We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5 Grant Avenue Boulders Beach, Simon's Town 7975 South Africa
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#9 of 27 Speciality lodging in Simon's Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bosky Dell (sheltered place) is perhaps the last secret hide-out of the Cape. In a truly unique setting directly above the iconic Boulders Beach, it seems lost in time. A large, rambling homestead complete with coach house and stables built in 1850 has been converted into five charming self-contained, self-catering cottages. Bosky offers simple and comfy, peaceful and private, spotlessly clean accommodation. The spacious private grounds adjoin Boulders Beach, our garden gate leads directly on to the beach walkway. The white sandy cove below is strewn with giant granite boulders 540 million years old. It is sheltered from the wind and offers safe, shark-free bathing. Besides its incomparable beauty, the beach is famous for the unique colony of endangered African Penguins that took up home at The Boulders in 1982. This is a nature lover's paradise - truly a hidden jewel where our visitors return to experience its magic.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
26Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 6
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Dewald Venter wrote a review Jan 2021
Alberton, South Africa9 contributions
We went to Bosky Dell as part of our honeymoon road trip. We stayed in the coach house, after just 30minutes there I just had to book an extra two days. Extremely helpfull and friendly staff. Will recommend to anyone amd everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lisa L wrote a review Sep 2019
3 contributions
We had a wonderful four day stay. The cottage A is cozy, with views of the penguin beach whilst enjoying morning coffee or an evening drink. Staff very helpful with local tips and went beyond with our extra requests for help. Can’t imagine a better spot for those visiting Boulders beach (it’s so close you can visit before the crowds). Our children loved playing with their two friendly dogs.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Andrew F wrote a review May 2019
Cape Town, South Africa6 contributions4 helpful votes
Having stayed at the Main House at Bosky Dell several times over the past decade, our last weekend ensured I’ll never be back. For an aging accommodation that only gets a handful of bookings in high season, where the shower doesn’t drain, the kitchen feels like a University dormitory, (and don’t make the mistake of thinking that this R3,900 a night self-catering might come with luxuries like salt or pepper) I hoped for some leniency on the rules about paying for infants, and having friends over for a meal. The good news is, if everything else in Cape Town is booked, this property will be available. It has a stunning view and is close to the penguins. Full Disclosure: I broke their rules. The website says a flat fee for the Main House for 6 adults. We were a party of four adults, and I thought inviting 2 friends to use the extra bedroom would be fine for what they are charging. What they mean is if you check in with 4, don’t think of inviting people afterwards, and your infant is charged as an Adult. Despite never having more than 6 adults stay, since they were not in the original booking, we had to pay thousands extra for the 4 children: 2 X four-year olds, 1 two-year old (who all slept in the bed with their parents) and a 6 month old that slept in our crib. And those 6 adults? They shared one shower, because there is only one room that can be classified as a bathroom. If you are booking this enormous property because you think it might be okay to have people over for lunch or dinner, think again. We assumed inviting 7 adults and their four-year olds to come up from the beach to share some birthday cake on a Sunday afternoon might be okay having paid R13,000 for the long weekend, but nope, you can’t do that. That cost us another charge, and a R5,000 deposit that we were told was being ‘gracious’. If you are booking, make sure you read every single FAQ on the website, every single line in the emails, and every single line on the booking form, or your very expensive stay will be a whole lot more expensive. And instead of a relaxing weekend away, it will feel like your every move is being monitored, tallied and priced. Other no-nos: moving any furniture in order to get a better view of the ocean, having guests on the patio, letting your kids run around on the grass (you have to book that), and don’t put a drink down without a coaster, that comes out of your damage deposit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from BoskyDell, Manager at Bosky Dell
Responded 21 May 2019
4 MONTHS LATER….. yes, that how long ago you were here! We were “lenient”…. and you broke the rules (you said it!) You were given a discount of 20%, which is unusual for a 3 night stay during the High Season – and yet you still hoped to squeeze an additional 5 people (3 adults and 2 children over 2 nights) into a cottage that only sleeps 6 without even asking us. We don't encourage overcrowding, or sleeping “dormitory style” in any of our cottages. (There are backpacker and holiday camp options in the area). With regard to our rate’s for the Main House, our website refers to: 1. A “Flat Nightly Rate” for the Main House - http://bosky-dell.co.za/info 2. Accommodating ”six guests in three comfortable bedrooms” - http://bosky-dell.co.za/main-house. No mention anywhere of “a flat fee for the Main House for 6 adults”. • IF and WHEN the ENTIRE enormous property is booked out by ONE GROUP - we are happy to accommodate requests for EVENTS such as birthday parties for children etc. • We do make it quite clear that this is "usually only possible during our Low Season: 1 May - 30 September." (please follow this link: http://bosky-dell.co.za/info) • It goes without saying that when one is planning on booking in ANYWHERE that one familiarise oneself with the rules of that establishment. In my opinion that is an essential courtesy that should be extended, and in hindsight we should never have accommodated your requests at all. • To the best of my knowledge your FULL damage deposit was refunded - even though you apparently consider leaving water marks on our furniture and dragging our HEAVY teak patio furniture onto the driveway an acceptable treatment of our property. • Bosky Dell like most self-catering properties has rules for very good reasons!
Read more
pollyparrot wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
highly comfortable, nicely decorated and clean cottage for a very moderate price, warmhearted reception, felt very safe, including parking, on top of boulder beach but separated from all the tourists and therefore, very relaxing, .. best place to stay along the coast!! will definitely come back and have a look at the avo tree!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Annemarie345 wrote a review Mar 2019
Pretoria, South Africa80 contributions21 helpful votes
This is a place for people that can appreciate character, old charm and rustic atmosphere. We loved the view and it seemed to me that the mountain at our back shielded our cottage from the wind. We were booked in the coach house. Small and quaint , but in retrospect, I would reconsider next time and book a different room, because the staircase was too steep and I prefer a shower. The hostess was very friendly and her dogs as well. They were not a bother at all. Safe parking, comfortable bed and yes , the view , and again the view , will let me return again and again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownSimon's Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bosky Dell
Which popular attractions are close to Bosky Dell?
Nearby attractions include Green Mountain Trail (4.2 km), Boulders Beach Penguin Colony (5.0 km), and Scarborough Beach (5.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bosky Dell?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Bosky Dell?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
Is parking available at Bosky Dell?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bosky Dell?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whole Earth Cafe, The Lighthouse Cafe, and The Village Hub.
Does Bosky Dell have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Bosky Dell offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Bosky Dell?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Bosky Dell?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rhodes Cottage Museum (7.0 km), Scala Battery (1.6 km), and Noorul Islam Heritage Museum (3.8 km).