We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre

Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 9 small hotels in Randburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The perfect combination of style, comfort, affordability and quality service, Oaklands Inn is the ideal accommodation for business people, conference attendees & delegates with well-equipped facilities for conferences of up to 80 people. Conveniently located in Randburg with easy access to Randburg Waterfront, Sandton and major airports.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Suites
18Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
clementnd wrote a review Jun 2019
Mbabane, Eswatini (Swaziland)88 contributions5 helpful votes
Spent two nights at the Oaklands Inn for a business meeting. Beautiful staff working there, who serve as if they are taking care of their own home and their own houseguests. I was particularly drawn to the groundsman who does landscaping of the inn. He is so passionate and speaks proudly about the work he does there. He emphasized that he’s responsible for landscaping since the birth of the inn. What a resource to have as a business. The ladies who served breakfast were lovely souls who intentionally want to give you attention. The food is not your typical hotel food and it’s served with love. Enjoyed their in-house ice cream. Thank you for a great time (two nights). I also enjoyed my unit with some privacy and internet connectivity which is a necessity for business and to stay in touch with family. Excellent work!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alicia M wrote a review Jul 2018
Cape Town, South Africa14 contributions6 helpful votes
We always stay here for our business trips. It is always clean, welcoming, and we call it home in JHB. It is close to our office abd shops if we need abything. Its the little things that make a difference, like checking in after a long day of flights and meetings, to find you warm blanket switched on when you get to your room. Love it!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
roshan w wrote a review May 2018
Colombo, Sri Lanka22 contributions9 helpful votes
We were a group of visitors attending a Christian conference in Randburg, 35 in all. We had very blessed time at Oakland's Inn. The rooms were comfortable and cleaned daily. The staff were friendly and helped us a lot in our 11 night stay. The Inn itself is in a safe area and the owner was kind . Charity who works in the office was very obliging and friendly. Although we did not get a late check out on the last day , we managed to stay calm. Thank you so much Oakland's, hopefully we will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ChrisL75 wrote a review Oct 2017
Melbourne, Australia107 contributions83 helpful votes
The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The design is mostly small villas, which gives quite a bit of privacy. I stayed at this hotel as it was convenient for work, however, it really is very isolated, which makes it a bit tricky for going out to dinner etc. Unless you have a car. The staff were very kind and helpful and no question was too much for them. We had a few issues whilst staying there and all were tended too quickly and professionally.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris B wrote a review Jan 2017
Bracknell, United Kingdom19 contributions21 helpful votes
Stayed here whilst working at a nearby client and loved the place. The rooms were clean and spacious and mine had wonderful patio doors out to a grassy garden area, along with a veranda type area where i could sit outside, under cover, of an evening. Breakfast is provided here and is very good and freshly made, but there is no availability for dinner in the evenings, so you will need to make arrangements there. There are fast food places within 500 metres or you can travel further afield for better restaurants. The owner or manager is a lovely lady who was very welcoming and friendly and always ready for a chat and to pass the time of day. The shuttle service from the airport and back was also excellent. I would highly recommend this for a basic stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GermanStokie wrote a review Oct 2016
Richmond, United Kingdom35 contributions2 helpful votes
this was my first visit to South Africa, visiting for a local conference at Liberty church over the weekend and it did not disappoint. The staff were extremely welcoming and so helpful with any query I had. The rooms, although basic, had lovely little touches to make it feel welcoming and homely. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath and was really clean with fresh towels everyday. Great Wifi allowed for continued connection for business or pleasure and despite a power cut on the last night Randburg still has plenty to offer only a short walk away. This includes plenty of shops, food outlets and a sports stadium to enjoy the local team. Oaklands has a lovely garden area should you wish to just relax and take in the peace and quiet should you want to recover from the humdrum of city life. A real hidden jewel with fantastic prices make this real value for money. Whilst it may not be for kids, a couple or a group of friends would be more than happy with staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Rooms near the "conference" facilities are hidden from view and give you access to the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cindy M wrote a review Aug 2016
1 contribution
