We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6213
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$193
View deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.comUS$250
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (938)
Pool & Beach (389)
Room & Suite (335)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/06/17 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 33 hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Located in the heart of Florida’s Emerald Coast, our newly enhanced beachfront resort features 330 rooms, 25,000 square feet of event space with a penthouse ballroom, two swimming pools, a grotto with a swim-up bar, Fish House Restaurant, The Island Grille, Tripp Tide Beach Bar, Cabana bar and a 24 hr Market.
Read more

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6213
Getting there
Ft. Walton Beach Airport12 kmSee all flights
Destin Airport9 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
2901Reviews108Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 824
  • 896
  • 586
  • 328
  • 267
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kimberly H wrote a review 10 Sep
1 contribution
One of our favorite places to visit!! Beach is out of this world! Love the rock and grotto bar at the pool!! We came with friends and we’ve also come as a couple. So much fun!! Beach bar is great! Great music!! Drinks are phenomenal!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Hotel
Responded today
Kimberlyhargett, Thank you for your kind words! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the beach, entertainment and our very own Grotto Pool Bar. We hope to see you all again soon. Cheers! Charles
Read more
Adventure698604 wrote a review 10 Sep
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Perfect for a couple of newlyweds! So cool to be able to have pool parties and be able to walk out onto the beach whenever we want to. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, which is super convenient!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Hotel
Responded today
Adventure698604, We are excited that your honeymoon was everything you expected and more! The Island has so much to offer for couples too and including weddings. I hope to see you on an anniversary trip in the future! Kind Regards, Charles
Read more
Monica S wrote a review 09 Sep
1 contribution
The whole place has captured the island vibe, no need to leave once you're on property if you so choose. The food is pricy, you are paying for convivence. We did have a couple of hiccups checking in/out however it was resolved and the staff was friendly. I did have an off-putting experience on the phone prior to arrival with 'guest services' maybe she was just having a bad night but boy was she rude!!! Once I reached the manager she was super friendly and helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will most likely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Had a pool view room and had no issues with noise
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Hotel
Responded today
monicas26459, Thank you for your review as it helps us immensely to improve our guest's satisfaction. I'm sorry to hear that your stay started off rocky but I'm proud our team rebounded to ensure you were satisfied with your experience. We hope to see you again on your next quick getaway. Kind Regards, Charles
Read more
OnAir30237 wrote a review 07 Sep
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The location of hotel is awesome!! Beach is beautiful close to fishing pier, Good drinks prices lil high. We had room 5021 King standard not sure what happened to our room defiantly not what was in pics. The room across hall & next door were all up to date and beautiful . I asked about it told me pics online could be diff?? Umm your own TV ad in the room even says EVERY room updated its like they ran out of money at end of hall. Tiles in bedroom felt like it had tacky film on it we had to put towels all over to walk. Tiles in bath & shower moldy. Towel basket half full dirty towels. Its like they just rolled up and put back. I am by no means a High maintainence traveler but if you advertise something & give me a crap room totally not what you advertise that's crummy. CS desk doesnt care. I paid good money to stay here I just expect what you advertise. Only other problem was the PARKING. We couldn't find parking 2 nights after getting back from fishing had to ask where to park?? They told us some parking garage next door. We had a Beachfront room had to park in parking garage next door. I get it was a holiday but if your older this is a LONG walk. Other than the room overall good food beach bars & pool. I gave 3 stars only because my room suxed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Hotel
Responded today
OnAir30237, I'm sorry your room didn't live up to your expectations! All of our rooms were updated from 2019-2020 and our team will investigate to make adjustments so our shortfalls don't happen again. It seems some of the items were service failures and we will act quickly to correct. We do have a plan in place for parking for our busy days were it can be difficult to find parking. We look forward to improving this for our guests. I'm happy you enjoyed the resort overall and hope will give us another chance soon. Warm Regards, Charles
Read more
Tara H wrote a review 06 Sep
Healdsburg, California52 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
When we were at this hotel for Labor Day weekend. They had live music on the beach or in the bar on the beach, they had games for kids, and an excellent buffet breakfast where someone can make you an omelette that is just amazing! I thought the service was great, beds were very comfortable. I felt the place was really safe, they hired security guards for the weekend who are friendly and knowledgeable. Basically were retired couple visiting our grandchildren in the area. I thought we would enjoy being on the beach, it was even better than I thought! The morning walks and the sunset walks were just beautiful. The swim up bar at the grotto isn’t bad either. I had way too many piña colada’s :-). Needless to say will be back, and I recommend this place wholeheartedly. PS I do work for an airline and I know a good deal when I see it. This place fit the bill
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Hotel
Responded today
454tarah, Thank you for such kind words! We are happy you were able to enjoy all the great entertainment, food, and The Island experience! Our mission is to provide excellent service to our guests and are we are happy to see the results! Look forward to seeing you next time. Cheers, Charles
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandleFort Walton Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Island Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Island Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Zone 60 (0.3 km), John C Beasley Park (0.5 km), and Okaloosa Island Fishing Pier (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Island Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Island Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Island Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Island Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Island Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Al's Beach Club, Floyd's Shrimp House, and Rockin Tacos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Island Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Island Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does The Island Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Island Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does The Island Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.