We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wolwedans

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (466)
Room & Suite (124)
Dining (33)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 small hotel in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Dunes Lodge is perched on top of a dune plateau, overlooking panoramic vistas in all directions & capturing the beauty of the desert. The building style is a combination of wooden structures and canvas blinds, opening up to the desert beyond. The lodge reflects the ambience of a tented camp, but provides the comfort and protection of a permanent building. Each of the nine spacious chalets with en-suite bathrooms has a private verandah, which connects you to vast stretches of untouched sand. Sleeping with your canvas blinds open is like sleeping under the stars. The main complex consists of two lounges, a number of sundowner decks, a fireplace, a tea deck, a library, the wine cellar and two dining rooms. The lodge also has a swimming pool, suspended above the sand. All communal areas of the lodge open out onto decks with superb views. The variety of recreational space makes a visit both exciting & relaxing. To make the most of your view, we recommend staying three nights.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Laundry service
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

NamibRand Nature Reserve 9000 Namibia
Wolwedans
370Reviews1Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 291
  • 42
  • 22
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Anderst04 wrote a review Mar 2017
Brisbane, Australia248 contributions102 helpful votes
We had two nights in Wolwedans. Magnificent. The tented huts (small houses) with a strong dedication to eco-sensitivity were beautifully outfitted. Slightly quirky to have to dust your bed to get the red-dust off before going to bed. But what else can you expect in a mesh tent in the middle of the desert? The staff - especially Matthew and Moses were attentive and helpful. The chef catered for my gluten free diet (including bread). We were greeted with cold towels and drinks. My only suggestion would be some power in our rooms (to charge cameras and phones etc) but the staff were very helpful in getting them charged in the common area. The highlight was our sundown drive with some game viewing, absolutely stunning scenery and we were caught in a thunderstorm! Watching
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans
Responded 22 May 2018
Hi there and thank you for your kind words. yes, it gets very hot. One small desert secret, we would like to share is that sometimes it's better to travel to Namibia or to Wolwedans in the colder months of May, June and July (even August). At this time the camps are less full and the weather is far more tolerable. I guess one can never really escape the desert sun, whether it rains or not, however, the colder months do give somewhat of a reprieve for the soaring temperatures in our summers. Just a tip. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback. I appreciate your joke about our guide Matthew, he is a joker and we love him very much, he always makes the guests smile and has a great personality that is able to associate with any personality incredibly well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Swiss-whiskers wrote a review Feb 2017
Bern, Switzerland118 contributions81 helpful votes
Well off the beaten track, but worth the effort to get there. We enjoyed excellent service and a huge tented cabin with incredible views, plus oryx taking shelter from the sun under our deck. Lots of nice touches, such as the library and cake-and-tea tent, plus the pool. He especially loved the decor; she was more excited about all the options for outdoor seating. Food was generally very good, but the dinners run rather late considering that many of the morning activities start quite early. Our guide Tabitha was so friendly and knowledgeable; we loved our outings with her, including the sundowners, which were probably the best of our whole trip!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans
Responded 22 May 2018
I appreciate your comments on the dinners running late. We are looking at finding clever ways to not cut-back on the gastronomy, however, to also allow for more time to mingle after dinner at the bar with other guests. This will be something we will bring up in our Operations meeting, so as to better serve our clientele's needs. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, your feedback is valuable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TheSafariGuy1976 wrote a review Feb 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa120 contributions17 helpful votes
Wolwedans occupies a very special piece of the earth. It's hard to top the sundowner location, the staff is attentive & food very good. I found that a lot of extra thought was given to guests needs as there are separate fireplaces & lounge / relaxation areas - in the lodge & at and locations set up around the reserve. Fairy circles & Oryx abound (ps if you are lucky enough to have Pattrick with 2 t'sdrive you around you will be richer for his extensive knowledge)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans
Responded 22 May 2018
Pattrick is our Operations Manager and the reason that our staff are so dedicated and passionate. He works incredibly hard (sometimes with limited resources and setbacks from our remote location) however, he exudes passion and is proud to be the leader of our desert-based team. We thank you for this review and hope to see you back in Wolwedans very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LydiaScholtz wrote a review Jan 2017
Pretoria, South Africa12 contributions14 helpful votes
Wolwedans has been on our bucket list for years, since we stayed in their self-catering former farmhouse (Family hideout) a few years ago. We knew the landscape would be breathtaking and that you visit for the experience of being in such a unique environment. Wolwedans Dunes lodge did not disappoint ito its location. But from their website (and high rates) we expected the lodge to be on par with other luxury safari lodges we've visited in Namibia, Botswana, Zambia and South Africa over the years. Unfortunately this was not the case. If you've been to a Wilderness Safaris or &beyond lodge or any lodge in Sabi Sands (SA) you'll know what to expect at a luxury safari lodge at these rates - top notch service, excellent food, attentive staff, interesting activities, accommodation of
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Wolw123, Digital Marketing at Wolwedans