Dear Oaklands Inn Guest House Management, I'd like to take this opportunity and thank you for your hospitality during our stay at your place last week. We had a wonderful time in your lovely Guest House. The breakfast you served was very delicious. Your staff are the most friendliest souls on earth. They were always smiling and assisting with everything we required. I am sending my gratitude to all of them for taking care of my fiance who was not well from our arrival to the last day. They really came through for me, by making sure they served his breakfast in our room on almost daily basis since I was attending RAF specialist every morning. He sends his regards as well, and wants all the staff to know that he has recovered fully from the flu now, and is back to work. You made us feel like family the entire time we were there. We would definitely come back to Oaklands Inn to stay. Please keep us posted on any exciting things happening in your place. Many Thanks Cindy Mdima
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from danielsB3379CK, Marketing at Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre
Responded 03 Sept 2016
Thank you Cindy for leaving us your feedback! We're happy you had a great experience at Oaklands Inn and look forward to seeing you again in the future :) Warm regards, Oaklands
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wekha wrote a review Jul 2016
Lilongwe, Malawi6 contributions
Our organisation booked us at Oakland lnn for a conference and when I got there I was told they had no rooms, but I was to be accommodated at Kent a guesthouse which is part of Oakland Inn. Seeing as I had arrived at night I had no choice but to stay there. Not only was the room small, "room 3" it had no dressing table, a leaking toilet (that still leaks even after I reported it) and was quite dusty. It had no basic soap, shower gel etc when I asked for this to a very uncooperative woman called CHARITY who assured me they would sort out my concerns the next day. Nothing happened!! Apparently it was self catering and she admitted they hadn't communicated to my organisation. What really annoyed me the most about this woman was how when I was discussing with her she chose to ignore me and was basically giving me her back as she talked to me. It was an awful 6 nights and I would cross check the bookings. To make it worse we had no electricity or access to the Internet one day resorting to us having to move into the lounge of a small guesthouse. During that time no apology was given.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from danielsB3379CK, Marketing Representative at Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre
Responded 15 Aug 2016
Dear Wekha Lilongwe, Thanks so much for your feedback, we are deeply sorry for the problems you experienced at Oaklands Inn. We especially apologise for the behaviour of our staff member Charity for her poor service to you. We have taken it up with her and she is also very apologetic for her behaviour. We have since taken care of the leaking toilet, although we realise it was not timely enough to improve your experience. The electricity was, unfortunately, something out of our control as the cables at the Delta Park substation had burned. We really tried everything to get the electricity on but we were unable to solve the problem. We have since looked at back-up measures for this problem. Regarding the conference, again we can only apologise. We tried our best to solve the problem and were able to move you to another venue enabling the conference to continue, albeit in a less equipped facility. Unfortunately, as you mentioned, this was not good enough. We have also gone to the facilitator who organised the conference and apologised profusely. The next day we brought some cake with cold drinks to apologise for not having electricity. We also gave each guest a slab of chocolate with a letter of apology. Again, we are very sorry and are going to try everything in our power to ensure this does not happen again. Warm Regards, Thea
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PHM_Law wrote a review May 2016
Richards Bay, South Africa203 contributions39 helpful votes
Made a booking a month in advance, confirmed the booking on the day of arrival however upon arrival they informed me that they had cancelled my booking (for no apparent reason) and there were no vacant rooms. The manager was off-site and refused to take my calls to assist and the receptionist was absolutely clueless. Terrible experience so I advise everyone to stay away from this place
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AmeldaAgenbag wrote a review May 2016
Secunda, South Africa2 contributions
We had to make a short notice two night stay, Thea assisted with our "demands" and was so helpful, she went out of her way to accommodate us. We only arrived there at about 19:00 the evening but when we stopped at the lodge, the caregiver came to greet us at the car! he was so helpful and showed us the self catering unit. We told him where our venue is for the next day dance comp and he went out of his way explaining to us the route. He asked us what time will we be leaving for the competition the next morning and he even arrange for us to have early breakfast before we went on our way. We came back late that evening and our unit was cleaned spotless, crisp white linin and towels!. Spectacular garden, friendly staff. Would loved to have greeted them the next morning but we had to leave very early again to be in time. Will most definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Self catering units are spacious
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Randburg area.
PRICE RANGE
R 917 - R 1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgRandburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OAKLANDS INN & CONFERENCE CENTRE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Randburg, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include The Barnyard Theatre Cresta (0.7 km), Adventure Golf (0.3 km), and Touch Of Genius Gallery (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Believe Eatery, Cafe Duarte, and O'ver Pizza.
Does Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre have airport transportation?
Yes, Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Randburg.
Are there any historical sites close to Oaklands Inn & Conference Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Mandela Foundation (7.7 km).