We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins

901 N 2129th Rd, Tonica, IL 61370-9658
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Romance Package
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Site
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (104)
Videos (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#1 of 2 Speciality lodging in Tonica
Travellers' Choice
These are scary times we are in... but there really are some special places where you can get away while social distancing at the same time. Here at Kishauwau Cabins the safety of our guests as well as our staff are our top priority. People obviously have concerns and we hope to put them at ease. We have switched things up regarding check ins, forming a contactless check in process. Our cabins have always been thoroughly sanitized between rentals, even before Covid-19 hit. Below are our guidelines on considering a getaway right now. What Kishauwau is doing to keep ourselves and our guests safe: * First I'll start by saying that Kishauwau Cabins is the epitome of a social distancing getaway. What our guests love about our cabins is how well spaced they are. Every one of them has a full kitchen so you don't have to worry about going into restaurants if you are not ready to do so yet. Each cabin has their own personal outdoor bonfire pit with picnic table & grill and they are spaced out enough that you don't have to worry about congregating with neighbors. Just enjoy who you came with. We are not afraid and look forward to talking with any of our guests that feel comfortable coming into our office. • We have implemented a faceless check in process so no contact at check-in. Anyone renting will be set up as a self check in with your paperwork & keys on the table inside your cabin. You will use our cabin map (located in the "Cabins" tab on our website) to go straight to your cabin. * Here at Kishauwau we have always been meticulously clean, just read our reviews. With Covid-19 we are being a little crazier about our cleanliness. Not even using Pledge anymore, just dusting with lysol to make sure we sanitize everything. * From there we feel it is the comfort level of the individuals on how safe they feel with traveling in general. Those that are high risk need to recognize that.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
Hotel links
Special Offer:Romance Package
394Reviews6Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 352
  • 31
  • 7
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
travlinfamily1 wrote a review 22 Jul
Los Angeles, California257 contributions81 helpful votes
My son and I stayed at Kishauwau’s for three nights in July in between music Institutes. We couldn’t have been happier with our cabin. We had such a fun time selecting movies to watch together we didn’t even notice that there wasn’t any cable. It was nice to disconnect from all the distractions of email, texting and social media as well. In the morning it was difficult to get up because it was so quiet and peaceful. The owner, Terisa, was also so helpful. We went hiking and my son got his only shoes soaking wet. Terisa left us a hairdryer in the office and we were able to dry them in no time. We were really lucky as well because when we were there the family was babysitting two eight week old puppies in addition to their own puppy (all siblings). They were adorable and my son enjoyed playing with them. If we are ever in the area again this will be our first choice of accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
NA718 wrote a review Feb 2021
Chicago, Illinois8 contributions12 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
I wanted a getaway that was driving distance but felt like I was really "out of town." I wanted quiet, scenic, and close to hiking/nature, just a true R&R getaway. This was it! We were there the weekend of 2/13 so it was SUPER cold but the cabin did not disappoint. It was clearly well insulated and the wood burning fireplace was an added bonus. Kishauwau is driving distance to Starved Rock and Matthissen State Parks, so there is plenty to do but you still have the solitude of the cabin. The cabin itself was awesome, perfect for two people. Full kitchen, huge tub in the bathroom (which felt great after a day of cold hiking)!. There is a cute store where you can buy firewood or other things you may have forgotten, as well as a huge wall of DVDs to borrow. WiFi is spotty but, that's kind of the point! Terisa was super nice and communicated everything to us very well. We are definitely going back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Terisa King, Owner at Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins
Responded 22 Feb 2021
We thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience with us. We are thrilled we were able to meet all of your expectations for your weekend trip and look forward to seeing you again sometime. Terisa King and the Kishauwau Family
Read more
Connector696092 wrote a review 20 Jul
1 contribution
Had a wonderful time! Cabin was stocked with everything we needed. What we didn't need (ice cream) and everything else you may forget was stocked in the office for purchase along with books, games and movies. Was so refreshing to live without technology for a few days! Terisa went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. Will definitely return and tell all our friends. Thank you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Brandie S wrote a review 19 Jul
1 contribution
We paid 800.00 21 days upfront got there it was a dump . Broken 2 broken blinds one blind missing Infront of the bed broken recliner bed as hard as a rock couldn't sleep on it at all and coffee pot nasty. Place was disgusting.The owner is a liar and doesn't stand by her product. Watch paying for something upfront cause here you don't get what you pay for .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Nesher A wrote a review 17 Jul
Rockford, Illinois1 contribution
We hope to return for more exploration of Starved Rock and Mattheissen State Parks soon, and after staying at Kishauwau Cabins will not even bother looking anywhere else to stay. Spacious rooms, clean, completely quiet. Lots of hot water for showers. Cold A/C. Comfy bed. All the cookware/amenities you could need. They have contactless check-in and check-out down to an art, but they texted us almost daily to make sure we were having an excellent stay. If you are not used to very hard well water, bring bottled water. Cell phone service is spotty, so if you absolutely need to be connected to the internet at high speeds 24/7, this is not the place for you. But honestly, if you need that, why are you going to an area like this for vacation? We were totally pleased, our expectations were exceeded.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Response from Terisa King, Owner at Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins
Responded 6 days ago
We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and what we offer here NesherAsner. An we couldn't have said it better ourselves about the experience here in a getaway. This IS about being unplugged and reconnecting with those you are coming here with as well as with nature. Have morning coffee while enjoying the sounds of the birds. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it. Terisa King (Owner) Kishauwau Cabins
Read more
US$113 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Cabins
United StatesIllinoisTonica
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins
Which popular attractions are close to Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins?
Nearby attractions include Matthiessen State Park (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, barbeque facilities, and books, DVDs and music available for children.
Which room amenities are available at Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins?
Conveniently located restaurants include Starved Rock Lodge Cafe, Smitty's Tavern, and Caseys Carry Out Pizza.
Are pets allowed at Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Kishauwau’s Starved Rock Area Cabins?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary's Catholic Church (11.1 km) and Grand Village of the Illinois (10.1 km).