Responded 31 Jan 2017
Hi Lydia Wow, †hank you for your feedback. We apologize for the late response, we had some issues with accessing the notifications sent to our email. Your review is very thoughtful and we do not take offence at any of the issues you pointed out at all. In fact, we appreciate your suggestions on how we can elevate the overall experience for our guests and it really does help. We can make all sorts of promises to you now that we will immediately fix it, but that would be such a standard and empty reply. However, you can definitely be assured that we will discuss your observations and suggestions on an executive level and work towards finding solutions & alternatives within reasonable timelines. Getting wonderful reviews is always soothing, but criticism reveals what we still need to fix and we do value constructive reviews such as yours. Thank you again and take care! Wolwedans
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Johan P wrote a review Jan 2017
Budapest, Hungary94 contributions96 helpful votes
Very nice lodge in a weird surroundings. More landscape beauty than Wildlife, wlthough if you like Oryx you must go here. The staff tries but doesn;t get to the level you would hope for. Theu offer far too little activities to spend your time here accordingly well. We went for a bushmen walk, but despite 2 beetles and 1 spider we didn;t see a lot.... The sundowner was spectacular. At dinner you sit together with the other guests, we had a whole lot of fun making jokes with the Belgian snobbish family from Kortrijk and the German trio!! Frankly we suggest you don't go here but stay closer to Sossusvlei, better quality!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans
Responded 22 May 2018
Thank you for your review. We continue to strive to give our guests more activities. Now are introducing the E-Bikes and horse-back riding, which will be a first for our Dunes Lodge. We look forward to welcoming our guests back once our activities have been improved upon. Thanks for your honest and candid review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sophie G wrote a review Dec 2016
Bellegarde, France5 contributions4 helpful votes
Very beautiful lodge in a wonderful landscape. Selma is the perfect hostess, highly professional,attentionatel, fun to be with and all the team is great. Our guide, Mervin, and the bushman, Paulus, gave us the most interesting tours in this magnificent desert. Don't visit Namibia without staying in this exceptional lodge ! Hope to come back one day. Merry XMas and Happy New Year to everyone. Sophie G.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans
Responded 23 May 2018
Thank you Sophie G.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ChrisTiane1415 wrote a review Nov 2016
Geneva, Switzerland114 contributions41 helpful votes
Wolwedans will remain the highlight of our 3'000 km tour in Namibia. It is located in a very remote place, at 20 km from the dust road. I fell in love with the place : the desert and its colors, the silence and the wind, the most welcoming and professional team, its exquisite food, the spacious tents and huge bathrooms, being able to watch the sunrise from our bed..... the whole atmosphere of Wolwedans. One has to experience it to understand the beauty from it all and I am glad that we have friends who will visit Wolwedans in January. We regretted not being able to stay longer than two nights.... but surely we will be back ! Thank you Selma and the team !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans
Responded 23 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, rate our service and describe your experience! Very much appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
trunk12 wrote a review Nov 2016
Amsterdam, The Netherlands127 contributions45 helpful votes
We stayed in the Mountain View Suite as part of our honeymoon and can only recommend Wolwedans. The “tent-style house” was of great quality, spacious and we were amazed by the open nature views and the quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful yet giving us enough privacy. The food was simply amazing and can be compared to any top notch restaurant in Namibia. You will be surrounded by Oryx which adds to the remote feeling. Besides the (desert-type)-nature there is not much to do but the guides try their best to make the drives and sundowner expeditions as interesting as possible. It is one of the largest private nature reserves in Africa and also puts great emphasis on sustainability and little light pollution. Especially the latter ensures unforgettable night skies with
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans
Responded 23 May 2018
Thank you very much for your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
schmumues wrote a review Oct 2016
Zurich, Switzerland264 contributions171 helpful votes
We stayed two nights and it was like in heaven. Spend more money and book the mountain view suite. It is worth every penny. Tabea the hostess, Robert (Dr. Food) the cook and Mervin the guide showed us the door to the paradise. The way to the lodge is easy to find. We recommend to do the activities as you even better understand the desert. To finish the day, try the dessert in the desert created by Robert. We can not follow the negativ commentary for this lodge, but it is still a personal fealing
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans
Responded 23 May 2018
Thank you for your honest feedback! Its much appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
croakies wrote a review Oct 2016
California230 contributions158 helpful votes
We moved to the Lodge after one night at the Camp. Selma, the GM was brilliant as once again was Goodly. The drive was the same with a lot of Oryx. Lunch was the same as at the Camp, very disappointing. It is impossible to get soft yolks and service was spotty when dining. Again, great tent and facilities but we were ready to leave as it was slow paced. Love northern Namibia and Skeleton Coast but would skip this area. Need walking decks to tents in both camps! Again, not on my return list.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans
Responded 23 May 2018
I'm​ sorry for your experience. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, its much appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the NamibRand Nature Reserve area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
wolwedans dunes hotel maltahohe
LOCATION
NamibiaHardap RegionNamibRand Nature Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WOLWEDANS - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia) - Tripadvisor