neither of us had yet used the shower or tub so it was not ours. This shows it wasn’t stubborn soap scum but maybe the shower hadn’t been cleaned either. Nobody came to clean our room two of the days, and we ran out of toilet paper. On the days it was cleaned, they didn’t wipe any surfaces. They hurriedly made the bed and left the pillows on the ground and left. The golf staff and pool staff were wonderful. Overall it was a 5-star hotel being run like a 3-star or worse. We kept trying to give them the benefit of the doubt because Covid staffing shortages and it’s the start of the season, but they should have been more concerned about the literal blood left in the room and the overall uncleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 1 week ago
To our friends from Boston, I am very sorry the linen and housekeeping service in the room you occupied was not up to our usual high service standards, and the guest service response did not meet yours or my expectations. I also regret the bell services were not the usual attentive service shared by our valued guests. I was pleased to read we extended a complimentary accommodations upgrade at check in, and the service at the golf and pool operations were memorable. I apologize I wasn’t afforded the opportunity to to address you or concerns prior to your departure in person as I was on duty. Thank you for taking the time on the telephone recently to offer further details about your visit. I hope the adjustments we made to your credit card will make up for our shortcomings, which will receive immediate attention through training opportunities. We hope you will give us another chance to show you what you experienced was isolated, and we can always do better. With Hospitality, Connie Russell
Read more
Brad O wrote a review May 2022
Durham, Maine66 contributions53 helpful votes
We contacted Connie GM via e-mail to see if he had any availability for May 27-30. He got right back to us and found us a very nice ground floor room #136 with ocean view and breakfast included. The weather was great, we got to use the outdoor pool and hot tub for the first time because we usually come earlier and it's closed. What we noticed this visit was that the staff who are always very pleasant were especially nice and helpful. We also noticed that they work very hard, most of them work double shifts, such as breakfast, then outside at the pool bar and snack bar, and then back in the restaurant in the evening. They always had a smile and time to chat. Special thank you to Carson who assisted Connie in our room reservation. We had great anniversary weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the excellent rating Brad. We truly appreciate your feedback and the time you took to leave us these important words. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your wife on such a special occasion. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the Splash Bar during the warmer weather. We are proud of our Food and Beverage associates and their ability and flexibility to work very hard in different locations and environments. I will inform Carson, and the rest of the entire team about your thoughtful review. Thank you for staying with us Brad to celebrate your Anniversary. With Hospitality, Connie Russell
Read more
Lisa H wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Everything was exceptional start to finish. The service was wonderful our room was clean and comfortable - truly the best hotel bed we've ever slept on! Our meals were delicious and the golf was fabulous - LOTS to do! Definitely visit the towns while there you will not be disappointed. The hotel could not be in a more picturesque place - we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for posting a 5 Star review Lisa; we greatly appreciate it! I’m happy to see you were able to use some of the many amenities we offer, including golf, and in-room dining with La Bella Vita. I’m also glad you were able to enjoy the comfortable Simmons Beautyrest beds; our design team worked hard on our most recent room refresh, which included our sleep sets. Again, thank you for taking the time to share with others your favorable experience Lisa. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. With Hospitality, Connie Russell
Read more
elaine m wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The hotel looks amazing! The hotel looks great with all the renovations they have had. The customer service from the minute you drive up to the front doors is like none other I have ever experience, truly genuine from all the staff you come in contact with. My husband golf two days, and said the course was in great shape and even though he could not enjoy the great views due to the heavy fog it was still a spectacular course. I had a spa treatment and booked a 90 minute service, wishing I could extend my time... next time We had dinner in the restaurant on both friday and saturday night, Mary and her team were very accommodating and helpful when making the arrangements. Thank you again for an other exceptional stay.. looking forward to the next visit!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Beds are amazing, rooms are clean and have recently been renovated
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 1 week ago
Elaine, It is great to hear that you and your husband had a good time with us at the Samoset, even with the occasional fog. We are pleased that you were able to experience some of the resorts well known amenities including; the Spa featuring a new professional product line and services, golf, and casual Italian comfort food in La Bella Vita. Thank you also for recognizing Mary, a Food & Beverage Rock Star. We are so glad to have Mary on our team Managing all four of our popular outlets; La Bella Vita, Enoteca, Splash and The Grill. We will certainly share your review with her team and the service significance it had on your experience. Please return soon. With Hospitality, Connie Russell
Read more
Donna H wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Samoset is a beautiful resort with spectacular views. The unit was a good size and updated. The restaurant was excellent when we did choose to stay for meals. We enjoyed 3 rounds on the golf course with great conditions and waterfront holes. The resort had lots of activities but we took advantage of the great location and went north to Bar Harbor and Camden. Rockland has lots to do as well, and we also went south to Portland. Maine is beautiful, and Samoset is a wonderful and perfectly located resort. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your positive review, Donna! We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share with us about your stay. Wow, it sounds like you made great use of your time as well. In my opinion, Bar Harbor and Camden are two of the most beautiful coastal towns in Maine. I am glad you enjoyed playing our 18-hole championship golf course, which came through the winter untouched. Thank you for staying with us and for the very kind words. With Hospitality, Connie Russell
Read more
Ace wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I ate breakfast this morning at La Bella Vita and was served by the wonderful Samantha. She was very personable, as well as timely and attentive. I can’t wait to come back here and hopefully see her friendly face again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind words, Ace. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about what a favorable experience you had! We are so glad to have Samantha on our La Bella Vita team, and it will be our pleasure to inform her about how much her service meant to you. With Hospitality, Connie Russell
Read more
Maine Doc USA wrote a review May 2022
11 contributions14 helpful votes
Even as Maine residents, we have visited The Samoset resort every year for the past 34 years. Stunning location with a beautiful oceanfront golf course, full gym and spas, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and direct access to a breakwater that walks you out to a lighthouse. We have watched this property evolve and improve and, as part of the OMNI group and under the capable and friendly management of Cornelius Russell, the rooms are now very well appointed and comfortable, the staff is overwhelmingly friendly and helpful and the new pool area overlooking the ocean is outstanding. There are pet-friendly rooms on ground level and this is a great place for families. We travel throughout the world and this remains oine of the best places we know of.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: While almost all rooms have balconies and look out on the golf course and ocean, the end rooms...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 1 week ago
Maine Doc USA, Beautifully said. We appreciate your 34 years of loyalty to us at the Samoset. I believe you may have attended the annual Maine Chiropractor Association conference. Stories like yours, where we were able to make a good impression that lasts a lifetime, inspire our staff. Thank you for your positive review of the resort grounds, amenities and staff; we are proud to be considered as one of your best. We hope to see you for many more to come. With Hospitality, Connie Russell
Read more
David S wrote a review May 2022
Long Beach, New York5 contributions
Had a great time at this fabulous resort. Staff,Restaurant and amenities couldn’t have been better. The view was spectacular and don’t miss taking a walk on the breakwater. Pet friendly with plenty of room for them to exercise. ++++++++++
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Connie Russell, General Manager at Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Responded 1 week ago
David, Thank you for sharing your favorable feedback and kind words on our team, restaurant and views. You raise a great point about our fabulous view of the Rockland Breakwater Lighthouse. The nearly mile-long stretch of granite blocks leading to the keepers station is in the center of our resorts view of Penobscot Bay. We also love our furry friends here at the Samoset! As we are an OPAL Paws resort; dogs receive a welcome kit with all the goodies; bags, dental treats, biscuit, and map. Thank you for staying with us, David; we hope to see you again sometime soon. With Hospitality, Connie Russell
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$269 - US$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
samoset resort on the ocean hotel rockport, samoset hotel rockport
LOCATION
United StatesMaineMid Coast MaineRockport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
178
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Which popular attractions are close to Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Nearby attractions include Owls Head Transportation Museum (5.9 km), Farnsworth Art Museum (2.6 km), and Rockland Breakwater Light (1.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Conveniently located restaurants include Home Kitchen Cafe, In Good Company, and Flatbread Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Samoset Resort On The Ocean offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Samoset Resort On The Ocean?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Farnsworth Art Museum (2.6 km) and General Henry Knox Museum / Montpelier (7.9 km).