We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
7955 La Jolla Shores Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3301
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Booking.com
US$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/18
Priceline
US$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/18
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$432
US$189
View deal
Hotels.comUS$210
Expedia.comUS$210
Prestigia.comUS$432
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (418)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (249)

About

#16 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
This chic boutique hotel embodies the easy-going vibe of SoCal, and is located a short walk from world-class surfing at La Jolla Shores Beach and minutes from La Jolla Village, the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, and University of California, San Diego. Spa-like hotel décor creates a laid back and authentic atmosphere where guests can feel rejuvenated and relaxed. Every room has either a balcony or a patio and comes equipped with a refrigerator, safe, white noise machine and a 50 inch HDTV. Some offer a peek-a-boo shower. WiFi is available for a fee, but free for Hilton Honors members. Freebies include morning coffee, and bike and beach rentals, such as toys, boogie boards and chairs. There's also a heated outdoor pool adjacent to the Hiatus poolside lounge, state of the art fitness center, and an 11th-floor restaurant, Cusp Dining and Drinks, offering California coastal cuisine and creative cocktails, that can be enjoyed against the backdrop of stunning ocean views.
Read more
Room & Suite (249)249
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Parking
Free wifi in the business centre
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1392Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 553
  • 387
  • 213
  • 124
  • 115
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tisssh2021 wrote a review 12 Jun
Rancho Cucamonga, California1 contribution
Hotel Curio is modern, clean and so comfortable. The staff is wonderful. The hotel is located in the perfect spot- away from the bustle of the cove but within a short walking distance of the beach and some great restaurants
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Murrell, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
Greetings tisssh2021, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. The team and myself are extremely thankful that we received such a positive review from you. This last year has been a year unlike any other. As I am sure you have seen, most are eager this year to discuss their displeasure with hotels and businesses. Our reviews have simply not been as positive as we would care for due to this. Our of the several 1000s that we have the pleasure to welcome each month, the guests that seem to want to share their experiences focus on that of how terrible we are as a hotel and also who we are as hoteliers. Your review did the contrary and I cannot begin to tell you what a breath of fresh air it was to reach that we were exactly what you were looking for through all aspects. I am hopeful that this year can be a chapter that many of us look back to and forget. However it has certainly taught us countless lessons and as people, professionals serving our guests, we eager to move forward and to continue to do our best with every effort to receive more positive reviews such as yours. You are welcome back at any time and please reach out to me and I will personally look after you. Best to you and yours! Mike
Read more
Rebecca wrote a review May 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
A well-kept hotel with outstanding service. Dog friendly. Extra amenities like brown paper packaged lunch and water. Sheldon was extremely friendly. I was recommended by a friend, Maurice and he was totally correct about this place that is conveniently located near the highway. Beautiful scenic sunsets a great addition to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
JeffL wrote a review 08 Jun
3 contributions
2 night stay 6/15/2021 and 6/16/2021 DIRTY! OLD! STAINED ,POOR FITTED BED LINEN!!!!!!! What a nightmare. We booked a 2 night stay in a deluxe King Room. When we entered the lobby we knew we made a mistake but we had already returned our rental car and we were stuck. We were informed contrary to what was stated on their website the restaurant was only open at night.So breakfast was not an option. We asked if they offered complimentary coffee in the lobby they said no, there is a Starbucks down the road. We had had 2 amazing stays at 2 other California Hotels before coming to La Jolla Curio Hotel and although due to Covid services were limited, their restaurants were open and there was always complimentary coffee in the lobby the the service was impeccable. I asked for towels, after 3 hour wait no-one brought them to our room I had to go down to the lobby to get them myself. But here is what was absolutely ruined our stay. The bed linens were dirty and stained and the fitted sheet was too small to completely cover the mattress. The only choice, sleep without them on the bed, Totally Gross!!! never had such an experience in ANY hotel before. When I returned to New York I called to report tis problem and ask for a refund ( or partial refund) I was told they contacted the hotel but they denied my request. I asked if a supervisor or someone from corporate head quarters could contact me. I WAS ASSURED that someone would contact me within 24 hours to 48 hours. Nobody ever did. Even as valued gold members our problem was not resolved and was completely dismissed. NEVER AGAIN!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Murrell, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings Jeffrey2379, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your experience with us. I would first and foremost like to apologize for the challenges, especially the linens that were on your bed. This is not to our standard, and I am baffled by how that was on a bed. We do have all our linens handled by a third party however we ourselves should have caught this. I will be sharing these pictures with our team as well as our laundry company to figure out where the disconnect is. Additionally, we have been trying to get our restaurant open fully but due to staffing and occupancy limitations we have not been able to open it fully. Thankfully we usually have decent occupancy on the weekends so we are able to comfortably open it, however it still remains a challenge. I did check out logs that we keep to see what may have happened and I don't have the request noted down here. I would like to apologize as we do keep track and I will speak with the team as to ensuring that we are tracking and also that the wait time you outlined is unacceptable. Finally, regretfully, I we usually get a note from Hilton when there is a guest issue. I will look into this and see where the disconnect happened. I know that an apology does not recreate a bad stay. I do apologize. Please reach out to me if you ever consider giving us another try down the road. Best, Mike
