Time + Tide Chongwe Camp

Time + Tide Chongwe Camp

Tent from riverside
Traveller (402)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (88)
Dining (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 3 campsites in Chiawa Conservancy
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Time + Tide Chongwe Camp is our newly refurbished camp, with each safari tent set along the confluence of the Chongwe River which winds through the forested valley meeting with the mighty Zambezi River, creating a haven for wildlife and exceptional sightings. Its eight classic tents are designed to make the most of what Mother Nature provided. Each has a panoramic view along the Chongwe River, a spacious open-air bathroom, a porch with comfortable lounge chairs, and features local textiles and handcrafted furniture. Every day our team serves up satisfying meals, your favourite drinks, and big smiles in the relaxed main lounge. The wildlife hide is great for photography and for spotting rare nocturnal creatures. The small number of camps in Lower Zambezi National Park keeps it free from overcrowding. The area is best known for its impressive variety of safari activities – enjoy drives to walking safaris, or take to the rivers on a boat cruise or canoeing safari, or try your hand at tiger fishing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
Concierge
Outdoor fireplace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Airport transportation
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View

Location

Lower Zambezi, Chiawa Conservancy Zambia
Getting there
Royal Airport
Jeki Airstrip
29.8 km
See all flights
276Reviews1Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 249
  • 23
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Karen L wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the most magical place you're ever likely to experience. Nestled under a grove of imposing Albida trees, it is clearly favoured by the many elephant who graze on the Albida pods. Their presence adds an incredibly special energy to the camp. We love everything about Chongwe, from the spectacular beauty of the location to the many exciting activities and warm hospitality you receive from Flossie and her amazing team. I start planning my next visit from the moment I leave this wonderful place!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 03 Mar 2020
Thank you for such a lovely review and we are delighted that you are already planning your return trip to this most beautiful part of Africa! Best regards from all at Time + Tide
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tammi Brannan wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in Zambia for 11 days. We stayed at Chongwe for the first 4 of those days. I had a sneaking suspicion that our other 2 locations would pale in comparison to Chongwe Camp, and I was right!

Although we enjoyed our entire trip, there was something special about Chongwe: the views and the people. Our host told us that their main objective is to make their visitors feel like we are one of them; they hit their objective on the very first night!

From the guides, who lovingly shared their wealth of information on each and every game drive, to the chefs and servers who cared for and anticipated our every need, to the cleaners and watchmen, who protected us on our way home each night, and lovingly cleaned our tents, complete each day with a new floral and towel arrangement on our beds...this crew went above and beyond in making us feel welcomed and truly at ease.

As for the nature surrounding this camp on all sides, it couldn't have been better: the Chongwe river borders every single tent, so each tent wakes to a 280 degree view of its banks, complete with elephants and hippos. Each night, we could hear the baboons, elephants, lions and hyenas calling to one another. My favorite was to hear "Fat Albert," their resident hippo munching grass around my tent at night - strangely soothing!

All-in-all, I can't wait to go back again. This was a special place, with very special people.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anna Keyser, Marketing at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 06 Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We so appreciate your kind words and you taking the time to share them with us. We will pass on your message to our team at Chongwe - they will be overjoyed to hear how much you appreciate them. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to be able to do so again soon in the near future. Sending the warmest regards The Time + Tide Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Afrizuri wrote a review Oct 2023
Zurich, Switzerland
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the most incredible "all round" lodges I've had the pleasure of staying at. The location is absolutely stunning, with views of both the Chongwe and Zambezi rivers as well as into the Zambezi National Park.
The wildlife that roams freely is absolutely breathtaking and there's an abundance of bird life to be viewed.
The accommodation is spotless and very comfortable, with everything you would need to make your stay enjoyable.
The staff are by far the friendliest and most attentive I've every experienced. Not only do they go out of their way to ensure your every need is met, but they go above and beyond in making you feel welcome and comfortable during your stay.
The food is absolutely delicious, very well made, a great selection and always very fresh and tasty. Dinners, lunches and breakfasts with a view of the river with the elephants grazing away is just something so special to experience.
I can only recommend this camp with the highest of confidence and will certainly being visiting it again myself in future. A true gem in paradise with a team of exceptional people making it a one of a kind place to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela Smith, Marketing at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 09 Oct 2023
Thank you so much for your absolutely wonderful review and kind words! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stunning location, abundant wildlife, and our friendly, attentive staff at Time + Tide Chongwe. We will be sure to pass the message on to our team. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to be able to do so again in the near future. Warm regards, The Time + Tide Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In October we spent 5 nights in the Cassia and Albida suites at Change River Camp! To say it was amazing really is an understatement.

