We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Maxixe Mozambique
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (33)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (4)

About

#64 of 129 Speciality lodging in Inhambane Province
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fishing and spearfishing lodge, also accommodation, located just outside maxixe, inhambane province. We are located 17km from the town of maxixe. Also have a restuarant and bar. Fishing charters are available from the lodge. GPS CORDS: 23 41 48 S , 35 22 37 E
Read more
Property amenities
Airport transportation

Location

Full view
Contact
Maxixe Mozambique
See all nearby hotels
14Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Des wrote a review Jan 2019
2 contributions
Two of us flew over from a damp cold Ireland and arrived in Paradise. The location is something that has to be experienced. Excellent accommodation situated on white sandy beaches surrounded by coconut trees and all a step away from the on site Bar Etienne is a super super host. At all times he went out of his way to make sure we had a fantastic fishing trip. His knowledge as a skipper and his fishing skills are obvious. Outside the fishing we spent many hours in the company of Etienne and Howie relaxing and chatting in the beautiful beach side Bar. Good times and good company. Great guys.All reviews mention the food and Chef Alex. Again, this is something that has to be experienced...Amazing. I brought a Go Pro and got some wonderful footage. We will never forget this trip...the experience....the lifestyle and new friends. Would go back at the drop of a hat. Thank you Etienne for a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Q6738EKseanb wrote a review Jun 2018
Ballito, South Africa11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Highly recommend. Etienne our host was fantastic. From the time we landed it was an experience I will never forget. A must is visiting a couple of local pubs and restaurants. The food at lodge was great and fishing awesome. A great getaway look forward to next trip. Good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Nikki S wrote a review May 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Great food...Awesome hospitality.... Great place to go fishing.... Have visited twice and on both occasions had a spectacular time.. Etienne was a fantastic host and very knowledgeable about his surrounding.. Alex they chef spoiled us with amazing meals everyday... Not a single disappointing moment spent at Silver ... Keep up the good work Team....
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Room #1 is right on the beach and has the best view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
roxyzino wrote a review Jan 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
The location of this lodge is picturesque, it is right on the shore line, the chalets are lovely and for what you pay, it is really value for money. There are definitely some highlights worth mentioning, the chef, Alex is a local with such a talent, the food he made was delicious and his execution of the dishes showed some real talent and skill, really amazing! Leonardo, the young man who ran up and down tirelessly to cater to our every need, friendly and enthusiastic, such a treat. Herbie, the Manager that gave 100% all the time to try and make sure we got what we needed no matter how hard it was to get it. Etienne, fishing is clearly your passion and the trip we had on the boat was really great. There are some very important things you need to know before booking to stay here. Under no circumstances will your hatch make it to the resort, the beach sand makes it impossible to move without four wheel drive. That being said, you will get a tow into the lodge but note, this lodge is a good 20 min drive from the town so if you want anything at all, milk, a chocolate, a snack, you need to think about whether you want to be stranded in one spot your entire holiday or just spare yourself by bringing a 4x4. The lodge is an "eco-friendly" lodge, you will have hot water for about 30 minutes a day and electricity for about 1 hour so bring power banks and whatever you need. Leave your hairdryer at home and anything that will suck up too much power. This lodge was hit by a cyclone in about Jan 2017, there are holes in some of the roofs that need repairing, the rain came through our roof and wet all our clothes, our drone, and basically everything. Although every effort was taken to make our stay more pleasant by Heribie, it was a real bummer. Lastly, when I said shoreline, I meant peninsula so the water is not clear enough to snorkel, you will need to take a trip on the boat or an hour’s drive to tofu to get some really clear water to snorkel in. If you are a bunch of guys booking this place for a fishing trip of a lifetime, you are gonna have a great time!! Ladies, this might not be your ideal situation, we adapted pretty well. Hope this helps :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Silverfishlodge, Owner at Silver Fish Lodge
Responded 14 Feb 2018
ladies are wellcome, but this is mozambique........, and not the ritz.....we have put in new batteries for our eco lodge, and the power lasts longer, but still no hairdryers...... we continue to improve our facilities. thank you
Read more
Hussain I wrote a review Sep 2017
1 contribution
Very disappointed.... hi had to travel 20km on bad gravel... owner told me it was self catering... whilst having shower water was cut off... no petrol for generator... he then asked us to charge our phones because by 11 he needs to put power of... supper was bad.... fish was sticky.... i had booked in at 5 and had to leave at 7.30.... sad...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Silverfishlodge, Owner at Silver Fish Lodge
Responded 14 Feb 2018
you didnt eat here,you ate in the town of maxixe, because you arrived a day late, without notification, and I sent my chef home. I prewarned you. you arrived from zambia, with late notification- I accommodated you at my inconvenience.Your group left for maputo the next morning early, by your own choice, due to the distance. I offered you a discount for the inconvienence of the generator that ran until 11pm- much longer than normal, which you accepted, only to burn me with this review. Do me a favour and dont come back, you are the one who is difficult. As for the road- what must I do? should I take the role of government and tar it???? Obviously, in the business, I cant please everyone.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
MozambiqueInhambane Province
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Silver Fish Lodge
Does Silver Fish Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Silver Fish Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.