We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef at Marathon

Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (10)


Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Tennis Court
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know


Full view
46Car recommended
Grade: 46 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 22
  • 6
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Beautiful resort in the heart of the keys. Well maintained landscape and beautiful views. Perfect location... can’t wait to return!!! Resurants within walking distant from the resort. Very comfy, villas with 2 bedroom, 2 full bath and full kitchen. Perfect for families and
Read more
With many choices in the area around this price range much care was taken choosing this property. I have some physical challenges so a heated pool and good mattresses were important to me. We were with two teenagers so the pool and other activities offered were paramount. The
Read more
Love the Reef and Marathon, not fancy but just right!! Come every year around Thanksgiving time as primarily a fishing trip and the Reef is clean, neat and accommodating. Also, get to bring my boat and dock it at the resort. Everyone is very pleasant. Never had a problem.
Read more
Response from Rachel R, General Manager at The Reef at Marathon
Responded 26 Nov 2018
Thank you very much Mark for your wonderful review!!! We do hope you continue to come visit us in the future! :)
Read more
This was one of the worst timeshares we ever stayed in. Staff, while friendly are clueless. Phones did not work and we were told the system was broken, so have it fixed ! The water access is fine for boats and not much else, we found it on the revolting side. Units are in need
Read more
Response from Rachel R, General Manager at The Reef at Marathon
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Thank you for your review. I understand your frustration with the phones, as I was just as frustrated, however in the Keys it is not as simple as "have it fixed". A lot of people here, including companies work on "island time", as frustrating as it is for guests if we have issues, it is also stressful for us here at The Reef when we cannot get someone to come in a timely manner to fix something that is not working and at a cost that is at a reasonable rate. When you were here, I had just received the invoice on November 16th, to pay for the equipment needed to fix the phone system, as lightening had struck our main PBX system and blew it up. As the new manager starting in January of 2018, I have worked extremely hard on getting things updated, and I am happy to say that our Board of Directors have approved many items to be updated. We are in the process now of getting all of the exteriors painted, new furniture in both bedrooms in the next few months, and hopefully more approved in the near future. We do hope that you will have many fabulous vacations in the future.
Read more
The villa was nice and clean. Was stocked with everything one could need. Except there wasnt any beach gear in the villa. Perhaps you could request it from the front desk though. If you have a personal watercraft or boat you get a slip included with the rental rate. Also,
Read more
Response from Rachel R, General Manager at The Reef at Marathon
Responded 16 Aug 2018
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and do hope you return.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Island style decor!
Full kitchen and dining area.
Beautiful sunset from our units deck.
Reef Resort View
Reef Resort View
where do you rent boats from and what is their daily cost?
Captain Pipps rents boots but I do not know the price....website/
0 votes
Show all answers
We have a small house broken yorkie, are you pet friendly?
"airport very close, planes flying over several times day and night . Small airport but jumped out of bed due to noise a few times."
"bring your boat or you'll feel left out!"
"Oceanview Villas sleep six with a great view!"
"It is on the Gulf actually. No beach but great dockage for your boat."
"Get a villa on the marina!"
US$254 - US$363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
reef hotel marathon
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysMarathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing