We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Island Ft Walton Destin by Hotel RL

Save
Share
1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6213
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
4 people have started booking this hotel
Booking.com
US$211
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/07
Priceline
US$211
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/07
getaroom.com
US$211
US$135
View deal
SAVE US$76
FindHotelUS$211
Hotels.comUS$211
eDreamsUS$211
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (889)
pool_amp_beach (392)
room_amp_suite (319)

About

#16 of 33 hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of Florida’s Emerald Coast, our newly enhanced beachfront resort features 329 rooms, 25,000 square feet of event space with a penthouse ballroom, two swimming pools, a grotto with a swim-up bar, Nineteen66 Southern Grill & Tap House, The Island Grille, Tripp Tide Beach Bar and a beachside coffee truck serving award-winning Victrola coffee.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
hotel_amenity_free_parking
amenity_free_internet_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_pool
amenity_fitness_center_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_bar_lounge
hotel_amenity_beach
hotel_amenity_evening_entertainment
amenity_business_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_parking_garage
hotel_amenity_wifi
hotel_amenity_hot_tub
hotel_amenity_outdoor_pool
hotel_amenity_heated_pool
hotel_amenity_restaurant
hotel_amenity_breakfast_available
hotel_amenity_breakfast_buffet
hotel_amenity_kid_friendly_buffet
hotel_amenity_kids_meals
hotel_amenity_vending_machine
hotel_amenity_swimup_bar
hotel_amenity_poolside_bar
hotel_amenity_conference_facilities
hotel_amenity_banquet_room
hotel_amenity_meeting_rooms
hotel_amenity_baggage_storage
hotel_amenity_convenience_store
hotel_amenity_gift_shop
hotel_amenity_newspaper
hotel_amenity_outdoor_furniture
hotel_amenity_picnic_area
hotel_amenity_sun_loungers_beach_chairs
hotel_amenity_sun_terrace
hotel_amenity_sun_umbrellas
hotel_amenity_atm_on_site
hotel_amenity_24_hour_front_desk
hotel_amenity_laundry_service
hotel_amenity_self_serve_laundry
Show more
Room features
hotel_amenity_blackout_curtains
hotel_amenity_air_conditioning
hotel_amenity_housekeeping
hotel_amenity_private_balcony
hotel_amenity_room_service
hotel_amenity_refrigerator
hotel_amenity_cable_satellite_tv
hotel_amenity_flatscreen_tv
hotel_amenity_safe
hotel_amenity_telephone
hotel_amenity_private_bathrooms
hotel_amenity_wake_up_service_alarm_clock
Show more
Room types
hotel_amenity_ocean_view
hotel_amenity_bridal_suite
tags_category_tag_non_smoking_rooms_1
hotel_amenity_family_rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
hotel_style_tag_11262
hotel_style_tag_9669
Languages Spoken
hotel_amenity_english, hotel_amenity_spanish
2836Reviews102Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 779
  • 889
  • 584
  • 326
  • 258
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Suzann47 wrote a review 08 Jun
Belleville, Illinois292 contributions122 helpful votes
We loved staying here. We had a ocean front room. When you walk outside the beach is right there. There is a Beach Bar right on the beach. We would get our drink and sit there and watch the ocean waves. So glad they had this beach bar. There was entertainment every night at this bar. There is also a Groto bar which is awesome. The pool is great & there is entertainment there also. There is a nice restaurant & another snack bar. The staff are awesome especially Lucy, Shaun, Jennifer & Lauren. We had a nice balcony & the room was really nice & clean. I will definitely go back to this place. I don't know why some of the reviews are bad because this is the place to go. We left the Sandestin Resort & came here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Room Tip: We were on top floor which was the fifth floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Ft Walton Destin by Hotel RL
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Suzann47, Thank you for your kinds remarks! The Island is the place to be and I have shared your words with our ladies and gentlemen here. Our Islanders always strive to make every guest leave with a memorable experience that will bring you back again and again to your home away from home. Cheers! Charles
Read more
DWH wrote a review 07 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
All of the 1 to 2-star reviews are 100% accurate. Please do not roll the dice and hope for a great experience. The overall atmosphere of this place is low budget and grimy. The two pool areas are in need of major improvements and the walkways throughout the grounds are riddled with broken/cracked tiles waiting to cut a foot open. The main lobby area seems to be where the majority of the renovation dollars were allocated. I was never able to pinpoint the source of the burnt marijuana smell that would occasionally waft through the courtyard so I didn’t bother to alert the security guard. Do yourself a favor, spend more money to stay at a decent hotel and avoid the sketchy clientele that this place attracts.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Ft Walton Destin by Hotel RL
Responded 4 days ago
Dear K5911Fdavidh, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. Please know we have discussed your feedback and always look for ways to improve our experience here at The Island. We hope you will give us another try on your next trip to the Emerald Coast. Kind Regards, Charles
Read more
Jana L wrote a review 07 Jun
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Do not waste your money on this “resort”. It’s not at ALL what they claim. Dirty dilapidated stairwell with no elevator, the pool is unclean, towels were stained, and there was a gap in door .The “swim up bar” is not a bar. It’s a walk up counter to order. We stayed 1 night of the 5 planned , canceled and booked an actual resort down the street.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Ft Walton Destin by Hotel RL
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Kittymarie1973, I'm sorry to hear that your experience didn't live up to your expectations. A top priority for our team is sanitization and ensuring our guests have a clean, safe and fun environment! We will review further with our leaders. Our resort does depict some historic Florida appeal and creates a unique environment where all guests alike can enjoy our amenities, beautiful emerald coast and southern hospitality! Kind Regards, Charles
Read more
Charlie P wrote a review 04 Jun
3 contributions
The noise is insane. Seems very run down for bosting about a 15 million dollar renovation. Our door was so slanted I could fit my index finger through the gap on one side. Its as if there is no insulation in the walls to stop noise from room to room. For the price they are charging I expect better. Reminds me of a low grade motel 8. If you don't mind being woken up through the night the pool is nice. I would rate higher if the price was better. Its hard to give any stars when you take into consideration alternatives as this price point.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
ur_question.prompt.11
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Ft Walton Destin by Hotel RL
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Charlie1P1, We are sorry to hear about condition of your door and will rectify the issue immediately. Please know we are always here to help during your stay and to make it more comfortable. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Warm Regards, Charles
Read more
Florida_family_kids wrote a review 02 Jun
Ocala, Florida348 contributions118 helpful votes
Great location very friendly for children great poor kids loved it. Walking distance to attractions and restaurants very clean beach. Rooms are small for a family size of five recommend joining rooms for larger groups. Recommend first floor for either pool or beach side
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: First floor for beach or pool side recommend it
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Ft Walton Destin by Hotel RL
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Florida_family_kids, We are happy to hear your family enjoyed all The Island has to offer! We hope to see you again soon! Cheers! Charles
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$151 - US$348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada plaza beach hotel fort walton beach, ramada fort walton beach, fort walton beach ramada
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandleFort Walton Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
331
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing