We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Sands By The Sea

Save
Share
20723 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3625
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$128
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/31
Booking.com
US$230
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
US$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/29
PricelineUS$123
FindHotelUS$212
Hotels.comUS$128
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (176)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (185)

About

#38 of 56 hotels in Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands By The Sea is a mid-rise, family-oriented, beachfront hotel located on the quiet and desirable west end of Panama City Beach. Just 10 minutes from Pier Park and the epicenter of the beach, Sugar Sands offers beautiful gulf views, a variety of room accommodations with kitchenettes and great rates for family vacations! Spend the day alternating between swimming in the pool and the gulf and then relax on your private beachfront balcony. All By The Sea Resorts properties are 100% smoking free, including vaping. Our non-smoking policy includes rooms, balconies, pool areas and public areas. #ByTheSeaResorts
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
20723 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3625
Getting there
Northwest Florida Beaches Intl Airport17 kmSee all flights
Destin Airport56 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
369Reviews5Q+A73Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 84
  • 38
  • 50
  • 99
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Road27792 wrote a review Aug 2021
Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia1 contribution
i have stayed at Sugar Sands for over 17 years. This is the first year i have seen black mold at the pool. They are not maintaining the property. The rooms are upgraded. The price is okay. The views are incredible. When arriving you could not find a cart to help with luggage. The staff didn't seem to concerned.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are addressing your experience internally.
Read more
Ganurse1234 wrote a review Aug 2021
30 contributions17 helpful votes
Where do I begin-WiFi doesn’t work, room flooded, no AC in front room or the bathroom, housekeeping says no clean linens available on our second day, no available luggage carts, parking is terrible, beds are old and you can feel the springs, balcony is filthy, area around pool is dirty and has areas where the concrete is sunk in, room keys have to be constantly reprogrammed, infants/toddlers in pool with no swim diapers, elevator has no air movement and inspection has expired. What happens when you tell staff, apologize. What happens when management hears of your complaints-he keep his back to you and never acknowledges you or your concerns.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 4 weeks ago
We sincerely apologize for these issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will address your experience internally.
Read more
shane a wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Sugar Sands By The Sea Panama City Beach Family reunion 794402490 This place sucked as did the service. Never swept room. My wife finally went to office and got a broom. They overcharged my sister and others for rooms that were already paid for. Then charged her for smoking as well as other family members and they were all smoking at designated smoking area. Not family friendly as they let guys parade around in gowns and show their behinds and junk while kids were out at pool. They were reported but nothing ever done. They were smoking dope everywhere but smoking area. The rats were terrible and everywhere not to mention pretty big. We used to go every year for family reunion but not anymore. My sister reserved our rooms in March and the front desk was very rude and could not find anything not to mention the rooms were paid for also in March hence the double charges on check in day. One guest told us her husband fell through the bathtub and nothing was done to accommodate them either. Everyone that day had problems with their room. Some rooms were even given to other people. I do not recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 13 Jul 2021
We have brought your experience to the attention of management and will be looking into this internally. Thank you for letting us know.
Read more
mandy g wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Do not waste your money. J Check in was aweful. I booked 2 rooms in March and paid for them. I booked a first and second room floor. Got to check in on the Sunday we arrived we had no rooms assigned to us. The lady Laytoya at check in was awful. She kept calling me honey and had the audacity to tell me to relax honey. Hence I am here for a family reunion with a lot of reserved rooms. Instead of getting the rooms that were assigned to us by Lindsey we were all displaced. Now comes Tropical Storm Claudette. Rooms are flooded the motel has no towels. You not dare ask for a mop. You aint getting one. Never again will I be back!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: do not book here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are addressing your feedback with the appropriate departments.
Read more
KelleyM wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions
We just left this morning from a 7 day stay. Overall we enjoyed our time at Sugar Sands, and our room was very clean and we had fresh towels daily and they cleaned our room every other day. The view from our room was unbeatable. We were in 514 on the far end with no hotels next to us on the top floor. The balcony was large and the furniture was in good shape (both inside the room and outside the room). There were also beautiful views from the bedroom and living room area. The walk to the beach was short and the beach was SO peaceful and not packed which I love. We never had to wait on the elevator which was great as well. We loved using the grills at the pool for dinner, which was really nice. CONS - the price was really quite expensive to have literally no amenities other than the pool. I’ve stayed at 2 bedroom condos with a lot of amenities for several hundred less than what we paid for this trip. The roof in several places was missing huge chunks out of it and hanging down, especially above the balconies of the top rooms. There were birds living in the roof of our balcony. (We also saw rats scurry across the pool deck twice, but I think that is standard for the beach). The walkway to the beach on our side was closed for 2 days because someone was painting the gazebo so we had to walk past that to the other side then back up through the sand to get to the spot on the beach where there weren’t jet skis. The pool deck has pretty decent sized sink holes that my toddler tripped in multiple times and I tripped on once. The wooden chairs at the pool didn’t all have cushions on them and I swear at least half of them were broken, with only one piece of wood holding the backs together, one even had a piece of wood laying on the ground next to it. The employees park right in front of the buildings so we had to park in the overflow parking a few times behind the buildings across the street. The lady that checked us in was far from friendly, and a little condescending, but the other front desk staff we came in contact with we’re pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Allison P, Marketing at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback. We are addressing your feedback internally.
Read more
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sugar Sands Motel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandlePanama City Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sugar Sands By The Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Nearby attractions include Selfie Museum PCB (7.5 km), Conservation Park (4.3 km), and Pier Park (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paula Deen's Family Kitchen, The Back Porch Seafood & Oyster House, and Bayou Bill's Crab House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sugar Sands By The Sea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sugar Sands By The Sea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Sugar Sands By The Sea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.