Hotel Del Coronado

Hotel Del Coronado

Traveller (5646)
Room & Suite (1521)
Hotel del Coronado
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#15 of 18 hotels in Coronado
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
On the edge of the Pacific, where powdery white sands sparkle like gold, the legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton, offers a magical beachfront experience unrivaled on the West Coast. An iconic presence since 1888, Hotel del Coronado combines majestic Victorian architecture, modern luxuries and beachfront recreation for a resort experience that’s uniquely Southern California.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Walking tours
Babysitting
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 84 out of 100
84
San Diego Intl Airport
Rodriguez Airport
24.9 km
See all flights
8,093Reviews107Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,325
  • 1,787
  • 1,160
  • 964
  • 857
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Julie G wrote a review Jan 2020
Columbus, Ohio
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We took a quick New Year's trip to Coronado. We had never stayed at Hotel del Coronado, but had heard great things about it, so we decided to give it a try.

The location of the Del is outstanding. It's beach front and is walkable to many of the restaurants and shops in Coronado. To me the location of the hotel is it's biggest draw.

Beyond the location, I don't think that the Del has a lot to offer in it's current state. It's currently under construction, and I'm almost 100% certain that we were not made aware of that at the time we booked our $500/night room. We paid for an Ocean View room and got a close up view of the construction site with the ocean beyond it. Also, the noise of the construction vehicles was so loud that our daughter could not nap in the room during the day.

While I was disappointed by the construction, I was most disappointed by the customer service (or the lack thereof). The valet (that you pay $50/night for) was a mess and it frequently took a long time to get our car. When we called the concierge the phone just rang and no one answered. Also, when we checked in there where three employees working and many, many guests in line. The customer service was beyond disappointing, especially for a hotel at that price point.

Our room was nice, but it was definitely showing wear. We were in one of the towers and it looked like even those rooms/building could afford to be rehabbed.

As for the resort itself, it was mostly what I expect from a resort - overpriced. We had burgers one night and it cost $85 dollars. The burgers were good, but not that good. The common spaces in the resort were busy. Many people who were not staying at the Del either walked through or dined at the restaurants - I think the congestion of having it open to the public is detrimental to the paying guests.

As I said, we had a short trip, so we tried to not let the negatives outweigh the positive of the location - it's one of the only places (if not the only place) in Coronado/San Diego where you can be ocean front with a usable beach.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelDelCoronado, General Manager at Hotel Del Coronado
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Dear Julie G, Thank you for the thorough review. I greatly appreciate your choosing of The Del to celebrate the new year, but I am terribly sorry this trip fell short of exceptional. We go to great lengths to prevent the restoration work from impacting guests’ experiences and it’s disappointing to hear that the improvement work interrupted your stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. I hope you can accept my deepest apologies for the lack of customer service you received. I promise this does not reflect Del standards and I will be urgently addressing this issue. I truly value your input and I appreciate all the topics you brought to my attention that are in need of improvement. There are exciting changes to come and I hope you find it in your heart to return one day to enjoy the restored beauty of our 131-year-old hotel. Sincerely, Harold Rapoza Jr. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SaraTheWoo wrote a review Sept 2020
Phoenix, Arizona
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a Hotel Del Cabana Room in August 2020 for our yearly Coronado body boarding trip. Normally the Del costs more than we like to pay, so we stay across the street, but because of remodeling/construction/Wuhan the Del's rates were slightly reduced so we thought we would take advantage and stay steps from the water.

The view from our 3rd story cabana room was really nice; the room was beautiful, the bed was super comfortable, and, as always, the Del's staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Masks were required to walk anywhere on the grounds. No indoor dining was allowed, so all dining was outdoors, but it was a crapshoot to determine when the Del's restaurants were open or closed; hours weren't posted and seemed arbitrary.