The natural beauty of the camp, encompassing it's incredible location, give it a real advantage, and our international guests were simply blown away by the breathtaking views, sounds and smells. That being said, the location of the camp, even with all its beauty, would be nothing without the staff who simply make the entire experience beyond world class. Floss leads her team with such ease, and her naturally gentle style makes for a camp team that feels at peace and ready to serve! Our boatsmen Sam and Samson were fantastic; Sam is world class and stands up there with the very best of them, his birding knowledge is incredible; Our Chef was so attentive, always asking for feedback so obviously keen to learn and improve himself, the food as always was fantastic!. And then there's Watson, he just never stops smiling and nothing is an effort for him; he really does make the suite experience extra special.

Our two lunches out on the banks of the Zambezi river were quite simply unforgettable we were literally blown away by how you manage to serve such spectacular lunches all that way from camp. The first lunch, surrounded by what felt like 100’s of elephants will stick in my memory forever.

To end off, congrats to the team, Chongwe River Camp really is a stand alone wonder that we are so privilaged to have experienced again! We never stop talking about it and recommend the camp to so many
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Stafford, Marketing at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 14 Dec 2022
A huge thanks from us to you for this incredible review, Craig! Floss and the team will be sent this feedback too, and we know it will bring huge smiles to their faces. We are thrilled to hear that you had an unforgettable time and that you continue to return to Chongwe. Cannot wait for your return in the future. All the best!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jlwellbo wrote a review Sept 2022
Chicago, Illinois
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I visited Chongwe in July for the second time. To say that this visit was even better than the first visit is saying a lot as I thought it was perfect then! I am so happy that we chose to stay for four days, again, as there is a lot more to this camp than just morning and evening drives (which are great, don't get me wrong). We have stayed in about 10 safari camps in Botswana, Zambia, and Kenya, and this is hands down our favorite. Why? The location, the activities, the camp itself, the food (more later), but most of all the really wonderful people who create such a wonderful experience for the guests. All of the staff we met were extremely personable, caring, and really went out of their way to be sure we were getting the kind of safari experience we wanted. Having communal tables (which we had in 2019) would have been great, but given Covid concerns, I was happy to mingle with other guests at a safe distance. Our guide, Leon, was marvelous and very talented at finding unlikely creatures such as a couple of pythons lounging on a branch of a tree! The other animal sightings were of course, beyond wonderful. But it is the people, and the ambiance of a camp, that we will remember forever. That, and the food. Did another reviewer say it was just okay? Really? We had duck that was better than most restaurants, and crayfish, and the bream that we caught while fishing. Seriously, the food here is amazing. Hats off to Vincenzo! And a very sincere thank you to Flossie and Alan and the whole staff for surprising Ross with an unannounced birthday celebration. How did they remember his birthday? What a wonderful place. I cannot recommend this enough and cannot wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Stafford, Marketing at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 10 Oct 2022
A huge thank you from the team for this heart warming review and your continued support! It's always a pleasure to have you visiting us and we simply cannot wait to have you back. We have passed on your most wonderful feedback to the team, and know that this will bring them so much joy. Until next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chipili Chikamba wrote a review Apr 2024
Lusaka, Zambia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent stay in Africa unspoiled wilderness at a well run well thought out locations with world class facilities. The river camp was easy to get to and the check in was flawless. Private guiding ensured my interests were taken care of as we zigzagged through the park and game management area enjoying all that LZNP has to offer. Staff went through extra mile manage meals, refreshments and comfort. The camp itself located at the confluence of Chongwe and Zambezi Rivers has some much wildlife that the safari experience starts there. Birds Hippos elephants and crocodiles are at home in this location where we are lucky to see even elephants crossing the river.
Rooms/Tents are clean and comfortable with views of Chongwe River while breakfast, lunch and dinner were spectacular every single time
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Stay for more than two nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela Smith, Marketing at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 08 Apr 2024
Thank you so much for your kind review, Chipili. We loved seeing the images that you took during your stay! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Warm regards, The Time + Tide Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carol c wrote a review Oct 2022
Coventry, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just an amazing experience, the Albina suite was quite something, our own butler Micheal was fabulous and made the stay a notch above the ordinary, fantastic setting on the confluence of the Chongwe and Zambezi, perfect views, great game drives and river safaris. Loved the canoeing trip very serene, and watching the hippos disappear as we approached was brilliant. Lovely spa too for a massage. Good food and guides. But the elephants wandering through the suites outdoor spaces was more than amazing, being so close to such amazing creatures was nervy at first, but we stayed still and quiet and they just ignored us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the suite! Though the standard rooms are gorgeous too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Stafford, Marketing at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 13 Oct 2022
