We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Key Resort

Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (6)


The Dolphin Key Resort is a new Hotel located one block from Down Town Cape Coral, with 35 bars and restaurants to enjoy. You can also go visit the Wicked Dolphin Rum distillery and see how rum is made or go fishing of the pier at the yacht club beach, all for free. If you want to shop visit Miramar outlets 45 min from the resort or walk around town and visit the local stores. A drive to Pine Island is strongly recommended if you want to see the genuine real Florida Gulf Coast life.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Heated pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know


Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
36Restaurantswithin 0,5 km
4Attractionswithin 0,5 km
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 138
  • 142
  • 74
  • 34
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My husband found this place and surprised me- driving up was not too impressed-looks like an older motel-but..don’t drive away!!! The reception staff are great-helpful, patient and welcoming. The rooms are clean and very spacious w high 14ft ceilings-coffee maker in room,
Read more
Response from Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Hi, Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy that you had a good stay with us. I will tell all the staff. They all work hard to make our guests happy. Welcome back!
Read more
we booked this hotel through travelocity it had resort in name and pictures on line are nice. when we arrived and saw outside building we were concerned it's not nice and no curb appeal. our room was not ready so we went to the bar. the bar is wonderfull and so is the pool. we
Read more
Response from Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Barbara, I am glad you enjoyed the most of your stay, but I am really upset over your experience that night. (We did have to get rid of the couple two rooms down from you due to the incident). We take our security very serious which is why we have the looks we do. The bolt is 2.5'' long. You can't even unhinge the door and take it off. We never have staff in the lobby at night, but do have a security guard.(who sadly was not there, why I am looking in to). We have only had two incidents in 8 years, but that doesn't help the most unpleasant experience you had. We are truly sorry, but be sure no one can come in to the room. Again so sorry for that experience.
Read more
Just got home from our March break 2019 holiday from Cape Coral. First this is not a 5 star resort and it's not quiet. However it is clean, the staff are very friendly, food is good, rooms are clean, property is clean, good entertainment at the bar, fun crown, pool was clean. So
Read more
Response from Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Hi, I thank you for your review! I will tell the guys!
Read more
Stayed here several nights. Not a “new” hotel as advertised, but an OLD 2 story (no elevator) motel that had the “lipstick put on a pig” renovation done. Paper thin walls. Others complained about pool side/bar noise, let me tell you, street side is just as noisy with squeaky
Read more
Response from Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We really tried hard. The entire resort was gutted out and renovated 2011-2015. And we have won best hotel in town the last 5 years. We also have the lowest prices.
Read more
We stayed at the Dolphin Key Resort because it was affordable and allowed us money to spend visiting Ft. Meyer and Sanibel Island. The staff were all so nice, respectful and accommodating. Donna, who was working the front desk upon our arrival was very inviting and allowed us an
Read more
Response from Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you back!
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
More bodily fluid stains and hairs on mattress.
Bed bug on bed.
Even ore bodily fluid stains and hairs on mattress.
More bodily fluid stains and hairs on mattress.
Random bug crawling around the floor.
Hi! We have a six and nine year old. Would this be a good hotel for a family? Thanks!
Only if its through the week but that is ify in itself. Weekends consist of loud music and partying that can be heard even in the furthest rooms. Dont bother with the free breakfast, it consists of day old bagels, stale bread and quartered oranges.
0 votes
Show all answers
do you supply rollaway beds?. If so, How much?
Hi, no all rooms are with two double beds or a king bed.
0 votes
we didn't have kids but I seen plenty in the pool
0 votes
Show all answers
I don't remember seeing pets when we were there. They do have air conditioning . We stayed in April.
0 votes
"If noise is a concern, at booking request street-side upstairs room. Live music ends 11pm Friday, Saturday; 9pm Sunday & 930 weeknights."
"If you don't want to deal with the Tiki Hut traffic and live music, don't stay in a courtyard room."
"Get as far away as possible from the tiki bar"
"try to get a pool side room, if you like excitement."
"Choose another establishment at which to stay."
US$94 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastCape Coral
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing