We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth

Save
Share
Corner Lodge and Beach Roads, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6013 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$82
View deal
Expedia.com
US$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/20
Trip.com
US$73
View deal
PricelineUS$81
TravelocityUS$75
Destinia.comUS$83
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (111)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 13 hotels in Summerstrand
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. The hotel consists of 91 suites and studios some with sea facing views. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
69Somewhat walkable
Grade: 69 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0 km
2Attractionswithin 0 km
205Reviews3Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 90
  • 23
  • 10
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Expedition782683 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
If you're looking for accommodation with all the frills this is it. A very clever use of space for the kitchen and the bathroom is big enough to have a party in! The room was very comfortable with a lounge and dining area. The ironing board and iron in the cupboard was a great idea. I've never seen it stored like that before. It had a custom iron holder attached to the ironing board that enabled it to be hung on the hanging rail,very clever.We couldn't have asked for more. If traveling with children or friends there was a pull out couch bed too. Fantastic restaurant available should you choose not to eat in your room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing one of our hotels as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
jdmrUk wrote a review Jun 2022
uk135 contributions102 helpful votes
We stayed for a few nights on business. The location is great and the view excellent. The layout is a little strange with no lifts to two floors, so if you have mobility issues phone ahead. If you have heavy luggage you get a free workout. The rooms are a little tired and In need of some refurbishment, especially the bathroom where there was black mould on the ceiling. I had to move rooms because of a maintenance problem on the first night. I would stay again based on value for money, but I would also shop around.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MkhuluBuhali wrote a review Feb 2022
Boksburg, South Africa8 contributions3 helpful votes
I forgot my cell phone in the car which my colleague had car keys and he was already in his room, which I couldn’t remember the number. I politely requested my colleague’s room number. Phathiswa and Nono refused cause against hotel policy to share guest room number.Fair and squire, for security reasons. But they couldn’t assist me by calling my colleague to confirm if he knows me or allowing me to talk to him. I had no choice but to raise my voice and promise to escalate this matter to the management, it is when Nono gave me my Colleague’s room number. One is wondering what if it was emergency, how will they have this matter.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Responded 23 Feb 2022
Thank you for staying at Courtyard Hotel Waterfall City and taking the time to provide feedback. We are so sorry you were upset by our reception team not initially disclosing the room number of your colleague. For the safety of our guests, we do not share their room numbers with anyone. However, we accept that we could have relayed this message in a way that did not add to your frustration. We are pleased that the situation of your phone was resolved and do hope you will forgive our team’s over-zealous adherence to security protocols. We aim to deliver the very best customer service to our guests and hope you will stay with us again so that we may wow you.
Read more
Charles wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Ok except for the sewer water on the floor that leaked continuously in the toilet cubicle and the terrible smell it produces in their room 301. I got sick as a result and had to get medication for this. Unfortunately not a good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHG Marketing, Owner at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth as your accommodation provider and taking the time to review your stay. Firstly, we would like to apologise profusely for the leaking toilet and bad experience you had as a result. Our maintenance team has attended to the matter and we trust it won’t happen again. We were pleased to move you to a new room and appreciate your staying on as a guest with us. We hope the rest of your stay was a pleasant one and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
Karin V wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
Wonderful view, friendly staff and best location to various restaurants within walking distance. Having a kitchenette was also fantastic as we could warm up pies or keep drinks cold in the fridge. The cleaners, servicing the rooms were unobtrusive and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Higher floors have most beautiful beach view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Responded 07 Oct 2021
Thank you for choosing one of our hotels as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
Paly-Pali wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The reception and hotel staff were friendly and we were well-received. Special mention to Pretti who made sure to assist me with checking in and retrieving my lost items! She was courteous, very kind and extremely professional! The inimitable Courtyard standard of LARGE homely rooms which I've become accustomed was met! This is a key feature I look for; that distinguishes Courtyard Hotels from the rest in my opinion! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home while getting a hotel experience; Courtyard is the place for you! The only thing that did not work well for me was contacting staff via WhatsApp. It was not effective in my experience and I received a response more than 2hours later and none at all. I ultimately had to call reception through my cellphone which was not ideal! The noise level on my last evening was also intolerable but ultimately resolved.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Leon wrote a review Dec 2020
South Africa5 contributions
The stay at Courtyard Hotel was magnificent. The hotel staff are professional; helpful and friendly in particular Sandile at the reception and Phatheka. I really had an epic stay, will surely come back again with my family. The security Officer at the gate was also very helpful and professional.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Responded 18 Jan 2021
We are so pleased to read such a review! Thank you for staying with us and commending our staff for their great efforts to give you a comfortable stay, meeting all your requirements and needs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
andre wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
the covid19 preparation / protocol are beyond the standard and one can highly recommend this hotel. From reception, cleaning staff to security personnel all maintain a very high standard of professionalism, helpfulness, friendliness adhering to covid19 regulations and exceed the standard laid down by the law. This hotel are highly recommended and anyone can with peace of mind book and stay. There is no chance for the virus to make bed at this facility. Well done
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: best view, very quiet, very clean
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Responded 08 Dec 2020
Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us
Read more
JulieG wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
Rest well at this hotel. Rooms are large, some are sea facing. Great WiFi, breakfast packs were good. Location on beachfront great for leisure travelers with fall lilies and small children. Port Elizabeth is a great town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Responded 02 Jul 2020
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Esvee wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Me and my son was booked in by my generous Boss Adriaan. We had the best time of out lifes. Just wish we could have stayed for a week. Not just one night. The staff is always friendly and willing to assist. Rooms are clean an well maintained. Just ons awesome experience for my first time ever in a Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Thank you for choosing one of our hotels as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard port elizabeth, port elizabeth courtyard
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort ElizabethSummerstrand
NUMBER OF ROOMS
91
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth?
Nearby attractions include The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World (0.4 km) and Nu Metro Boardwalk (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ginger The Restaurant, Blue Waters Cafe, and Barney's Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Prince Alfred's Guard Memorial (5.5 km), Old Post Office Building (3.3 km), and The Prince Alfred's Guard Drill Hall (3.6 km).