We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach

Save
Share
6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-6044
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/03/30
Booking.com
US$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/03/30
Traveluro
US$238
View deal
Hotels.comUS$258
HIExpress.comUS$258
getaroom.comUS$267
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (37)
Pool & Beach (14)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests can expect unmatched customer service to complement its convenient location. Mere minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions. Enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Windansea Beach – a short walk from the hotel – and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcomm, Scripps Hospital and UCSD. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
124Reviews22Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 38
  • 12
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Solomon B wrote a review Aug 2021
New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I got a notification on ihg app that my room was ready at 9 am the day of check in. No other hotel has ever let me check in that early.That’s a good 6 hours before the standard 3 pm check in, and I did not even have to ask! Early check in was really helpful with my plans. They upgraded me to a studio suite without me even asking, which again, was super helpful because I was staying there with 2 kids. Pool is great. Staff is amazing. Breakfast was plentiful and yummy. The rooms open up the the outside (no interior hallway), but this is NOT a motel. La Jolla is amazing. I liked the location of this hotel, 5 minute walk to the beach. Everyone in this town is super friendly. Really cannot complain about anything. A++++
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Dear Wonderful Guest, Thank you for the perfect rating and for the best review. I am so happy to hear you loved everything about your stay. We cannot wait to welcome you and your family back. Best wishes! Rali Roesing, Front Office Supervisor
Read more
kristinea779 wrote a review Jun 2021
5 contributions5 helpful votes
Before I start my horrible story, if anyone had any bed bug bites issues with this hotel, please share your story. The room I stayed was room number 393. If any of you have had any issue with getting hold of IHG customer service, please share your experience too. I booked 6 nights stay through IHG.com at this hotel based on the good reviews from IHG.com. It was my first time stayed with Holiday Inn Express and it will be my last time. The room # 393 size was decent, 2 queen beds and 1 pull out sofa bed. Everything looked clean except the carpet, it looked like it had not been cleaned for long time. In addition, there were some ants’ problem. It really did not bother me and my family that much since we were out most of the time and only returned to hotel to sleep. During the whole stay, I felt itch here and there on my back. I did not pay much attention to it because I thought it was due to the dry skin. The day we were checking out, my young daughter spotted my back while I was changing and told me that I had some red spots on my back. We were in a rush to check out and needed to be at a place in LA. So again, I did not pay much attention to it. Until the night I reached home, after things were settled, I asked my husband to check my back to see if there were any red spots. He was shocked when he saw my back. Red marks that look like mosquito bites all over my back. After checking information online and based on the unique bed bug bite pattern, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I realized it was bed bug bites. There was more than 50+ bites on my back. Confirmed with the doctor later on it was bed bug bites. I called customer service number listed on IHG.com. It did not take long before someone answered the call. After described the situation, I was referred to call guest relation in the morning. I called the guest relation number @1800-621-0555 and was waiting online for more than 2 hours and did not get to talk to anyone. I tried different number @1877-424-2449 the next day. I was able to talk to a customer service rep and was transferred to guest relation. Again, I described the incident. The guest relation agent told me a case was filed and gave me a case number # 10492532853. She apologized the terrible experience and assured me that some one would return my call within 24-48 hours. She said bug bites was very serious incident and I would be hearing back from them, and my case would be well taken care of. 3 days after the call with the guest relation, did not receive any call from anyone. The 4th day, I started calling customer service and guest relation numbers that was given to me. Unfortunately, I was holding online forever, and phone was never answered. I was so frustrated, so I filled out an online survey that was emailed me and gave 1 start review. Not too long after the online survey was sent, the hotel supervisor called me and left me a message. I called back and she asked me to describe the incident. After I told what had happened, instead of apologizing to me about my bad experience. She started interrogating me about 1. Why I did not contact the hotel – I said I booked the hotel through IHG.com that was why I called the IHG.com customer service. 