Read more
richardlG2742EY wrote a review 07 Jun
Temecula, California8 contributions7 helpful votes
My wife checked in at 11am. One person at the desk and she inquired about assistance with luggage. (She dropped me off at a clients earlier so I am not there to help her). She was told that she would have to carry all the luggage on her own. They pointed to a luggage rack. At the restaurant (touted as a great one), the menu is more like a bar menu, (burger, pizza, chicken fingers). The waitress takes an order and promptly forgets to put it in. 30 minutes later we are still waiting for water and silverware. When we ask to the table to be setup, we ask how much longer for the food, this is when she asks what we ordered. She forgot we even ordered so we had to reorder. On the next day when we came back from our meetings at 6pm, the room was still not made up. We called and were informed that due to COVID we needed to request to have the room cleaned and made. I completely understand, but it would have been nice if they informed my wife and perhaps had a note in the room that explained this. At checkout of course, no one to help with luggage. This hotel is supposed to be on the top end of Hilton's line of hotels. With a great location and great views of the ocean you would expect a higher level of service. We are greatly disappointed and will not stay there again. We have been loyal Hilton brand customers for over 20 years and this hotel is not worth the money. If you need to stay in La Jolla, go to Torrey Pines Hilton.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Murrell, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings richardlG2742EY, Thank you first and foremost for taking the time to submit a review about your/ your wife's recent experience with us. I would personally like to apologize for the areas in which we missed the mark in delivering hospitality and service that we are known for. We were pleased to be able to get your wife in early in the day. With our normal check in at 4:00pm on a Friday when she arrived, usually we cannot get our guests in that early with our check out time of 11:00a. However I know that there was some work at the desk to get her a great room. As you had outlined in the morning, we do have limited team members on and I apologize that there was only one person at the desk that morning. We have had limited staffing recently due to COVID and we are in the process of bringing back more of our team member as we are starting to ramp up in occupancy due to the summer months ahead. Also, as it seems the largest let down was the error that the server made in the restaurant. I would also like to apologize for that as well. Again, similar to our front desk, we are operating with limited team members in the restaurant. Its not been easy to bring back most as the outlet has been closed for over a year. Those that have come back its taken work to get them here and we are extremely thankful to be able to have team members who are dedicated to our hotel and restaurant. At our front desk there are two large signs, during the reservation process, on our website, on our confirmations, we do outline the limited availability and housekeeping services that we provide. I am certain that at check in we should have told her verbally, but at the same time, there was a lot of focus on getting your wife in early. As I am sure that you noticed, there are limited items in the room - we have done away with pens and paper, reading material and the like to limit the items that are touched. The housekeeping protocol is a hilton standard and its for your protection as well as ours. I appreciated your acknowledging our great location. We are hopeful that as we continue to crawl out of the pandemic, our services and outlets will and can return to normal. I am sorry that you will not stay here again based upon the limited services and team members that we are able to offer during this time. Its not typical, and as I am sure you have seen most hotels are limited in their offerings. Those that are not, have been able to bounce back quicker then others, and we wish that was us. However the impact has been truly felt. If I can ever be assistance to you presently or in the future, I am willing to extend a hand at any time. Best to you and your wife during this abnormal time... Mike
Read more
vivianasilva17 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We will definitely go back to stay there. Great hotel & customer service. We really enjoyed CUSP for my daughter’s birthday. We had a room with an amazing view . Girls didn’t want to leave the pool. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Murrell, General Manager at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings vivianasilva17, Thank you first and foremost for taking the time to submit a review on your recent experience with us. We depend heavily on our guests sharing their experiences with others in order to have the opportunity to welcome new guests. Over this last year, we have all had our challenges. When our guest express their appreciation, highlight amenities, and the service that they received while they were here goes a long way for us. Our restaurant as you were able to enjoy is slowly starting to open. As its been closed for roughly a year, assembling back the team, re inventorying, and slowly increasing occupancy have been areas in which we putting effort so that we can get it open again. We are pleased that the girls enjoyed the pool! Hopefully we can welcome you all back sooner then later! Best, Mike
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel la jolla shores, at the shores la jolla
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoLa Jolla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include The Sea Caves (0.4 km), La Jolla Art Association Gallery (0.3 km), and La Playa Gallery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Piatti, Shorehouse Kitchen, and Osteria Romantica.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel La Jolla, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mt. Soledad National Veterans Memorial (1.5 km).