Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge

Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge

15 Scarborough Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001 South Africa
Traveller (136)
I tried to capture a panoramic shot to get everything in. A pic will never represent how quaint
Room & Suite (42)
Breakfast in the dining room
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 2 boutique hotels in Summerstrand
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
This luxury boutique hotel in PE is one of a select portfolio of lodges brought to you by Lion Roars Hotels and Lodges, and offers distinctive 4-star accommodation in Summerstrand in Port Elizabeth. Setting itself apart from the "every-room-looks-the-same" standardization of the major hotel chains, Singa's modern fusion of Eastern & African architecture and decor is an artistic masterpiece. Each of the twelve suites is a unique space that not only provides deep comfort, but also inspires and enriches your journey
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Diving
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Xhosa

Location

15 Scarborough Street, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Port Elizabeth Airport
363Reviews1Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 180
  • 95
  • 50
  • 20
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ugoven501218 wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are nice but made of paper apparently, hopefully you don't have noisy neighbors on your stay or people who finish the hot water as it is a shared geyser.

Breakfast is OK, cold spread disappointing but the kitchen are great and cooking hot meals both for dinner and breakfast.

Luckily the service from the custodians was amazing and friendly, though don't expect to see an owner to have a chat with.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LionRoarsHotels, Manager at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Hi there, Thank you kindly for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to voice your comments - this kind of feedback is not what we are used to hearing. All your comments and concerns have been escalated to management for further investigation so that we can avoid any of this happening again in the future. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at Singa soon. Warm Regards, The Singa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thijs wrote a review Jul 2023
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The neighbourhood doesn’t seem quite appealing, but the accommodation feels very safe! There is a gate and private parking which is a big plus. The rooms were a bit disappointing compared to the pictures, but still nice. There is no generator for the rooms during loadshedding, but there is a chargeable light and warm water. The breakfast was nice and the reception was very nice as well (made it possible for us to check out at 5 in the morning with breakfast on the go as well).
Would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lion Roars, Owner at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Responded 28 Jul 2023
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you found our accommodation to be comfortable, safe, and secure. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings, and it's wonderful to hear that our reception team was accommodating and attentive to your needs, allowing for an early check-out with breakfast to go. Your positive remarks mean a lot to us, and we would be more than happy to welcome you back for another visit in the future. Thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, The Singa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
j0eymac wrote a review Feb 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel staff was very friendly, seamless check in.

Rooms are in dire need of some maintenance, light bulbs fused in the bathroom, toilet seat, has seen better days as the wood is exposed and starting to swell.

Baby bed was not available, scarcity of plugs around the room, no hair dryer. Overall cleanliness could be better.

Breakfast was just okay! ,

Generally choose to stay at a guesthouse given my passion for supporting local small businesses and don’t mind paying an extra few hundreds as the money supports local families, however given the price, and the product I received, I would rather choose to spend my money elsewhere, sad reality, but the pictures are worlds apart from reality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lion Roars, Owner at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Responded 02 Mar 2022
Dear Joey, Thank you kindly for this feedback. We're sorry to hear that your room had a few maintenance issues that let down your stay. All your concerns have been shared with our maintenance manager and we will put all our efforts into getting this up to the high standard that we are usually known and loved for. We are pleased to hear that our wonderful staff were friendly and your check-in was great. Hope to welcome you back one day. The Singa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melcape01 wrote a review Dec 2022
Krugersdorp, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is beautifully advertised and you will really think you are going to a 5 star resort! Hardly! Once we took the corner we saw the roof was not cleaned and their name sign on the wall had been damaged (obviously by weather conditions), but we knew that a 5 star resort would not allow such neglect. Upon entry the reception area really looked like a hostel, there was nothing inviting (nothing 4 or 5 star about it). The kind lady behind the counter made me reconsider leaving.

We would suggest that they seperate the guests entry from the breakfast room, as you have to walk through the restaurant, to get to your room with all your baggage. The hotel room is very average, i would say, at one time this hotel must've been thriving, you can see the person that originally had a vision for this place had thought of beautiful opulent african decor, but unfortunately that is not so anymore. Breakfast was very sad, the other guests that were there warned us not to eat the fruit as its gone off, the crockery and serving dishes that were used, were there for many many years. The one thing I can say is that the staff are kind and whoever the owners are I can tell you that's the only thing keeping this place going, It's your staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lion Roars, Owner at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Responded 09 Feb 2023
Dear Mel, Thank you for your feedback. Our team is dedicated to providing friendly and personalized service, and we're happy to hear that you got to meet our friendly team. The rest of your review is very disappointing to hear! We appreciate you bringing this to our attention - we're working hard to improve our processes and we hope we get to host you again to make things right. Kind Regards, The Singa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emiliano S wrote a review Sept 2022
Milan, Italy
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We can't really call it a five star lodge. The room that was assigned to us was in need of care (falling shutters, poor cleaning, clogged sink). Twice we ran out of power for two hours. To finish we had an early flight and the lodge provided us with two breakfast boxes which I do not wish on anyone (semi-empty toast and spoiled fruit).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lion Roars, Owner at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Responded 23 Sept 2022
Hi there, Your review was difficult to read for us, but hank you for taking the time to rate Singa Lodge, your feedback really helps us to see where we need more direction and improvement for all our guests to enjoy their time spent with us. All your concerns have been escalated to management for further investigation. We hope you will return to Singa so that we can better your memories of us. Warm Regards, The Singa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janice Smith wrote a review Sept 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After experiencing fabulous 5 star hotels from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth, to say we were disappointed with Singa Lodge is an understatement. Their web page advertises a restaurant stating “after sundowners, Singa’s gourmet dinner menus can be enjoyed in the private dining room” but when we arrived we were told they didn’t have one, and we would have to go out to eat. As there was to be load shedding from 8.30 to 10.00 pm we decided to go out first and find somewhere to eat and return to get ready for our early start the next morning when we had to leave to return our hire car at the airport. When we were shown to our room we noticed how shabby it was, a big chunk was out of the bottom corner of a concrete wall, and the furniture was very tired. The lighting provided for when the electricity went off was extremely poor, and we retired to bed at 8. All other hotels we had stayed in had generators to compensate. The bed was most uncomfortable. We did complain through our travel agent about the dirty swimming pool, but Singa Lodge management stated it was painted dark as they have a Moroccan/African theme and is not a sparkling blue colour and yet photos on their web site and on Google show a blue pool. I agree with previous comments about the blinds. I definitely would not recommend this hotel and we were sorry we stayed there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lion Roars, Owner at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Responded 30 Sept 2023
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're truly sorry to hear that your recent stay was only worth a 1-star rating. This falls far short of the experience we aim to provide, and we sincerely apologise for any disappointment. Your feedback prompted us to take action, and we've already updated our website to ensure that it provides the most current and accurate information for our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We genuinely hope you'll reconsider staying with us in the future. A 1-star experience is not reflective of the service and standards we are known for. Your honest feedback helps us improve, and we are committed to delivering a better experience next time. Thank you once again for your feedback. Warm regards, The Singa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Remo C wrote a review Apr 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am emailing with regards to the experience I had at your accommodation. Before booking, we specifically went to the lodge to choose our room, we chose room number one, as it was an executive suite, close to the communal facilities that we can enjoy. The staff knew we were booking this lodge because it was tranquil. We chose this lodge to escape, have peace and quiet and to celebrate my partners birthday. We booked for the 1st and 2nd, checking out on the 3rd.

On Sunday, my partners birthday, we arrive to our accommodation to find a function happening right outside our room. We had planned to swim, bath, take a nap and relax. There were about 25 people having a braai and drinking. We were not informed that anything was being held that day but we were told it was a last minute booking. Regardless, they had my contact number and could have informed us as soon as they found out. Nevertheless, if you are renting out rooms privately but potentially rent out the communal space for a function, it is crucial you inform guests that functions are a possibility as this will 100 percent affect whether they will book at your lodge. In my opinion, your lodge shouldn’t accept functions when you have private guests. We were not able to use or enjoy the facilities we paid for, this is disappointing.

Your rooms are not cheap and to have this inconvenience for a whole afternoon, on a Sunday, with that amount of noise and people is just unacceptable. It was such an inconvenience that we were forced to check out early on my partners birthday, ruining the evening and plans we had for that day. When leaving, we found that we had been parked in as well, the cherry on top of it all. We were still expected to pay for the night we had spent there, which is understandable, however I expected some kind of discount for the inconvenience and for the lack of consideration for your other guests.

I do hope that you will reconsider how you manage and deal with situations like this. This was a very special celebration for us and we chose to spend it at your lodge, trusting we were going to be accommodated for. Regardless, paying R1800 a night, you don’t expect something so unprofessional to happen so casually, without zero thought.