2. Why it took 10 days before I escalated the issue – I gave the timeline how I was trying to get hold of the customer service and the case number that was filed. She replied it was impossible that I was not able to get hold of customer service through IHG customer service since there were so many people working there. She claimed that she checked the case number, it was an invalid number. It sounded like I was trying to scam the hotel. I told her the number and asked her to try to call herself. I said I was not sure how the communication works between IHG and the hotel. I did call and file the case right after I discovered the bites. If she did not get notified, it should not be my problem. She continued in a denial state and questioning me about why my other family members did not get bitten why only me and if I mentioned that to my doctor. I said I did, and doctor did not know why it would happen that way and I was glad it did not happen to my kids. 3. Why other guests stay before us and after us did not complaint – I said I did not know why no one raise any complaint but what happened to me was true. Up till that moment, the way how she was talking to me was like talking to a criminal and sounded like everything I said was a lie. I told her I have traveled many places in the States and have never experienced anything like this. She said they never got any bed bug bites compliant either. I said it was fine that she did not want to believe me and did not want to take this incident seriously. I would escalate the issue as far as it could go and share my reviews and pictures. And then her attitude started getting softer and asked me what compensation I was looking for to solve the issue. I said I did not want any compensation and I just wanted the case to be treated seriously.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
5 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach
Responded 23 Jun 2021
Dear Kristinea779, Please allow me to start by expressing my sincere concern about your experience. I have only compassion for the medical problem you had upon your return home. We take extremely seriously the issue you have alerted us to. Our thorough investigation and full inspection of the whole 393 room as well as the neighboring 392 and 394, which is by protocol, showed no evidence of any infestation. Our property is regularly inspected professionally and preventive measures are taken against such infestations. I understand and sympathize with your frustration about not being able to contact someone is customer service who could help in a prompt manner. I personally called you immediately after your review was posted. And just now I called you again after your second review was posted. Please give us a call back so we can help you further. I appreciate you explaining to me the whole situation. Your family of five shared a room for five nights. No other family member had any skin issues - rashes or bites, even the ones sharing a bed with you. Since it took 10 days for me to be made aware of the issue you were trying to report we had had four different families stay in the room after you. None of our guests has reported any bites or rashes, none at all. Please let me reassured you again that our highly trained and experienced staff has inspected the room and bedding, and management has fully investigated the issue you reported. I am sincerely sorry and do hope that your health issue was quickly and fully resolved. Best wishes! Rali Roesing, Front Office Supervisor
Read more
Knani wrote a review May 2021
Pompano Beach, Florida743 contributions137 helpful votes
+1
I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla while travelling alone. I selected this hotel based on location, price and the fact that it offered free parking (which is practically unheard of in Southern California!). I've stayed in HI Expresses in the past and always found them really nice. This one was a little different... My GPS took me to the back side of the hotel (where the parking is located, as the hotel sits on a busy street). There was no signage whatsoever, and I questioned whether I was in the correct place. I checked in (the front desk staff was very nice) and the woman showed me to my room. As soon as we started walking, I became concerned, as the rooms open to the OUTSIDE (instead of having an interior corridor). As a woman travelling alone, that didn't seem very safe to me. It was obvious that this was an older hotel that had been renovated and turned into a Holiday Inn Express. My room was down a hallway and faced the back of the property. The door didn't feel very secure. I had just stayed at a Hampton Inn, then a Hilton Garden Inn, where the doors were very heavy and felt a lot more secure. The door to this room felt almost flimsy. The room itself was very clean. It had a decent size refrigerator, a microwave and a Keurig. The bed had a memory foam mattress and was extremely comfortable. The air conditioner was a wall unit that was quite noisy and seemed to have a hard time cooling the room. The bathroom was renovated and clean and offered really nice toiletries, but it was extremely small. The shower stall didn't have a door - only a glass panel that covered half of the space, so water naturally got out onto the floor. Due to COVID restrictions, breakfast was offered in a paper bag in the lobby. It included a blueberry muffin, yogurt, an apple, and juice. With the coffee in the room, it was sufficient. The hotel is just a few blocks from the beach, and you can see the ocean from the top floor patio, so the location is excellent. It's also just a few minutes from La Jolla Cove. The hotel definitely had it's advantages, but had I known that the rooms opened to the outdoors, I probably would have opted to stay elsewhere. If this is something that doesn't bother you, then this hotel is a great value for the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel have a better view, but rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach
Responded 07 May 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your detailed review. Our hotel is in the California villa style and all the entrances are external, which is very common for La Jolla. We are located in a beautiful and safe neighborhood really close to the Windansea Beach. I am glad you enjoyed your clean room and the nice service by staff. We wish you all the best! Guest Relations
Read more
Josh L wrote a review Apr 2021
Salt Lake City, Utah4 contributions5 helpful votes
The primary selling point for this hotel is location, and it delivers. Windansea Beach is a five-minute casual walk, as are about a half-dozen coffee shops, bars, restaurants, and a market. La Jolla Cove and Village are within a mile or so and are worth the walk or short drive. Unlike most other hotels in the area, parking is free at this Holiday Inn Express, adding to the convenience and value. As a hotel, the property is a bit outdated but otherwise fine — and during covid, things such as wall-mounted AC/heating units were actually welcome. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The Keurig, sink and microwave were nice conveniences to have, especially without a hot breakfast offered. Overall, this is a great value in an expensive area, especially for families or others who want to spend their days on the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach
Responded 07 Apr 2021
Dear EpicRogue, It was our pleasure to host you in beautiful La Jolla. We really appreciate your excellent and detailed feedback. I am happy you enjoyed yourselves so much on this trip. We are excited to welcome you back. Best wishes! Rali Roesing, Front Office Supervisor
Read more
Abbot71 wrote a review Apr 2021
Reno, Nevada540 contributions342 helpful votes
+1
We were warmly greeted at the front desk by John and I immediately knew I'd chosen the right hotel for our 4 nights. He deftly combined our two 2-night (back-to-back) reservations saying no need to get your key renewed or change rooms after the first 2 days; he'd taken care of all that. He offered us "Grab 'n Go" breakfast bags + water even though we arrived at 1 pm, saying "you've had a long plane ride, haven't you?" He placed us in room 136, a 2 bed poolside room, that we loved. The room 136 has a small TV (but who comes to La Jolla for TV?) with 61 channels and very comfy beds with 4 pillows each. Matching furniture: nice 4-drawer chest of drawers, a desk and chair, a table with 2 chairs for meals, and a night stand with drawer between the 2 beds. The small kitchen area has a Mini-frig (freezer + refrigerator compartments), microwave (underpowered), & Keurig Coffeemaker with 2 caf, 2 decaf, and 2 teas plus cardboard cups. Also provided are several plastic cups + on the wall bulk shampoo, conditioner, & shower gel (J.R. Watkins) along with 2 bars of soap and 2 small lotion disposable pottles. Ceiling fan is controlled by a wall switch; heating/air conditioning wall unit has a remote control but we did not use it (several buttons were removed to prevent manual use). Room can get stuffy on hot days. Window opens a crack but you do give up privacy, especially if the pool is busy. Rooms could use more outlets, as the property is older and "cottage" feeling, not like the typical newer (more sterile) HI Express. The quaintness worked in its favor as we enjoyed space to spread out and better noise insulation between rooms. Rooms in the 120s and 130s are also single story, surrounding the pool, with no noise from above. Basic grab 'n Go breakfast typically has a bag with excellent fruit (apple or banana), 5.5 oz canned juice, yogurt, sweet roll, and water bottle. (No hot choices.) Free parking is easily available in a large lot; internet is fast and free. Not sure how it would feel to be in one of the newer buildings (there are balconies in some rooms overlooking noisy La Jolla Blvd.) but we enjoyed the relative quiet next to the pool during a March weekday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms by pool not handicap accessible when pool ramp is closed
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach
Responded 07 Apr 2021
Dear Abbot71, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to La Jolla. We appreciate your great and very detailed feedback. We strive to make each and every guest's visit comfortable, safe, and enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again. Best wishes! Rali Roesing, Front Office Supervisor
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express la jolla hotel la jolla, holiday inn la jolla, la jolla holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoLa Jolla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach?
Nearby attractions include Windansea Beach (0.4 km), La Jolla Open Aire Market (1.1 km), and Mushroom Beach (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Taco Stand, El Pescador Fish Market, and The Promiscuous Fork.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mt. Soledad National Veterans Memorial (2.9 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Jolla - Windansea Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.