We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
94 Dorries Drive, Simon's Town 7975 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 20/08/06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Oceans Drift
Updated 20/08/06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 37 in Simon's Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled high on the mountainside with stunning views of the bay Oceans Drift offers modern stylish bed and breakfast accomodation in Simon's Town. All our guest rooms have sea views and a private deck area overlooking the bay and the pool. Each en-suite room has a king bed, air con, tea/coffee making facilities and a refrigerator. Breakfast is continental and is currently served to your room. We are situated just on the outskirts of Simon's Town centre in a quiet location and are extremely close to the Penguins and Boulders Beach. The entrance to Cape Point is 10 minutes away by car.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
47Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
pavel945 wrote a review Apr 2020
Prague, Czech Republic1 contribution
The room had no functional air conditioning, a discount of 300 ZAR was agreed. However, the owner took the original amount in full from the bank card and promised to send the difference of 300 ZAR to the bank accouint. Although he repeatedly promised, I did not receive the promised amount even after 2 months. I was disappointed with the owner's approach, he did not keep his word.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from CapeTownAnn, Owner at Oceans Drift
Responded 30 May 2020
Dear Pavel, I am sorry to hear that you have not received your discount. As per our correspondence with you an amount of R300 was sent to you via Western Union Transfer in March. The amount has been debited from our account, but as you seem to have not received it we will contact Western Union to query.
Read more
ConnyO-NL wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
Last but certainly not least: Our last night in South Africa was one of the best. We stayed in a nice, quite and very clean room at Ocean Drift. Its is near Simonstown, so we did see a pinguin on the road as we returned from diner at the Lighthouse - which reservation was made by the owner Ann. Because of problems with the electricity, there are periods without power, but they informed us and even the restaurant served a special menu, so no problems for us. At the well provided and fresh breakfast, her husband Ian told us what we could do on our last day: nature reserve Cape Point is nearby and we visited a few towns he had advised, driving from the Atlantic Ocean to the Indian Ocean. We did start our final day in SA a bit late, because we were talking so nicely with them, interested as they are in your expericences and eager to share theirs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian M, Owner at Oceans Drift
Responded 10 Apr 2020
Thanks so much for the kind words Conny. It was lovely having you to stay and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the near future. Thanks Ian & Ann
Read more
Mikehene wrote a review Apr 2020
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
Gorgeous views and very tastefully decorated. Staff were nice and friendly, overall a great experience. I would go back again if in the wilderness area. The views overlooking the ocean provide a nice relaxing environment close to all the action.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
drehr139936 wrote a review Mar 2020
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany1 contribution
It was a beautiful place up on a hill with amazing view from the room over the bay of Simons Town. The hosts are with the guests at breakfast and share a lot of information around the area. We loved to stay there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
jstewa120093 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We loved staying in Ocean's Drift's contemporary spacious room with its outstanding views over False Bay. The property is beautifully maintained and the hosts, Ian and Ann couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast table and meeting other guests / travellers and sharing stories and advice. It was a lovely start to the day.. Hopefully we'll be back next year!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian M, Owner at Oceans Drift
Responded 06 Mar 2020
Thanks so much Jim & Pat it was lovely having you to stay and hopefully we’ll see you again next year. Good luck with the painting
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownSimon's Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oceans Drift
Which popular attractions are close to Oceans Drift?
Nearby attractions include Boulders Beach Penguin Colony (0.9 km), Scarborough Beach (7.3 km), and Fish Hoek Beach (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oceans Drift?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Oceans Drift?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Oceans Drift?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oceans Drift?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whole Earth Cafe, The Lighthouse Cafe, and Saveur.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oceans Drift?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Oceans Drift?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Scala Battery (4.5 km) and Noorul Islam Heritage Museum (2.2 km).