We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penguinden

57 Dorries Drive Froggy Farm, Simon's Town 7975 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#15 of 23 guest houses in Simon's Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Famous Fynbos, Gentle flowing water... Penguins and Butterflies. This is the feeling. The experience of colour and sound of Penguinden. The Diamond Choice of the Cape Peninsula. Penguinden offers superior accommodation & spectacular views with five suites on two different storeys/levels. Each suite consists of bedroom/s, bathroom/s and a communal lounge, dining area and kitchen. Each bedroom has its very own distinctive décor offering you a special individual holiday experience. Each suite also has its own private separate entrance and access to a barbeque area and tea garden/suntan area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Golf course
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Italian, Portuguese
66Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 11
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jannine Butcher wrote a review Jan 2024
Hong Kong, China247 contributions48 helpful votes
Wow! What a treat it was to stay here! We booked for only one night as we were doing a day trip and didn’t want to travel back far to where we were going after a day this side. The views from the house are breathtaking!! The facilities were perfect .. we didn’t need much as we only stayed one night. We stayed with our 2 year old, which was no hassle. A high chair and cot were provided - thank you so much! Really enjoyed a stay here, sadly it was only for one day but I know we will definitely come back in the near future. Thank you John for being attentive and so kind!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay for more than one day ☺️
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Deane W wrote a review Feb 2023
Bebington3 contributions
This was the third time we have been to Penguinden and, once again, we loved it. My husband and I stayed in the apartment for two nights after which we moved upstairs to the Royal suite while our son and his family moved into the apartment. John and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed to make it a super week - including re-arranging the second bedroom for our grandchildren (and putting up a camp cot for our 10 month old grandson), getting a high chair for the dining room and other bits and pieces. It was great to have the space and always wonderful to take in the breathtaking views. Black-out curtains the apartment bedroom would be helpful for the early morning hot summer sun but, that said, we will be going back again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Elisa G wrote a review Apr 2022
Trento, Italy3 contributions
In many reviews i read that Penguinden is home away from home. Well, to have my own home like that is the dream of my life! Outstanding views, large balconies where i could enjoy my meals and even my cigarettes (they correctly recommended me to keep the balcony door closed when smoking, as they had complaints in the past of smoke smelling inside, even if smoking inside is forbidden), an infinite and fully equipped kitchen where it’s a pleasure cooking. A real lot of space, even in the lounge! Very comfortable bed, we had 2 en suite bathrooms just for us and still have to understand why they were 2! Moreover it is very close from some of main attractions such as Boulder’s beach or Cape Point and it has some beautiful beaches all around. I would also thank John to be a perfect host, always ready and happy to help! Great advises about beaches and restaurants! The jacuzzi was too cool, i had a very romantic time in there with my boyfriend! The area is totally safe, no problem parking in the premises! Driving up the road for 2 consecutive nights we spotted a couple of porcupines! So for us Simons town meant penguins, baboons and porcupines! Amazing, Penguinden will definitely be the best memory of my trip to cape town!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Diane P wrote a review Jan 2020
Willow Spring, North Carolina5 contributions
If you book here and would like air con please DO NOT book the "Luxury double suite" the room is nice but the bathroom is across the hall. The write up for this place is very misleading stating ALL rooms have air conditioning. The washing machine leaks water all over the floor and the dryer upstairs does not work. The reason given for no TV in each room is totally crazy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Owner at Penguinden
Responded 03 May 2020
dear diane, we certainly take your opinion into consideration, but we find it totally unfair and out of the choir. we are sorry that the day you wrote it was not good for you. you booked on booking.com, where it is clearly written that the bathroom is outside the room .. on various occasions we took advantage of the reviews to make this even clearer, and we also take advantage of it here! among the services offered in the room of your choice, paid as much as a backpacker lodge in the area, there is no air conditioning. now you see, my father in the past got sick with pneumonia due to the excessive use of air conditioning, so honestly I don't see your complaint so serious. moreover in Simon's Town it is never so hot that it needs air conditioning! in other rooms where there is it is almost never used! in relation to the dryer, you were told that we were waiting for a maintenance technician to repair it! Regarding the washing machine, if instead of being quiet with us personally and writing a bad review you had warned us of the problem, as another guest did the following day, you would have helped us to give everyone a better service. regardless of that it is true, it was leaking a little water (sooner or later all the appliances break down you know), this small loss of water has absolutely not damaged your clothes (I dare not imagine what you would have written had happened 😊) and the floor is not yours! in relation to television, it is clearly written that it is shared, so I don't understand why you have to complain! you see diane, if instead of thinking about all the technologies and comforts you need, you realized how wonderful the place you were, the view, the nature, the kindness of John, the relaxing atmosphere around you, surely you would have had a more pleasant stay. and yet you would have avoided continuing to discuss with your partner as reported by other guests. if you want all the comforts for you, don't expect to pay them a third compared to other rooms in the area. a star is really bleak diane and i really think our accommodation is worth a lot more. thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mickey wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa3 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location with amazing views. Tranquil setting, spacious apartment with a big balcony. Easy check in and out, John is great and accommodating. The Jacuzzi was a winner! Unfortunately, the apartment was dirty. Shower, kitchen utensils, linen were all not adequately cleaned. Found too much 'evidence' of the previous occupants everywhere. All in all a good experience and would highly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Leigh E wrote a review Apr 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa5 contributions
Lovely views. Clean n comfi n safe!! John the host was so kind. Had everything we needed and location was perfect. There were 5 of us and it worked. Would of loved to stayed longer and tried the jacuzzi and explore the area more . Next time!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Owner at Penguinden
Responded 15 Apr 2019
Dear guest, it was a real pleasure to have you all with us! Thank you for your positive words, we really cant wait to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachel M wrote a review Mar 2019
6 contributions14 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay at Penguinden Accommodation. Room was nicely decorated, spacious and secure with a spectacular view over the bay. Our check in was quick and easy, and we found the staff very friendly. It was a quick drive to Boulder Beach and the penguins, with nice cafes and restaurants nearby
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Proprietario at Penguinden
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Dear Rachel, thank you very much for your beautiful review! We are proud to have satisfied you expectations, and hope to see you again in a future! Take care! Penguinden
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Camper39630862051 wrote a review Mar 2019
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution
a great view but a dirty place. The shower was really bad. The pictures on the site are beautifull , but in real it was poor. The owner was nice. You really need a car to get there. I wouldn't stay there an other time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Proprietario at Penguinden
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Dear Frank, our sincere apologize for the inconvenience! We have to admit that your apartment was not cleaned properly the day of your stay. This is due to the Cape Town Cycle Tour and the conseguent road closure that affected Simon's Town from 6am till 3pm. Our cleaning staff couldnt come to work as roads were closed. We couldnt ask the previous guests (who had a small party the night before and left the flat quite dirty) to check out before 3pm, as they couldnt move from our road. John, our house manager, did his best to clean your apartment and the other rooms by himself that day, but he is not a professional cleaner and he only had 1 hour time to do everything before you and all the other guests arrived! We really thank you for the review that helps us to understand that is probably more convenient to close our guest house the day of the Cycle Tour to avoid this kind of unconvenients! Regarding the pictures, they have been taken by myself with my phone and no filters has been applied. The day of your stay was dark and cloudy, and that's probably why you had a bad feeling, but as you can understand we cannot control the weathers! You definitely need a car (we are also serviced by UBER) to get to our place, true, and we use to advice it to all the potential guests that enquiry us! We would like to have another chance to show you and your family that we have much higher standards, so please contact us privately and I'm sure we will find a solution that will satisfy your expectations! Our best regards, Penguinden
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Resort25105405274 wrote a review Jan 2019
Bremen, Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
A wonderful place to stay and relax with excellent domestic equipment and a stunning view. Loved it. Very good bed and nice decorated room. Great terrace . Thank you John, the good man of this accomodation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Luxurysuite with oceanview.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Owner at Penguinden
Responded 14 Mar 2019
Dear guest, thank you very much for your your stay and for your review! We are proud you enjoied your stay! We hope you got back to your home safely, we hope Penguinden will help you to have great memories of South Africa. We hope to see you in a future! Our best regards, Penguiden!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Volker N wrote a review Jan 2019
Cologne, Germany249 contributions94 helpful votes
I stayed one night in Penguinden and really enjoyed the stay. The outlook from the balcony is fantastic. The rooms very nicely equipped. There is a huge kitchen and loving room which can be used by everyone. Strongly recommendable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Owner at Penguinden
Responded 14 Mar 2019
Dear guest, thank you very much for your your stay and for your review! We are proud you enjoied your stay! We hope you got back to your home safely, we hope Penguinden will help you to have great memories of South Africa. We hope to see you in a future! Our best regards, Penguiden!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Simon's Town area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,287 - R 2,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownSimon's Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PENGUINDEN - Now R 1 441 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶5̶3̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Simon's Town, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Penguinden
Which popular attractions are close to Penguinden?
Nearby attractions include Boulders Beach Penguin Colony (1.2 km), Scarborough Beach (7.5 km), and South African Naval Museum (3.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Penguinden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Penguinden?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Penguinden?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Penguinden?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Penguinden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whole Earth Cafe, The Lighthouse Cafe, and Saveur.
Does Penguinden have airport transportation?
Yes, Penguinden offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Penguinden?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Penguinden?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Noorul Islam Heritage Museum (2.5 km) and Scala Battery (4.8 km).