The two southern-most washing stations that the Del used to maintain along the beach have been removed, so there was no way to rinse off unless you walked almost to the other side of the property. Due to virus restrictions, there was no daily housekeeping of the rooms; the consequences of which became apparent when after our first day in the ocean, we turned on the shower and saw immediately that it wouldn't drain. I pulled the cover plate up and found a huge gob of hair, which was gross, to say the least, but removing it fixed the problem. There was a huge, flat screen tv, mini-fridge, and coffeemaker provided. Unfortunately, that entire wall had no power, and we didn't want to bother with having workmen tromping through our room to fix anything. The ice machines were all shut off, so no ice was available.

I don't know if I will stay at the Del again. If I had paid regular price, all of the issues would have infuriated me. As it was, it was 'meh' at best.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harold Rapoza Jr, General Manager at Hotel Del Coronado
Responded 23 Sept 2020
Dear SaraTheWoo, Thank you for your review. I’m so happy that you chose to stay at The Del this year—our location is truly second-to-none, and there’s no better place to be for easy access to the beach. It’s also a pleasure to hear that our team provided impeccable service during your visit, and I will be certain to pass along your compliments. I do sincerely apologize for any shortcomings, however, as we are taking every possible precaution during these uncertain times. Next year, I hope we can welcome you back again for your best body-boarding trip yet. Sincerely, Harold Rapoza Jr. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gina Meadows wrote a review Sept 2020
Las Vegas, NV
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Always dreamt of staying at the historic Hotel del Coronado and was surreal to finally happen. I read the reviews prior to travel so had a heads up on the construction. They could do a better job having 1 way foot traffic in and out of the hotel, but they only have 1 entrance/exit that I could tell due to the construction. Even though had to walk in crowded tight hallways, briefly with masks, didn't catch the Covid.
The Pool was nicely set up, but way too many kids screaming and yelling. (sorry kids are only cute if they are in your party). As other reviews posted, cocktail service at the pool sucks, but saved me money not buying watered down $$$$ drinks.
The prime location along the beach is what you are paying for. A historic hotel means the rooms are old. Even though they have been modernized, kept up, still an old room for $350++ per night. Was nice easily accessing the beach and bringing own alcohol. The wild kids yelling and playing on the board walk/turf quiets down around 10/11pm. To clarify, I'm sure there are some rules about alcohol on the beach in Coronado, but they seem more laid back than San Diego. Just don't cheers the lifeguards and use plastic or reusable inconspicuous cups. Of course no one likes a dirty beach. If you are a rebel, can even get away with smoking at the beach/boardwalk area, but don't worry if you hate smoke, you shouldn't come across any.
Due to the limited outdoor only seating, we never ate at the restaurants (make sure to make a reservation in advance), but the Taco Shack had good tacos and great Margaritas. The bartenders were chill/cool. The staff seemed nice and even saw a front desk agent move a guest who needed limited walking/no stairs. They seem to exhaust every effort to accommodate requests while maintaining friendly demeanor. .
If you are looking to save on parking, there is some in walking distance along the curbs along the beach/adjacent neighborhoods. Most of the metered parking ends at 8pm and becomes free until the next morning (and easy to find parking adjacent to the property along the street/beach early morning before crowds arrive). We only experienced 1 instance with a hard time finding parking, but it was close to sunset on a Saturday evening. We saved $120 by not using the hotel parking as they charge $40 per day and stayed 3 nights. There is a Vons in walking distance and mini fridge in room. Also, a wine/liquor store in walking distance. Alcohol prices were about 10%-20% higher than home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RedSoxNation1 wrote a review Jul 2023
Grafton, Massachusetts
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently spent five days and four nights staying at the Del, our experience was memorable and we are already talking about another trip. We stayed in the Views with a resort view room. Room was huge and recently updated, although I would opt for an ocean view room next time.

The hotel is dog and kid friendly, and there were tons of families enjoining the pool, the beach and the grounds. Dogs are welcome throughout the property, which is awesome.

Staff was courteous and friendly. The hotel offers discounts to area attractions, but frankly, there is no reason to leave Coranado, with its great restaurants and a great Main Street. There is a shuttle to the Bayside Hilton, which provides access to the waterfront and gas light district, so if you are flying in, save your self the aggravation and expense and Uber.

