We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
57 Dorries Drive Froggy Farm, Simon's Town 7975 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (6)

About

#22 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Famous Fynbos, Gentle flowing water... Penguins and Butterflies. This is the feeling. The experience of colour and sound of Penguinden. The Diamond Choice of the Cape Peninsula. Penguinden offers superior accommodation & spectacular views with five suites on two different storeys/levels. Each suite consists of bedroom/s, bathroom/s and a communal lounge, dining area and kitchen. Each bedroom has its very own distinctive décor offering you a special individual holiday experience. Each suite also has its own private separate entrance and access to a barbeque area and tea garden/suntan area.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Golf course
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Italian, Portuguese
62Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 10
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Diane P wrote a review Jan 2020
Willow Spring, North Carolina4 contributions
If you book here and would like air con please DO NOT book the "Luxury double suite" the room is nice but the bathroom is across the hall. The write up for this place is very misleading stating ALL rooms have air conditioning. The washing machine leaks water all over the floor and the dryer upstairs does not work. The reason given for no TV in each room is totally crazy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Owner at Penguinden
Responded 03 May 2020
dear diane, we certainly take your opinion into consideration, but we find it totally unfair and out of the choir. we are sorry that the day you wrote it was not good for you. you booked on booking.com, where it is clearly written that the bathroom is outside the room .. on various occasions we took advantage of the reviews to make this even clearer, and we also take advantage of it here! among the services offered in the room of your choice, paid as much as a backpacker lodge in the area, there is no air conditioning. now you see, my father in the past got sick with pneumonia due to the excessive use of air conditioning, so honestly I don't see your complaint so serious. moreover in Simon's Town it is never so hot that it needs air conditioning! in other rooms where there is it is almost never used! in relation to the dryer, you were told that we were waiting for a maintenance technician to repair it! Regarding the washing machine, if instead of being quiet with us personally and writing a bad review you had warned us of the problem, as another guest did the following day, you would have helped us to give everyone a better service. regardless of that it is true, it was leaking a little water (sooner or later all the appliances break down you know), this small loss of water has absolutely not damaged your clothes (I dare not imagine what you would have written had happened 😊) and the floor is not yours! in relation to television, it is clearly written that it is shared, so I don't understand why you have to complain! you see diane, if instead of thinking about all the technologies and comforts you need, you realized how wonderful the place you were, the view, the nature, the kindness of John, the relaxing atmosphere around you, surely you would have had a more pleasant stay. and yet you would have avoided continuing to discuss with your partner as reported by other guests. if you want all the comforts for you, don't expect to pay them a third compared to other rooms in the area. a star is really bleak diane and i really think our accommodation is worth a lot more. thanks
Read more
Mickey wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa3 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location with amazing views. Tranquil setting, spacious apartment with a big balcony. Easy check in and out, John is great and accommodating. The Jacuzzi was a winner! Unfortunately, the apartment was dirty. Shower, kitchen utensils, linen were all not adequately cleaned. Found too much 'evidence' of the previous occupants everywhere. All in all a good experience and would highly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Leigh E wrote a review Apr 2019
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa5 contributions
Lovely views. Clean n comfi n safe!! John the host was so kind. Had everything we needed and location was perfect. There were 5 of us and it worked. Would of loved to stayed longer and tried the jacuzzi and explore the area more . Next time!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Owner at Penguinden
Responded 15 Apr 2019
Dear guest, it was a real pleasure to have you all with us! Thank you for your positive words, we really cant wait to see you again!
Read more
Rachel M wrote a review Mar 2019
6 contributions14 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay at Penguinden Accommodation. Room was nicely decorated, spacious and secure with a spectacular view over the bay. Our check in was quick and easy, and we found the staff very friendly. It was a quick drive to Boulder Beach and the penguins, with nice cafes and restaurants nearby
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Proprietario at Penguinden
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Dear Rachel, thank you very much for your beautiful review! We are proud to have satisfied you expectations, and hope to see you again in a future! Take care! Penguinden
Read more
Camper39630862051 wrote a review Mar 2019
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution
a great view but a dirty place. The shower was really bad. The pictures on the site are beautifull , but in real it was poor. The owner was nice. You really need a car to get there. I wouldn't stay there an other time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from stmasiero, Proprietario at Penguinden
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Dear Frank, our sincere apologize for the inconvenience! We have to admit that your apartment was not cleaned properly the day of your stay. This is due to the Cape Town Cycle Tour and the conseguent road closure that affected Simon's Town from 6am till 3pm. Our cleaning staff couldnt come to work as roads were closed. We couldnt ask the previous guests (who had a small party the night before and left the flat quite dirty) to check out before 3pm, as they couldnt move from our road. John, our house manager, did his best to clean your apartment and the other rooms by himself that day, but he is not a professional cleaner and he only had 1 hour time to do everything before you and all the other guests arrived! We really thank you for the review that helps us to understand that is probably more convenient to close our guest house the day of the Cycle Tour to avoid this kind of unconvenients! Regarding the pictures, they have been taken by myself with my phone and no filters has been applied. The day of your stay was dark and cloudy, and that's probably why you had a bad feeling, but as you can understand we cannot control the weathers! You definitely need a car (we are also serviced by UBER) to get to our place, true, and we use to advice it to all the potential guests that enquiry us! We would like to have another chance to show you and your family that we have much higher standards, so please contact us privately and I'm sure we will find a solution that will satisfy your expectations! Our best regards, Penguinden
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownSimon's Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Penguinden
Which popular attractions are close to Penguinden?
Nearby attractions include Boulders Beach Penguin Colony (1.2 km), Scarborough Beach (7.5 km), and South African Naval Museum (3.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Penguinden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Penguinden?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Penguinden?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Penguinden?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Penguinden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whole Earth Cafe, The Lighthouse Cafe, and The Village Hub.
Does Penguinden have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Penguinden offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Penguinden?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Penguinden?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Scala Battery (4.8 km) and Noorul Islam Heritage Museum (2.5 km).