We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
52068 Road 38, Dolores, CO 81323-9778
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
FindHotel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (234)
Room & Suite (59)
Videos (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Dolores
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Offering luxurious and private cabin rentals in Southwest Colorado. Our cabins are in the San Juan Mountains. We offer an all-inclusive vacation. Enjoy our full service spa, fine dining, lodging, and activities. Book the entire town for your corporate retreat or wedding.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
52068 Road 38, Dolores, CO 81323-9778
Getting there
La Plata Airport76 kmSee all flights
Telluride Regional Airport30 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
405Reviews10Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 354
  • 31
  • 9
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jill R wrote a review 17 Jul
17 contributions6 helpful votes
Dunton Hot Springs has been on our bucket list for awhile, and my husband surprised me for my 50th birthday by reserving the Well House Cabin a few years in advance (we LOVED the well tub). We spent 3 nights, and each day it grew harder to leave. We loved the quiet early morning coffee drop off at our door, waking up on the porch facing the mountains in our robes (we do wish there was an ottoman to put up our feet, though :) ) and the amazing accommodations inside with a great hot shower, out in the middle of nowhere in the mountains. A real treat from the cabins, to the delicious 3 meals daily, plus that quiet happy hour, and the mindful staff to make sure everything was superb. Well done, I still have a glow from the experience of our trip to Dunton.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Jo Maine wrote a review May 2021
Searsmont, Maine115 contributions131 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived , we could sense the calm vibe. Nicely nestled down a dirt and tarred road, in a valley just below Telluride sit the cabins and buildings that make up Dunton Hot Springs resort. This rustic sheik resort was lovely from the cozy private cabins to the sun drenched dining hall/ saloon and the bath house. Food was delicious and wine paired. Hope to return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
AV G. wrote a review Jan 2021
Seattle, Washington8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Phenomenal experience, I plan to return! I visited with a family member for a much needed getaway from my kids. This is the perfect place to escape, especially in such an idyllic setting in the snowy mountains of Southwest Colorado. The service, food, and stay were all top-notch. I especially appreciated Dunton's attention to cleanliness and other measures they are taking to ensure guests have a safe stay. You can tell there is are lot of behind-the-scenes details that are handled including the staff knowing where to seat you (all socially distanced) for meals, to making sure you have your special chips ready for pickup when you need a snack... and especially for dietary restrictions like mine. The chefs handled it no problem! The food was the most memorable for me, as I cook a lot and I am usually very critical of meals. Especially in my mind was lunch one day served with PERFECT bread (a true feat at that elevation) topped with char, roasted beets coated in a mustard seed vinegrette, and topped with delicately sliced pink lady apples, apple butter, and endive. Oh, and dill. It blew my mind. All of the meals served were delicious and not overly pretentious as you may find in some places. Which reminds me, Dunton is luxurious without needing to show off. Whike there are the wonderful amenities like Molekule air purifiers everywhere, Aesop bath products (a personal favorite i use at home), and top level linens... There is a lovely down-to-earth feeling there even when you are served the best wine or enjoy your private soak in one of their immaculately kept hot springs. I think perhaps it's the wonderful and attentive staff that make staying here feel like a second home tucked away in the mountains. From the food to the guided snowshoe tours to morning yoga, they made everything PERFECT. While this is not my first visit to Dunton, this was my first winter stay. I plan to return next time with my husband, (kids can stay with grandparents). Thank you Dunton Hotsprings team for an incredible stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kacey H wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
We had a wonderful opportunity to visit Dunton Hot Springs this last weekend and let me tell you, it was everything and more than we expected! The remoteness of this property makes for a very unique trip into the mountains. The staff is beyond friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. The simple, yet, well thought out preset menu for lunch and dinner made things very simple for us and allowed us to try things we might never have though to try. The food is so fresh and we love that they source and support local! There is a lot of care that goes into creating the dishes that they serve. We stayed in the Bjoerkmans cabin which was so cozy and inviting. During our stay, we got a good amount of snow which really set the mood for this location and it was so beautiful! This place felt like home the minute we arrived and we cannot wait to return! We want to thank you all for doing such amazing work out at Dunton!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
lauren wrote a review Nov 2020
Kansas City, Missouri34 contributions27 helpful votes
The seven hour drive through acres of snow covered mountains and pine forests was full of promise. So we were disappointed when we pulled into a muddy drive with a tiny, flat encampment of cabins. We had to ring the gate twice to get in, because the attendant confessed he forgot to buzz us in the first time. Not an auspicious beginning for an alleged, top 10 luxury resort, but we tried to keep an open mind. We were told lunch would be duck salad. I envisioned seared duck breast. Instead we were given a scoop of what resembled canned tuna drowned in Mayo, some field greens, and four points of toast. The table next to us asked, “is this for two people” and my fiancé asked is this the appetizer? We were told this was the entire lunch. We asked what was for dinner and the waitress didn’t know. The intro email says the chef will custom prepare what you like, so we asked for another option. we were given grilled cheese sandwiches that were edible, although they were doll-portion sized. we paid 1500 a night to stay at dunton, and I assume some guests paid more. But The kitchen must have spent less than 30 dollars on the ingredients to prepare everyone’s lunch. Admittedly, the drinks were strong, which was a positive. We were taken on a tour of the property next. The indoor hot spring was rustically elegant, but Luke warm. The outdoor springs were tepid and dirty. There are no views from the springs, despite what dunton advertises. We were informed that because we had a service animal, we could not stay in the christys tent we had booked. the resort was put us in the geyser cabin instead. they didn’t tell us geyser was the size of a garden shack and had no fireplace. It also had an outhouse closet for a toilet. There was Nothing luxury about it...and The WiFi did not work. Dunton failed to alert us that geyser costs $350 a night less than what we paid for Christys tent...they just expected us to pay the christy price and be cool with the downgrade. Meanwhile they upgraded another party to our original booking. When I called them out in it, they didn’t have a response for me. We high-tailed it out of there within an hour of arriving, and drove another 7 hours late into the night. We were exhausted, but it was worth 14 hours of driving NOT to spend thanksgiving at Dunton. the final straw was the decor in geyser, which bordered on offensive. There were schlocky, replica African masks hanging on the walls. They were out of place in what was touted as an authentic, Colorado mining town. It was particularly painful because we had driven through Navajo nation to access dunton, where covid-stricken artisans could really use duntons support. It would be aesthetically appropriate, not to mention kind, to display local, Native American artwork in the cabin. Dunton: if you ignore all my other critiques, please consider at least this one.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Edoardo Rossi, General Manager at Dunton Hot Springs
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Dear Laurens672, My name is Edoardo Rossi and I am the Executive Vice President for all Dunton properties. We make it a point to be known not only for our one-of-a-kind location and authentic, historic accommodations; but for our excellent, unobtrusive guest service as well. Guests typically enjoy our quiet, remote setting; historic cabins and natural hot springs. For that reason, your review caught us by surprise. We evaluate all feedback with our team weekly, as we take great pride in, and continually strive to improve the service we offer (we have done the same with yours). Following our evaluation of your comments with staff, I feel compelled to respond to some of your claims specifically. You mentioned a lunch of duck salad that resembled “canned tuna drowned in mayo . . .” The salad was actually duck confit with house-made aioli. We did receive several positive comments following lunch that day, but can accept/appreciate that not everyone enjoys duck confit. We did offer to customize menus further (something we do for any guests), which you declined. You also state that you paid $1,500/night to stay with us at Dunton. You did not actually stay with us and we were never able to even process a deposit, so no money was ever collected. You arrived, travelling with your German Shepherd (we were never informed you would be bringing a dog), stayed for lunch (which we did not charge for), and left. You originally reserved Christy’s Tent, which is one of our pet free accommodations. When you arrived with your German Shepherd unbeknownst to any of our staff, we thankfully had one cabin remaining available that is a pet-friendly accommodation (Geysir cabin), and quickly made that available. While we are always exceedingly happy to accommodate guests with service animals in any cabin (as the law requires), we have designated cabins in which we welcome guests with pets or support animals. We have specific pet-free accommodations so we may also comfortably accommodate our guests that suffer from extreme allergies. We obviously would not have charged your original (higher) rate for the smaller, pet-friendly cabin if you had stayed. Additionally, if you had let us know you would be bringing a dog when making your reservation, we could have discussed options and booked something that would not have required any change. Your comment regarding the WIFI is correct. It was not working optimally (something we were aware of and the reason the cabin was still available during your visit). We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. Your comments regarding the hot springs are confusing. The average temperature of the indoor and outdoor springs of the Bath House (that you mention) stay 102-104 degrees F year-round. We monitor this daily. When reviewing your comments with our staff, no one actually realized that you had an opportunity to go into the springs to test water temperature during your very short visit. You also commented that the outdoor springs were “dirty.” The springs are high in iron and manganese with a touch of lithium. This gives the water its red color and oily sheen on top. The water is actually very clean and full of minerals. From both the indoor pool and the exterior pool of the Bath House, you can see the Wilson Mountain Range featuring El Diente (one of Colorado’s famous 14’ers). From the outdoor pool, you can also see Dolores Peak (majestically standing at 13,290’ elevation). I understand “views” are subjective, but we have never had any guest tell us they did not see or appreciate the view from the Bath House. Again, your visit was so short, maybe you just did not have the opportunity to notice. Finally, in response to your comments regarding the décor in Geysir, great care has been put into the design and maintenance of all buildings in this historic town. Dunton was established in 1885 and abandoned in 1918. It sat abandoned until 1994 when the current owners purchased the property and started restoring the town. The restoration took 7 years. The western United States was settled by people coming from all over the world via wagon train. We considered that their belongings would come from all over the world as well, and thus with a focus on authenticity, each cabin is decorated in its own completely unique, eclectic style. Throughout Dunton’s almost 20 year history as a resort, we have worked/consulted with numerous notable names in architecture and design (i.e. Annabelle Selldorf, Martina Mondadori, etc. just to name a couple) on décor. I can assure you that the artifacts in Geysir are not “replica’s,” but rather personal memento’s from the owner’s travels in Africa. Additionally, Navajo art and artifacts are featured heavily throughout the resort. The owners love the resort and enthusiastically support the Navajo people through action, charity and opportunity. Again, I am afraid you did not have the opportunity to notice the Navajo and other significant art pieces given your short visit for lunch. Your review/comments make it obvious that Dunton was not the experience you were seeking. We know we are not a resort for everyone, but I am sorry you feel the trip and your time were wasted. Sincerely Edoardo Rossi
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$1 051 - US$2 636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dunton hot springs dolores, dunton hot springs hotel dolores
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoDolores
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dunton Hot Springs
What are some of the property amenities at Dunton Hot Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Dunton Hot Springs?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dunton Hot Springs?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dunton Hot Springs?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Dunton Hot Springs have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Dunton Hot Springs offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Dunton Hot Springs?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Dunton Hot Springs offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Dunton Hot Springs have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Dunton Hot Springs accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.