A huge thank you for this wonderful feedback, Carol. We're so happy to hear that your stay with us was a special one and we'll be sure to pass your kind words onto the team, and we hope to have you visit us one day in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alastair wrote a review Sept 2022
Saint Louis, Missouri
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arranged a family reunion at Chongwe camp for my dad’s 95th birthday, and had the most wonderful time. It’s in a great location right alongside the Lower Zambezi National Park, with wildlife wandering through the camp such as elephants, hippos etc. The accommodation and public areas are a perfect balance of being rustic and yet tasteful and very comfortable. The staff were outstanding - in fact the best hotel staff I have ever experienced anywhere. Great attention to detail, wonderful little touches and surprises, nothing was ever a problem, and the warmest, most genuine and welcoming people. Our guide Sam was superb- the best safari guide I’ve ever had. Thank you everyone for making an important occasion so memorable!
But note that if you choose to drive there from Lusaka airport (as we did), expect a gruelling journey of at least 5 1/2 hours on some terrible roads (though Lusaka traffic was probably the worst)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Stafford, Marketing at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 10 Oct 2022
A huge thank you for taking the time to leave us this awesome review. We are delighted that you chose us as the location to celebrate such a special birthday for your dad and that you had an amazing time. We'll be sure to pass your kind words onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet_C_11111 wrote a review Sept 2022
Durban, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have visited many lodges, but this is the best. The most amazing setting with elephants and resident hippo wandering freely around the camp. The accommodation and public area is well appointed with the river frontage and the rooms are super comfortable and very clean. The staff were exceptional and we were all so well catered and cared for, they are all so pleasant and so attentive to ensuring above excellent service levels. The meals were delicious and catered for all the different dietary requirements of our group. The highlight of the whole experience was our superb guide "Sam". I have never experienced a guide with such knowledge, enthusiasm, and care. He managed our group superbly, which wasn't easy with ages ranging from 18 to 95. His sightings were incredible with a Leopard kill being the highlight (a first for all of us). He went the extra mile on every drive and made a special point of finding and seeing different experiences.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Stafford, Marketing at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Janet, a huge thanks from us all for this awesome review. We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable trip and that you had such an incredible time with Sam. We will pass your kind words on to our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhinoco wrote a review Oct 2023
Lausanne, Switzerland
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an exceptional place ! This camp is located at the confluence of the Chongwe River and the Zambezi River. Our tent was very well laid out and immaculately clean. The tent lounge is very comfortable, meals are served near the fire square lit every evening. The meals are delicious, the wines are quality South African and the chef masters Italian cuisine with art. Safaris, whether by 4x4, on foot or by boat, allow you to discover wildlife nearby. A big thank you to Flossie, Nezzy, Vincenzo and the whole team.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela Smith, Marketing at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kind words! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Time + Tide Chongwe. We will be sure to pass the message on to Flossie, Nezzy, Vincenzo and the rest of our team. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to be able to do so again in the near future. Warm regards, The Time + Tide Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robyn P wrote a tip Jun 2024
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pack some saline eye drops both for yourself and a spare for your guide; their eyes are constantly irritated by the wind. Lip balm too."
Read full review
Jeff T wrote a tip May 2024
Doha, Qatar520 contributions215 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The tents can get very warm even with the fans going in the afternoon and early evening."
Read full review
Chipili Chikamba wrote a tip Apr 2024
Lusaka, Zambia572 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay for more than two nights"
Read full review
carol p wrote a tip Oct 2023
Penang Island, Malaysia153 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"October can be very hot but good for game spotting."
Read full review
smapenzi wrote a tip Aug 2023
san miguel allende, mexico46 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have a massage, the spa is located in front of the river, the sounds are amazing."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chiawa Conservancy area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
chongwe river camp hotel lusaka
LOCATION
ZambiaLusaka ProvinceChiawa Conservancy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TIME + TIDE CHONGWE CAMP - Campground Reviews (Chiawa Conservancy, Zambia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Time + Tide Chongwe Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Time + Tide Chongwe Camp?
Nearby attractions include Camping Sites at Mana Pools National Park (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Time + Tide Chongwe Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Time + Tide Chongwe Camp have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Time + Tide Chongwe Camp offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Time + Tide Chongwe Camp have airport transportation?
Yes, Time + Tide Chongwe Camp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Time + Tide Chongwe Camp have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.