There are a number of reviews that complain about how expensive the hotel is - it is pricy. I remember a time when my mother complained about the cost of meals in the restaurant, to which the host said, Madam, if you aren’t going to open your wallet, your mouth should remain the same. Yes, there are resort fees, and the food is pricy, but I paid resort fees at a timeshare in Myrtle Beach which overlooked a huge RV/mobile home park.

We ate all of our dinner in Coronado ,there are a number a good restaurants along the Main Street.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Be sure to specify ocean front rooms while booking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ginny49H wrote a review Jan 2020
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at the del Coronado three or four times before, and have always loved the amenities, and of course the location. When i visited in mid-January 2020, I was quite disappointed by what seemed to be a disclosure failure.

There is major construction going on at the hotel. The entrance has been moved from the south side of the main building to the north side. We were staying on the south side. There was no cell phone service in our room. As a result, every time I had to make a call, I had to walk about a quarter mile to find somewhere quiet where I could talk. The problem was exacerbated the last day we were there. It was raining, and since there are no chairs in the lobby (??), the only place I could go out of the rain for a one hour conference call was to sit in our car in the underground parking garage.

I appreciate the need for capital improvements, and i sympathize with a hotel which unfortunately has to disrupt guests while the capital improvements are being made. Construction is always painful. But shouldn't the del Coronado have advised guests in advance of the construction? It is not mentioned on the hotel website (I went back and checked in case I missed it). And shouldn't they provide a price break, when the facility is not nearly as comfortable and enjoyable as it was when it was not under construction? I would have booked somewhere else, and deferred my visit to the del to when it was not under construction. This was a major failure to disclose, in my view. I was disappointed, and will have to reconsider staying there in the future.

Others thinking of staying there might want to factor this element into their hotel choice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you are facing the beach, you may not have WiFi or cell phone service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelDelCoronado, General Manager at Hotel Del Coronado
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Virginia H, There is nothing more disheartening than letting down avid Del guests. I appreciate your loyalty over the years and I’m terribly sorry your most recent stay fell short of exceptional. From our improvement work to our lack of quiet spaces available, I sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. If you’re willing I would love the opportunity to make things up to you. Whenever you have the chance, please contact my team directly at ExecutiveOffice@hoteldel.com so we can make things right. Sincerely, Harold Rapoza Jr. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert S wrote a review Jan 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Beach Villas as we have in the past. We knew things were limited because of Covid and we were glad they were taking precautions. We just didn’t think almost everything at the hotel would be closed. Nothing was open for breakfast except for the coffee shop any day we were there. Most nights nothing was open for dinner except the bar. While we knew that housekeeping wouldn’t be entering our room we expected towels to at least be picked up from in front of our room instead of left next to the door for days. We also expected that the employees would be properly wearing their masks. Several were not and several days in a row the concierge was not nor did she know what was open and continual gave incorrect information. The one dinner we ate in the restaurant they were out of their sake. The Beach Villas bills itself as a premier experience within the Del and the Del itself bills itself as an exceptional hotel and the prices charges are exorbitant. My wife loves visiting so I am sure we will return but before anyone considers a visit, confirm they are actually operating and not pretending to be operating while charging the same prices.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harold Rapoza Jr, General Manager at Hotel Del Coronado
Responded 01 Feb 2021
Dear Robert S, It’s disappointing to hear about experiences like this—especially from loyal Beach Village guests like yourself. I sincerely apologize for this kind of stay. Guest safety remains paramount at The Del, and we have implemented heightened protective measures along with government protocols to ensure that. I apologize for any confusion regarding our paused amenities. Thank you for bringing the safety and service issues you encountered to my attention. I will be addressing changes with my team immediately. I appreciate your feedback and hope you will allow us the opportunity to provide a proper Del experience when time allows. Sincerely, Harold Rapoza, Jr. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tara C wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I (we're roughly 40 years old) just traveled here by ourselves between Christmas and New Year's, came in on a Friday around 2:00 and left on Monday around noon. We ubered from the San Diego airport and did not rent a car during our stay, we loved walking around Coronado and the resort. I knew ahead of time of the extensive construction going on and was aware of how old this iconic hotel was ahead of time, it's good to read reviews before visiting somewhere new! The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are gorgeous and the staff are over and above professional and helpful. We ended up getting room #3344 which overlooked the "main" entrance (I believe the actual main entrance is being renovated and not used right now) and we paid for a partial ocean view room and that is exactly what we got. We loved watching the hustle and bustle of the constant coming and going of hotel guests straight down from our room plus the ocean view, I could have watched it all day especially at sunset!! We were only here for 3 nights and wanted to take advantage of all the hotel had to offer, the Christmas decor and outdoor lighting was beautiful. This place was absolutely packed all weekend so I enjoyed getting up early and checking out the resort in the mornings after a walk in order to see it without all the people! My boyfriend used the fitness center every morning after our walk and loved it and I took beach yoga one of the mornings. We sat at the outside bar two of the nights and had drinks before dinner, they have the best bartender out there was well! On one evening we booked a fire pit on the beach and ordered dinner which was s'mores and turkey sliders, nachos and drinks. Another evening we rented a table with the fire pit by the ice skating rink and had drinks, burgers and hot chocolate and we also ice skated. You are only bored at the place if you want to be! We are excited to come back again when the renovation is complete and the pool is up and running in a warmer month! We really did have the best holiday weekend, the resort exceeded our expectations
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelDelCoronado, General Manager at Hotel Del Coronado
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear G9680OUtarac, I love to hear about Del experiences like this! From the moment you entered our legendary hotel to your last steps in the Coronado sand, I’m delighted to hear that every aspect of your stay was exceptional. I’m so glad you enjoyed your guest room with a partial ocean view and caught the gorgeous sunsets. It sounds like you and your boyfriend made the best possible use of all our amenities, including our beachfront fitness classes, outdoor activities, and holiday festivities. I truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to craft this thorough review. It was a pleasure having you and I can’t wait to welcome you back to the Hotel del Coronado. Sincerely, Harold Rapoza Jr. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jymitchell wrote a review Mar 2020
Santa Ana, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first visit to this property. We had heard so many amazing reviews over the years, we decided to go for our 30th anniversary. From the outset of our arrival and learning of the $50 nightly valet fee, we found ourselves disappointed over and over again. First, they are doing major construction on the property which made even getting to our room in the south towers difficult. We only learned about the policy of construction running from 7am to 5pm upon checking in. The room itself was just shy of $400 a night, but had a bed that sagged in the center and furniture that was old and scratched up. Due to the construction, our ocean view room overlooked a giant dirt lot with a bunch of construction equipment. Also, given that we were staying during the coronavirus crisis, we were looking for cleanliness, and noticed that the door handle to the patio and the main door was filthy. The glass was clean, but that was as far as they went. Additionally, for a 4 star hotel, I expect the basic comforts, such as nice, soft towels and decent toilet paper. Their 1 ply paper hardly screams luxury. Cheap robes hung in the closet, but no slippers. We ended up finding restaurants off site for our main dinners as our experience for breakfast was $40 for a buffet ( despite the coronavirus issues) and was marginal at best. Had we known that it was a buffet upfront we would have opted out from the beginning, but it wasn't until we had been given coffee that we were even made aware of it. I know the Hilton has only owned the property for a couple of years, and it makes me sad to think of what it might have been under different management that paid attention to the details that make a 4-star property special. Great location, but not even close to being worth the price we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not sure if there is a good room currently based on the amount of construction taking place on...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelDelCoronado, General Manager at Hotel Del Coronado
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear jymitchell, There’s nothing more disheartening than hearing about experiences like this. This should have been a luxurious getaway full of celebration and relaxation—I’m so sorry we let you down. Our hotel has welcomed guests for over a century and each room comes with certain peculiarities. However, the state of your guest room upon arrival is not acceptable. I apologize for the inconvenience. Guest health and safety are our number one priorities, especially during these times. I appreciate your valuable feedback regarding cleanliness. In response to the current situation, we have taken additional measures developed in consultation with global and local public health authorities (including the WHO and CDC) to make our cleaning and hygiene protocols even more rigorous. I will be sure to notify the appropriate teams to ensure there are no spots missed. Thank you for the thorough input as it is an essential factor to continuously improving guest satisfaction at the Hotel del Coronado. I’m sorry your experience fell under par, but I hope you find it in your heart to allow us a second chance sometime in the future. Sincerely, Harold Rapoza Jr. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan A wrote a review Jul 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a great location, however the Service is absolutely horrible. Because we were traveling with family, and because we have a toddler, we called and booked connecting rooms. Subsequent to booking the rooms, we called the resort twice to confirm the rooms were connecting. When we showed up we were told we were in connecting rooms, only to find out the rooms did not connect.

When we spoke with the front desk about the non-connecting rooms we were told that we could pay an upgrade fee to obtain connecting rooms. As Hilton Diamond members this did not sit well with us. Eventually a manager agreed to put us in connecting rooms at no additional cost.

Upon arrival at our new rooms we discovered that once again, they did not connect. After waiting on hold for 20 minutes for someone to pick up the phone at the front desk, we trudged back to the front desk and were finally given connecting rooms.

We specifically requested that house cleaning not clean our room, yet house cleaning showed up and cleaned. This occurred despite me confirming that no cleaning would occur on two separate occasions.

It is impossible to reach anyone at this resort by phone. It is a minimum 20 minute wait anytime you want to talk with the concierge, front desk, etc.

As noted in prior reviews, we were given a small room credit in lieu of the normal free breakfast. Because we had two rooms, each room had a separate credit. To utilize the credit we split a breakfast bill and applied a portion of the bill to each room. After checking out we found out that the bill was never split, and instead both bills were applied against one room. We have tried to call the hotel to correct this, but the wait time is absolutely obnoxious.

After one day at the hotel the room keys no longer worked for one of the rooms. We tried to call down from the other room to correct this, but after waiting 20 minutes we once again trudged back to the front desk.

Overall the resort is beautiful, but be prepared to deal with complete incompetency at the hotel. It is a shame that this hotel is so poorly manager. As a highly regarded hotel, and as a Hilton Diamond member, I expect better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harold Rapoza Jr, General Manager at Hotel Del Coronado
Responded 06 Jul 2021
Dear JfromHB, Although I am happy to hear that you found our hotel to be beautiful, I am disappointed to discover that other aspects of your stay fell short of expectations. It is our goal to provide every guest with world-class service and timeless vacation memories, and I am sorry that this was not your impression. Moving forward, I will keep your comments in mind so that we can provide a better experience for our guests. Sincerely, Harold Rapoza Jr. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nlrmb wrote a review Oct 2020
Phoenix, Arizona
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We are currently staying at the Del, and it has been a very disappointing experience. This is not our first trip to the Del, and we’ve always had excellent service. We booked an ocean view room in The Cabanas. We were given a partial view room on the 3rd floor. Our room overlooks the Sun Deck restaurant. We can view the ocean if we stand on our tip toes, look over the roof line, and lean over the 4 ft wall of the “balcony”. The balcony is essentially a box, no glass to see through. The only seating are bar stools w/a table. There is no shade over the balcony. This is an anniversary trip my husband and I have been looking forward to since July. We wanted a vacation where we could do nothing but sit on the balcony, read, and watch and listen to the ocean. That whole entire plan is ruined. When we first arrived, I went to the registration desk asking if another room was available, I checked the reservation site ahead of time and there were ocean view rooms available. The clerk at the reservation desk told me there was nothing else available, and that I should be happy I have such a nice room since nothing else was available. She did not say this with a rude tone, but it was still an inappropriate comment given I was requesting a different room in general. I called the hotel number listed for guest services and there was not a option for guest services. I chose the restaurant reservation option, and spoke to a very nice girl. She looked for 5 minutes, but was unable to find another room for us. She apologized several times and said she would leave a message for the manager as well as a comment in our file that we would like to change rooms. I also called the concierge to ask if an umbrella could be brought up to shade the balcony during the day, I was told that was not possible but maybe we should look into renting a pool cabana for the day, for a charge of course.

It’s now the next morning and there is construction noise because not only are we looking at a restaurant, but the construction lot is right behind us. After reading all of the reviews before we made reservations, we knew the resort was under construction, and there may be construction noise. I called the hotel one week before our arrival specifically asking for a balcony or terrace so we may sit and watch the ocean, and in a location where the construction noise would not be as loud. We received neither of our requests. We will spend our anniversary vacation sitting in our room with the door closed relaxing on the bed and couch. Not at all the experience we requested.

On a positive note the remodeled cabanas are beautiful, clean, and much thought was put into conveniences for the guests. I wish the resort put as much thought in to providing good customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you plan on using a balcony make sure it’s not on the third floor with a solid barrier around...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harold Rapoza Jr, General Manager at Hotel Del Coronado
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Dear Nlrmb, Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. It’s always a pleasure to be a part of such a special occasion—congratulations on your anniversary! That being said, I am deeply disappointed that your celebratory getaway was not all that you imagined. Our team is dedicated to creating unforgettable experiences for each and every guest, and it’s clear that we missed the mark in this case. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to ExecutiveOffice@hoteldel.com so that we can make things right. Sincerely, Harold Rapoza Jr. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Shelly F
Chandler, Arizona94 contributions27 helpful votes
Yes. You can also rent cabanas
amf660 asked a question Feb 2023
Briarcliff Manor, New York175 contributions75 helpful votes
Does Hotel Del provide shuttle to/fron the San Diego Airport? Thank you.
Answer from roanie1969
Plano, Texas85 contributions55 helpful votes
Pretty sure no on this. We just grabbed an Uber at the airport. If you plan on any excursions, I highly recommend just renting a car.
Answer from glennm289
Las Vegas6 contributions9 helpful votes
Not that I’m aware of
Answer from VegasTraveler
18 contributions29 helpful votes
The view towards the back faces towards San Diego. It has views of the dumpsters and there are forklifts running back and forth. The views towards the beach side would be quieter and prettier.
kelly e wrote a tip 20 Jun
St. Thomas17 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The ocean is polluted in Coronado due to a massive sewage leak in Tijuana. Signs remind people not to get in the water."
Read full review
Venture800981 wrote a tip 19 Jun
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool gets crowded because most days the beach is closed Self-park is fine but often the gate didn’t work "
Read full review
Happiness39096584988 wrote a tip 17 Jun
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Both self-park and valet parking are exorbitant. The walk from the self-park is way too far, especially if you have any mobility issues. "
Read full review
813AndrewP wrote a tip 17 Jun
Santiago, Chile22 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid - not worth cost, dangerous water, and poor service/maintenance"
Read full review
Rudy C wrote a tip 09 Jun
Los Angeles, California, United States2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away from this hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Coronado area.
PRICE RANGE
R 12,245 - R 15,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
resort del coronado, hotel del coronado, del coronado
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCoronado
NUMBER OF ROOMS
757
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DEL CORONADO - Reviews & Price Comparison (CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Del Coronado
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Del Coronado?
Nearby attractions include Lamb's Players Theatre (0.4 km), McP's Irish Pub (0.4 km), and Vietnam Unit Memorial Monument (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Del Coronado?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Del Coronado?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Del Coronado?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Del Coronado?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Del Coronado?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brigantine Seafood Restaurant, Miguel's Cocina, and Village Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Del Coronado?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Del Coronado located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Coronado.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Del Coronado?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Del Coronado?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Del Coronado offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Coronado HotelsCoronado Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CoronadoHotels near Hotel Del Coronado
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire