We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (17)
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (3)
Overview
Buhoma Village Kanungu District, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park Uganda See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
10
5
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
10
5
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish omelette place to stay camp community gorillas
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Place is really nice, food was great, staff was super friendly. Driving up to the place is crazy, best to have a 4x4. Views are spectacular. They also did a great job getting our gorilla permits, as well as organizing a nature walk for our...More

Thank NatalieBack
Response from BagyenyiW, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Conservation CampResponded 1 week ago

Dear Natalie It was great host you at the Gorilla Conservation Camp. We hope to host you or your friends in future. KR Richard

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Because of personal matters, I never got to Gorilla Conservation Camp. I cancelled 4 weeks before I should have checked in, and I was told that my money would be refunded. After some time I received all the money I had sent even though I...More

Thank Christian K
Response from Richard B, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Conservation CampResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Christian It was great you had all the interest staying with us! We look forward to hosting you and/ or your friends sometime in future. Let us keep in touch!

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely little camp where you have the choice of a comfortable room with hot showers and mosquito net or a large room tent with shared facilities. I stayed in the room and had everything I needed for my stay. The staff are very welcoming and...More

Thank Belamoralessmith
Response from BagyenyiW, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Conservation CampResponded 1 week ago

Dear Isabella Your visit contributed a lot to CTPH work and we look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards Richard

Reviewed 14 May 2018

An incredible location with sensational views, made even more beautiful by the conscientious nature of all the staff. The rooms were comfortable and clean, all the food was delicious (get the Spanish omelette at breakfast!) and the staff could not have been more accommodating. It...More

Thank TravelEx91
Response from Richard B, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Conservation CampResponded 13 September 2018

Dear TravelEx91 Many thanks for these encouraging comments. We were greatly honored to host you! You can get directions here https://www.google.com/maps/place/Gorilla+Conservation+Camp/@-0.9853214,29.6132749,21z/data=!4m19!1m13!4m12!1m4!2m2!1d32.4612893!2d0.0631146!4e1!1m6!1m2!1s0x19de9b57a3f47511:0x522de314b076872e!2sGorilla+Conservation+Camp!2m2!1d29.6133534!2d-0.9852686!3m4!1s0x19de9b57a3f47511:0x522de314b076872e!8m2!3d-0.9852686!4d29.6133534

Reviewed 19 July 2017

If you want to feel great about life this is the place to be. Not only will you support a great NGO, you will also love the amazingly helpful and warm staff, the yummi food and the absolutely stunning view. I can only recommend it!

Thank FOlsthoorn
Response from Richard B, Public Relations Manager at Gorilla Conservation CampResponded 8 December 2017

Thanks a lot Fran. We hope to host you again.

View more reviews
About
Description
Conservation Through Public Health (CTPH) welcomes guests at our field centre for gorilla related research. Guest income supports our work with wildlife and communities, which our staff can discuss with you. More We can also host short and long term volunteers. We are in Buhoma Village, about 2km from the National Park offices (the gorilla tracking meeting point), which is a short ride on a motorcycle taxi (boda boda). FACILITIES:Twin-bed tents with mosquito nets, set among trees. Full board (locally sourced food) including packed lunch, Shared dining / lounge area under a thatched roof, Wash basin in tent (hot water supplied in thermoses), Hot shower available on request (jerrycan hoist type), Simple camp toilets, cleaned regularly, Solar power for lighting and charging, Internet available at the hospital across the road. Our camp has got a little tired and we are renovating it as we can afford. We have reduced our prices to reflect this. By staying here you will provide much needed income to support Conservation Through Public Health’s work. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast included
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Minibar
Pool
Beachfront
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$50 - US$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Silverback Gorilla Camp
Location
Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$50 - US$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Silverback Gorilla Camp
Location
Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Photos
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Gorilla Safari Lodge
149 reviews
6.78 km away
Silverback Lodge
127 reviews
12.52 km away
Traveler's Rest Hotel
150 reviews
22.17 km away
Birdnest Resort - Lake Bunyonyi
311 reviews
36.60 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Bwindi Bar
26 reviews
.66 km away
The Coffee Pot Cafe
91 reviews
22.06 km away
Volcana Lounge
85 reviews
46.41 km away
Isange Restaurant
11 reviews
46.88 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 10 nearby attractions
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
741 reviews
.65 km away
Bwindi Inpenetrable Forest
278 reviews
.66 km away
Mgahinga Gorilla National Park
127 reviews
30.28 km away
Kisiizi Falls
31 reviews
33.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gorilla Conservation Camp staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Bring a flashlight or headlamp!"
will0wbe
22 Jul 2016
Read review
"No bad tents. The view is of Bwindi Forest, you can't lose"
JuliaHubbel
21 Feb 2015
Read review
"clients are happy when their drivers and guides are also happy.they feel more safer"
Davis2018ug
02 Dec 2014
Read review
"All lodging available is of the basic tent variety, but private rooms are available and cabins are being..."
833annaw
23 Jul 2014
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing