We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Cnr Malibongwe Drive & Republic Road, Randburg 2032 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
US$42
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Road Lodge Randburg
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 16 in Randburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Adjacent to the Randburg sports complex and within walking distance to the Brightwater Common and a large gym. Situated approximately 2 km from Randburg CBD, 5 km from the N1 highway, 8 km from Sandton CBD and en-route to The Dome exhibition and conference centre. This hotel is ideal for sporting and business travellers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Paid internet
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

Full view
42Car recommended
Grade: 42 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
54Reviews4Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 27
  • 14
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Warren M wrote a review Oct 2021
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa95 contributions19 helpful votes
The most positive take away was the staff. They are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and neat. Location was perfect for what I was in Jozi for. Negatives the rooms are small, especially the bathroom / toilet area. Better to go to the guest loo, that in your room. Air-conditioner very noisy and shelving space is at a premium.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Public Relations Manager, Agency / Consultant at Road Lodge Randburg
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Mohammed Sheik wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Got late into Joburg and needed a place stay. Having stayed at other 'Lodge' hotels, decided to give Randburg Road Lodge a try, since it was closest to where I was. First thing I noticed was the poorly designed ablution facilities. WC cubicle is too narrow. Shower cubicle is too small and opens directly into the room. No privacy at all. Overall, poorly maintained as well. Bed and bedding was basic but fine.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Kathy M wrote a review Dec 2019
Nairobi, Kenya28 contributions7 helpful votes
There didn’t seem to be a lot else on offer near where i needed to be, but one night here was enough to convince me I would rather put up with a drive in traffic to stay somewhere else more comfortable. The hotel generally is in need of some investment, carpets are stained, corridors are smoky, air con doesn’t work well, bathrooms are dark and squeezed in as an after thought. The rooms are basic and bear, beds adequate and pillows are not that clean. The first room I was in stank of cigarettes even though it claimed to be non smoking so I changed and discovered the same problem in the next room because the corridor is a smoking area. The towels were little more than a hand towel and the shower flooded the bathroom! There is a basic breakfast buffet but what is on offer is not very interesting or fresh. One plate of plastic ham had to be taken away because it was covered in ants which no one else had noticed. There is no other restuarant and the only food on offer in the evening is via an order-in fast food terminal..,cokes, ribs, fries and burgers etc. The place feels like a student hostel or very budget. Either way neither comfortable or ideal. I guess their client base is student or budget business travellers but I wouldn’t want to have to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Wayne L wrote a review Dec 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions
Arrived late on Friday evening, checked in and noticed the carpet in the passage was in a shocking state, goodness knows when last it had seen a vacuum cleaner! The room looked acceptable until I turned down the bed and immediately it was evident that the sheets had been slept on, they were grubby and smelt, there were bits of hair in the bed. Clearly someone had just pulled up the sheets and made the bed but it was awful. The result was that I just lay on top of the bed and slept, there was no way I was going to sleep between those sheets. Clearly, gone are the days of crispy white linen! They used to be white!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Randburg
Responded 17 Dec 2019
Thank you for staying at Road Lodge Randburg and for taking the time to review your experience. We are so sorry and greatly saddened that you did not enjoy your stay. Our hotel general manager has investigated the issues that you raise with the housekeeping department. We can confirm that the linen is changed, as it always in between guests, and regret that the sheets did not appear crisp and white. The large group that checked in during your stay had unfortunately tracked in dirt in the passageways, and this was cleaned up as soon as we were able. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and distress that these issues caused and that you did not experience the high standard of service excellence that we strive to offer all of our guests. We do hope you will stay with us again, that we may redeem our reputation in your eyes.
Read more
Vanellus01 wrote a review Dec 2019
Whitwick, UK346 contributions119 helpful votes
We had one night here as a last resort after a booking mess-up elsewhere. Good value but very basic rooms. No lift :( In spite of what it say above we were allocated a SMOKING ROOM :( Apparently all non-smoking were taken. Front desk lady indifferent, bordering on rude :( We won't be coming back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Randburg
Responded 10 Dec 2019
Thank you for choosing Road Lodge Randburg and for taking the time to review your stay. We are so sorry that you experienced difficulties during your stay. Road Lodge is a budget, one-star brand (hence the excellent value for money) and a lift is not part of the offering. All room requests are treated as special requests and we do try to assist with these as far as possible; however, depending on occupancy this is not always possible. Our hotel general manager will address reception staff as per your concerns. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. We have several brands of hotel to choose from, including the two-star Town Lodge, three-star City Lodge Hotel and four-star Courtyard Hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again and find a brand that best suits your needs.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$47 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
road lodge randburg hotel randburg
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgRandburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge Randburg
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge Randburg?
Nearby attractions include The Barnyard Theatre Cresta (1.2 km), Rosedales Gifts & Decor (0.00 km), and House of Chess (retail store) (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge Randburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Is parking available at Road Lodge Randburg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge Randburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fusionista, Not Bread Alone, and Cafe Duarte.
Does Road Lodge Randburg have airport transportation?
Yes, Road Lodge Randburg offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Road Lodge Randburg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (7.7 km).