We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The BlackSmith's Arms

Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (2)
Overview
Lewes Road, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PN England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
29
25
15
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
29
25
15
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews under new management traditional pub decent breakfast comfortable room piping hot comfortable stay attending a wedding bonfire night road noise full english breakfast car park landlord roundabout hayley taxi ales fires
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A traditional pub with charming and affordable rooms The Blacksmith Arms in Halland is currently undergoing some updating. But even as it is it was perfect for our stay. The beds were comfortable, rooms clean and pretty and the Full English breakfast was terrific. The...More

Thank joandoscar2017
Response from Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's ArmsResponded 2 weeks ago

It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us and we'd love to see you back soon. There'll always be a bottle of wine in the fridge for you!!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As owners of our own pub, we needed a break to recharge ourselves. We needed somewhere we could take our dogs, after a google search we chose The Blacksmiths Arms. It was a good choice. Mark and Hailey are great host's. We were made to...More

Thank PaulJackie201014
Response from Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's ArmsResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Paul and Jackie, Thank you for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us and glad we could have a couple of drinks with you too. We can't wait to call up and see you in the very near...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We called in on way back from Sheffield Park and we were not disappointed. Mark the landlord certainly knew about the different beers available and the food we had for lunch was freshly prepared and very tasty. We understand that Mark and Hayley have only...More

Thank Rushwell
Response from Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's ArmsResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 October 2018

When we arrived we were shown to room 3, the housekeeper had to make the room up for 2 as she had only made it up for 1 despite us booking weeks in advance, whilst we were settling in we noticed the kettle, cups etc...More

1  Thank Miles K
Response from Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's ArmsResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Miles, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that your experience whilst staying with us wasn't what you'd expected. We are continuously trying to improve so your feedback is important to us. When you arrived the room was ready and a couple of additions...More

Reviewed 1 October 2018

In need for lunch we stopped off here and were warmly greeted by the new managers, Mark and Hayley, and tucked into a lovely lunch. It was the usual pub grub but tasty and quick service, we understand that given time the menu may well...More

Thank Nichola W
Response from Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's ArmsResponded 3 October 2018

It was a pleasure to have you come in and see us and I hope we will see you again soon. Warmest Regards, Mark and Hayley

View more reviews
About
Description
Traditional 19th century pub and Inn, near Lewes and Hailsham. Home cooked food and range of cask beers and real cider. A22 gives access to Eastbourne. Near to Glyndebourne opera and the South Downs. Originally two More blacksmith's cottages, it is first registered as an alehouse in 1881. You are assured of a warm welcome from Bob and Lisa at this friendly East Sussex pub. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Breakfast included
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$74 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Black Lion Inn
Also Known As
Black Lion Hotel Lewes
Location
United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$74 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Black Lion Inn
Also Known As
Black Lion Hotel Lewes
Location
United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Photos
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Forge
185 reviews
.07 km away
East Sussex National
1 471 reviews
2.65 km away
Horsted Place
283 reviews
3.73 km away
Buxted Park Hotel
1 631 reviews
6.41 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
The Blacksmiths Arms
56 reviews
.01 km away
The Kings Head East Hoathly
53 reviews
2.14 km away
The Roebuck Inn
91 reviews
3.45 km away
Hare and Hounds
84 reviews
3.83 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Branching Out Adventures
72 reviews
1.97 km away
Raystede Centre for Animal Welfare
191 reviews
3.23 km away
The Lavender Line
82 reviews
5.00 km away
Farleys House & Gallery
54 reviews
5.54 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The BlackSmith's Arms staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All three rooms we booked (two couples and one single) were charming"
joandoscar2017
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Go to the Travelodge Bowship roundabout near Hailsham"
892milesk
04 Oct 2018
Read review
"Room seven has open plan shower/ toilet!"
wendyhutt
23 Sep 2018
Read review
"Didn’t stay but saw people checking in"
Parkinson2016
20 Aug 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing