We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Aquila Private Game Reserve

Save
Share
R46, Touwsrivier 6880 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1050)
Room & Suite (148)
Pool & Beach (40)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Touwsrivier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in the pristine Southern Karoo against a backdrop of dramatic mountains, Aquila Private Game Reserve offers an exciting taste of real Africa, just two hours’ from Cape Town. Aquila is home to an enormous variety of game, including the Big 5 - offering safari’s in four-wheel-drive vehicles, quad bikes or on horseback. Dining takes place buffet style, where the chef presents a rich variety of authentic South African cuisine, together with a superb South African wine list. After dinner, gather around the telescope and be taken on a journey of the southern skies. 4-star accommodation is offered in Afro-chic lodge rooms or rock, thatch and wood cottages with alfresco showers. All accommodation has air-conditioning. Aquila welcomes children, providing activities to keep them entertained in the children’s play area. A visit to Aquila would also not be complete without a tour of the Eco Synergy systems: an award-winning project developed to reduce Aquila’s carbon footprint.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Horseback riding
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Mini golf
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
803Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 300
  • 189
  • 143
  • 82
  • 90
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hugh M wrote a review 21 Jan
Everett, Washington2 contributions
+1
They advertise the big 5 but have not seen a leopard for 4 years or more. You see the same few animals on each drive that is why 2 days is more than enough. We were there for 3 nights which meant 6 game drives over the same roads to see the same limited number of animals. If you only have a day and want see 4 of the 5 it works good but not for anything more. We had a cottage #18 which had an out door shower you could not use do to the bugs, dirt and leaves in it which caused it to over flow and flood our room. We had asked them to clean ot and for a broom the first day but it mever showed up. They moved us quickly to another cottage that also had an outdoor shower but this one had a roof and no trees over it making it usable after you killed the bugs. The patios look nice in the pictures but neither of ours had been cleaned and cushions on chairs were disgusting. The food for lunch and dinner was pretty much the same low quality buffet for each meal. Of the 5 places we have stayed on this trip so far this was the worst value for the money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Cheryl C wrote a review Dec 2021
Arequipa5 contributions1 helpful vote
Firstly -the staff were fabulous. Great attitude and helpful. The Lodge accommodation was spacious, clean and well laid out. But that is it. I understand COVID protocols but meals were the bog-standard boarding school bain-marie, curry and rice type fare. They were neither tasty nor appetising. The drinks stop on the bush drive had a choice of cheap, sweet, sparkling wine or sparkling grape juice and a packet of ginger biscuits. And the toilets at this stop were in an appalling condition - and dirty. Where Aquila really disappointed was the Game. They 'sell' themselves as a Game Reserve with the Big 5. They have 3 Elephant (rescues). Three Lion (rescued from canned hunting and in an enclosure), 3 Giraffe. We saw a couple of Rhino. We saw Eland, Zebra and Springbok and Hippo. All in exactly the same space each day. All the animals were fed supplementally as the reserve does not have the environment to support such diverse game requirements. Game drives are done in a convoy of up to 9 vehicles, with seating 20+ people per vehicle and follows a planned route. There was no attempt at searching out Buffalo or Leopard. In fact the Big Five was Actually Big 3 and then pretty easy to find and spot with the feeding. We were hugely disappointed in the experience. We were at two other private game lodges during the course of the last 12 months. Both of the other Reserves were less expensive, had better meal plans (one a la carte and one a choice from a limited menu - but superb). And their game viewing was outstanding and credible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquila Safari, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review.
Read more
David Wagner wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
My wife and I celebrated our 1st year wedding anniversary at Aquila Private Game Reserve. What a fantastic time we had!!! We went on an incredible game drive with Trevor he was so amazing and knowledgeable about the animals. It was an adventurous experience being so close up to the animals. We had spa treatments which was absolutely amazing. Special thanks to Izak as he made us feel welcome when we arrived. My wife and I enjoyed the weekend so much, everything was great from the day we arrived until we checked out. I would highly recommend Aquila Private Game Reserve and I will definitely visit this place again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquila Safari, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve
Responded 20 Dec 2021
We are so honoured that you chose to celebrate with us, thank you! We look forward to anniversary number 2, 3 through to 70!
Read more
Kelly B wrote a review Dec 2021
Milnerton3 contributions
We recently did an overnight stay at Aquila and had an absolutely wonderful time. We stayed in one of the smaller chalets, which was gorgeous with private patio looking into reserve and beautiful outdoor shower. Timothy the man in charge was the very best. I recently had knee surgery and was in a large brace and on crutches and he made sure I was able to be accommodated for all activities. Max, our amazing Safari Guide, was phenomenal and allowed us to have some amazing animal encounters. He is knowledgeable about the animals living on the reserve and absolutely hilarious! Would love to stay longer next time to experience the spa and the quad bikes or horseback safaris.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquila Safari, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your warm review. We are so happy that you had a wonderful time!
Read more
Anthony F wrote a review Dec 2021
La Jolla, California170 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
We loved this safari resort, the staff was fantastic and our Safari guide, Mario was just superb! Fantastic time! Just a few hot drive from Cape Town (do a winery on the way or on the way back (La Residence or Delaire Graff) for an amazing all-in experience. BTW no one seems to visit the newly remodeled bar above the dining area, the views and setting are magnificent and the spa is modern, gorgeous and amazing. We did a sunrise safari, a safari on quads as well as a sunset safari. We loved it, saw the Big 5 and it was just so scenic and nice, we have done other safaris (Kenya, Serengeti, Tanzania) and this one is very nice and easy and very reasonable. Do not miss the spa facility. We booed the larger lodge/loft room and it was nice, a bit rustic but puts you in the safari mood. Great for families, safe and fun but also couples or friend-groups.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Take advantage of the spa but, of course, you're here for the safari. For not much more, get...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquila Safari, General Manager at Aquila Private Game Reserve
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you! This is so wonderful to read from an experienced safari traveller. We are so happy that you had a memorable time with us!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$200 - US$519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeTouwsrivier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aquila Private Game Reserve
What are some of the property amenities at Aquila Private Game Reserve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Aquila Private Game Reserve?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Aquila Private Game Reserve?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aquila Private Game Reserve?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aquila Private Game Reserve?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Aquila Private Game Reserve have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Aquila Private Game Reserve offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Aquila Private Game Reserve have airport transportation?
Yes, Aquila Private Game Reserve offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Aquila Private Game Reserve offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aquila Private Game Reserve?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Aquila Private Game Reserve accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.