I am extremely disappointed and I hope you are able to offer other guests a better experience moving forward.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I am emailing with regards to the experience I had at your accommodation. Before booking, we...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lion Roars, Owner at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Responded 06 Apr 2023
Good Day, We are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience during your stay at our lodge and we sincerely apologise for the poor communication surrounding the function we hosted on Sunday. We understand that you were looking for a relaxed stay and that the event made it difficult for you to enjoy the pool and our other communal areas. Your feedback is so valued, and it has allowed us the opportunity to learn from this mistake. In the future, we will take every step to ensure that our guests are forewarned of any events or functions that may affect their stay. We will also strictly minimise noise disturbances to ensure that all guests can enjoy their stay with us to the full. We pride ourselves on providing a peaceful and tranquil stay, and will continue to make this a priority for all of our guests. We would like to apologise again for your negative experience, and encourage you to give us another chance to make it right. Kind Regards, The Singa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SloveniaVoyager wrote a review Jul 2023
Slovenia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Expected much more based on the pictures in web page. We arrived at the hotel very late, so immediately after viewing the rooms we contacted the reception that the two rooms we got were practically the same, even though we paid for one luxury suite and one standard. In addition, the two rooms, even though the hotel was practically empty, were on completely different sides and despite the request that the rooms be together for the sake of the children. We have booked rooms few months ago. Both rooms generaly ok, tastefully furnished, but the whole building is a bit out of date. The water pipes do not work properly, lack of hot water, few light bulbs do not work, nothing dramatic, but considering the price, one pays attention to the little things. Room number 2 is next to the kitchen, and from 6 am it is no longer possible to sleep because of the loud noise.The breakfast is very basic, even tasteless (mild coffee, overcooked eggs, too staft omlette....) so the overall we were not very disappointed. Even the complaint through the portal, where the rooms were booked, was rejected by the hotel management as unfounded.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay away from room No 2, as it is next to the kitchen.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roses wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms at Singa Lodge are large and thoughtfully furnished though rather dimly lit. They're set in an almost tropical garden whose palm trees rustled in the evening wind. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly making sure we could have breakfast early in the morning before leaving.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lion Roars, Owner at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Responded 23 Sept 2022
Hi there, It really means a lot to us that you took the time to write such a wonderful review. We're so glad you found our lodge to be warm, welcoming and beautiful - that is everything we could have wished to hear. We can't wait to welcome you back to Singa. Warm Regards, The Singa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sabrina Parks wrote a review Jul 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking forward to our “romantic and luxurious getaway” as had been advertised. On arrival, the room we were given was not what we had booked nor what was advertised. We asked to be moved to a different room, but we were told by staff that they were fully booked - only to be given a new room 5 minutes later. The new room was a slight improvement, however, the aircon remote’s batteries were dead, the blinds in the room were broken, drains in the shower and bath were completely blocked, our safe was not working and towels were in dire need of replacement. Overall, we were looking very forward to a much needed evening away - but we left feeling disappointed and like our money could have been better spent elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lion Roars, Owner at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to leave us with this review. We are very grateful for such detailed feedback, as this helps us to constantly improve and grow. Your comments are very important to us and have been forwarded to our onsite maintenance team for immediate improvement. We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise that your stay was not up to usual standards that we are usually known and loved for. We hope that we can welcome you back for a superb stay in the future that will better your memory of our beautiful lodge. Until then we wish you many more travels. Take care! Warm Regards, The Singa Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from owenbvr
Darling, South Africa64 contributions14 helpful votes
Apologies for the delay. 14:00 and checkout at 11:00. But they are very accommodating.
Paris wrote a tip Jul 2023
Copenhagen, Denmark55 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You need for nothing here unless here in winter then not much to do but you can just relax n unwind."
Read full review
SloveniaVoyager wrote a tip Jul 2023
Slovenia49 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away from room No 2, as it is next to the kitchen."
Read full review
Kavaza T wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please speak to us as guest, no one even asked how was my saty "
Read full review
Esther K wrote a tip Jun 2023
6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited inside parking space. "
Read full review
Remo C wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I am emailing with regards to the experience I had at your accommodation. Before booking, we specifically went to the lodge to choose our ro"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Summerstrand area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,119 - R 1,588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort ElizabethSummerstrand
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SINGA LODGE - LION ROARS HOTELS & LODGE | UPDATED 2024 Boutique Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Summerstrand, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Boardwalk Summerstrand (0.5 km), Pollock Beach (1.2 km), and Piet Retief Monument (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Charlies Pizza & Pasta Summerstrand, Something Good Roadhouse, and The Verandah Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Summerstrand.
Are any cleaning services offered at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Xhosa.
All Summerstrand HotelsSummerstrand Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SummerstrandHotels near Singa Lodge - Lion Roars Hotels & Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire