Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa

Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa

994 Mountain Harbor Rd Floor 1, Joplin Use Area, Mount Ida, AR 71957-8176
Lake Ouchita at Mountain Harbor
Traveller (215)
Mountain Harbor Resort offers a wide range of beautiful lodging, from our Signature Cottage, C25, with its sweeping vistas, to cozy cottages, lakeside Guest Rooms and the economical Joplin Inn Guest Rooms.
Room & Suite (56)
Back of our Cabin, from Lake
Pool & Beach (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 3 resorts in Mount Ida
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa, with Lake Ouachita's premiere Arkansas cabins, has been proudly owned and operated by the Barnes family since 1955, when Hal Barnes found a beautiful harbor in the newly formed Lake Ouachita, just under the gentle sweep of Hickory Nut Mountain. His vision for his "mountain harbor" lives on under the ownership and management of his son, Bill Barnes, and his son, Chris, who are both integral in the operations. Just a thirty minute drive west from Hot Springs, this premier Arkansas resort, offers Lake Ouachita's most luxurious cabins and cozy lake view guest rooms, an elite fleet of rental boats, services and fuel through Mountain Harbor's Marina, houseboat rentals, lake view dining at the Lodge Restaurant and three sparkling swimming pools. Weddings, group meetings and family reunions find exceptional staff and service in our lake side conference and wedding venues.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Boating
Diving
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Fishing
Children's playground
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
24-hour check-in
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family

Location

994 Mountain Harbor Rd Floor 1, Joplin Use Area, Mount Ida, AR 71957-8176
1,129Review8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 899
  • 143
  • 46
  • 30
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kirsti Sherlock wrote a review Mar 2021
Panama City Beach, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family had the most fantastic stay at this resort! We went for a spring break trip, and it couldn’t have been better. These are the most friendly people you will ever meet and they will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is perfect!
We brought our kids’ bikes and they could ride around, without just being cooped up in a hotel room, having to keep quiet. They loved going out exploring. It was so quiet and peaceful. Just perfect for our little vacation!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pati brown, General Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Responded 27 Apr 2021
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write up such a great review! Come back and see us again, soon! We loved having you here!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shannon G wrote a review Sept 2020
Van Buren, Arkansas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 20, 2020, Due to storm damage, our accomodations were upgraded from the Van Guilden lake house to a cottage #C17. Very nice and comfortable. Of course, being in the woods, there are ants and a few bugs, (NOT roaches), The office personel were wonderful and very quick with all our questions and needs. The back deck was amazing and a hot tub all of us enjoyed. s'mores on the deck grill and a beautiful view of the lake and marina. When booking, be specific on what pots and pans, cookie sheets..etc..you need for your stay. Over all a wonderful time of year and wonderful place to make memories. daily temp was 83, night temp was 55, but warm lake water at 78-80. The dive shop and instructors were wonderful and we enjoyed spending time with them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pati brown, General Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Thank you for your great review! We can't wait for you to see all the hard work we've done at Van Guilder Lodge! It's all fresh and snug with a new roof, new walls and paint and even some new light fixtures! Sound like the Harbor North cottage with the cozy hot tub worked out great for your family! We've all been enjoying this fabulous fall weather! We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacque B wrote a review Sept 2020
Rowlett, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for a place where a group of friends could adequately stay socially distanced and yet enjoy each other's company. Mountain Harbor more than fit the bill. We stayed in one of the East Village condos, which was clean, updated, quiet, and very pleasant. Waking up to deer meandering through the woods was somehow a great way to take our minds off of COVID-19. Coffee, plenty of linen and bath amenities were available, and the resort called us each day to ask if there was anything we needed. If you did, they immediately brought it to our unit, something almost unheard of in today's world. We rented a party boat for our group (which was big enough for us to all spread out) and had a great time on the lake. The marina staff were wonderful. Very helpful and efficient. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pati brown, General Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Responded 19 Oct 2020
We LOVED your review! Thank you for taking the time and care to write such a lovely review! And...thank you for being our guests! It was our privilege to host your family! We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robin w wrote a review Jul 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort is completely in a solitary and beautiful part of Hot Springs area. It is definitely in need of updating, and we felt like we ad come to a trump rally (the place was decked out with several trump flags as well as a hundred US flags. Unfortunately we came to get away (from politics, from work etc)
Our room was not ready at 3 so we had to wait until 5:00. We were in the parking area waiting but we were able to watch the housekeeping staff...if you are careful about covid safety this is not a good choice for you, The staff was going in and out of multiple rooms without masks or gloves. If they would not do the simplest part of safety, just had a difficult time thinking if they were cleaning the room. LOTS of groups of people not wearing masks; just not comfortable. MANY people staying in a room along with lots of smokers. The office had no answer for us except the rooms were cleans "hydro-statically" We were able to get our money back but they were NOT kind. We were driving back out to the main road. At the stop sign , directly across the street, is a dilapidated old motel type. Outside the doors were all the housekeepers from Mountain Harbor Resort. In terrible housing conditions. Unsure what is going on but we were devastated to see the living conditions for the house keepers. (our first thought was sweatshop type) this place was not the right fit for us but I am sure it is for many.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pati brown, General Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mountain Harbor. While it is never easy to hear that we have disappointed you, we appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience! The Fourth of July is our biggest holiday here on Lake Ouachita and we celebrate our nation's birthday the whole month of July. It is not a Trump Rally, but rather a celebration of our country. Our check in time on Sunday is at 5PM, which is communicated clearly in our conversations with our guests, the confirmation emailed to each guest, the welcome text sent to each guest on arrival day and the information on our website and in our brochures. We are so sorry that you were disappointed in the check in time. You are correct that the staff you watched had taken off their masks and gloves in cleaning one of our rooms. They were immediately contacted and asked to put their masks and gloves back on! It was the end of the day and they had been previously wearing them and when asked by their supervisor why they had taken them off, they were truly sorry. We had a safety meeting the next morning to talk with all our guest care staff about the importance of wearting their masks. Our assistant manager was unaware that you thought she had been unkind. She offered to have your room recleaned, explained our electrostatic disinfectant sprayer and offered you different accommodations only as a courtesy, not to be unkind. And you were immediatley given a full refund when you declined any offers. We do not provide housing for any staff members here at Harbor. We do operate a vintage road side motor lodge, the Joplin Inn, at the end of the highway and you witnessed our Guest Care staff cleaning rooms for our guests there. We can assure you that it is not a sweat shop - it is a lodging facility that has been welcomed and praised in our community and has a strong and loyal following. The rooms there have been completely remodeled and offer premium bedding, flat screen TV's, free wifi and a beautiful landscaped area with creek in the back. We know that this entire experience was very unpleasant for you and it is truly disappointing to see how very badly so many things - our check in time, our efforts to accommodate you and even our staff cleaning the Joplin Inn - were somehow misinterpreted and caused you so much unhappiness and alarm. Our patriotism and celebration of our nation's birth was in no way meant to intimidate you or cause you discomfort. We care deeply for all our customers and we are very, very sorry that you are so unhappy with us. We hope that you found accommodations that more closely matched your expectations and were able to enjoy the weekend.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda W wrote a review Jun 2020
Merritt Island, Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The stay at the motel on US 270 was not as luxurious as staying at the lodge on the lake, but it was a great experience in a clean and well-run family-owned property near Mt. Ida, AR. A country convenience store operated by the resort is located just across the street and also has a small cafe.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pati brown, General Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Responded 08 Jun 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your wonderful compliments along to our staff - they are the ones who deserve it! Come back and stay with us again, soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve wrote a review Aug 2020
Little Rock, Arkansas
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We planned a quick weekend getaway. I booked a room that promised a lake view and hot tub "on every patio".

We drove an hour and half from Little Rock, excited to get away on Friday afternoon. When we got there, they handed us keys and directions to the Joplin motel two miles from the resort.

When you make a reservation make sure that you verify what you're booking as the pictures on the site didn't reflect the room we were given. The Joplin motel is clean but something out of a 70's horror flick. Cinder block walls. Exterior motel entrance facing a major highway (lots of noise) and no windows. Felt like a jail cell.

The staff eventually allowed us to cancel the reservation and issued a refund, but it was a major disappointment to our weekend plans. We had to turn around and go back to Little Rock as they were completely booked and had no other options.

Also, if you're a Trump supporter, you'll fit in here, but otherwise, might be a bit uncomfortable. This organization wears its politics very visibly...guess it's part of their brand. You drive up and there were at least 2-3 "Don't Tread on Me" flags flying.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pati brown, General Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us! We are so sorry you were disappointed. We don't know about any verbiage on our website advertising "a lake view and hot tub on every patio!". We try really hard to be as careful, honest and thorough as possible. Here is the actual verbiage about our Joplin Inn properties from our website: "Joplin Inn, formerly the Colonial Motel, is a wonderfully remodeled spot conveniently located at the intersection of Hwy 270 and Mountain Harbor Road, just 2 1/2 miles from our Lodge. Guests can expect the same economy prices offered at this family-owned and operated site for years, with all of Harbor's classic decor and comfort and excellent customer service standards. Guests at the Joplin Inn are guests of Mountain Harbor Resort and Spa - a short 3-minute drive down Mountain Harbor Road. Alongside beautiful rooms and a huge backyard and creek area, Harbor can offer access to the renowned Lake Ouachita, three property pools, the Harbor Lodge Restaurant, marina, hiking/biking trails and much more! Across the street is also the Joplin Store with a deli, fresh food items, sundries, snacks, movie rentals, and all the odds and ends to make your stay unforgettable!" The photos on our website are taken with a phone camera - no special effects are used. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed, but we cannot find any of the information that you refer to on our website anywhere and we feel terrible that you had to drive back home. As you mentioned, we were completely full. Our customer loyalty is hard won with earnest and sincere customer service, staff who are passionate about what they do and a dedication to integrity and hospitality that is unrivaled in our state. If you would like to contact us privately, we would welcome an opportunity to visit with you about your experience. We are always listening and always eager to improve our services and facilities. The integrity of our website is very important to us and if there are things that you can show that need correcting we will take immediate steps to do so. Unfortunately, we cannot find any of the statements on our website that you refer to you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise J wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed a few nights in one of the RV sites by the lake. It was a nice large, paved site with full hookups. There were only 3 sites in this location, but there are a few more RV sites in another location which looked very nice as well. The staff was very accommodating and even called to let us know about a severe weather alert one night and where to find the "Safe House."
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maps540455 wrote a review Sept 2020
Willis, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for four nights and had a great time. We had a King Suite with a porch facing the lake which we really enjoyed. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We rented a boat one day and was pleased with the service from start to finish. The only complaint is that the food wasn’t very good and it was overpriced. The dining room was closed due to COVID so we had to order take out. They charged a 5% packaging fee on top of already high prices. The salad that we got was full of brown, wilting lettuce and had a carrot stem thrown in. It almost looked as if it was a scrap pile leftover from making a fresh salad. I’m glad we only planned to dine there once during our stay. The other nights we utilized the charcoal grill that was provided. Other than the food this place was fantastic for experiencing Lake Ouachita!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pati brown, General Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Thank you for being our guests! We loved your review - the good and the bad! It's tough to hear that you were disappointed in our food at the restaurant. If we had known, I 'm sure we could have taken care of your disappointment. We always want everything to be right, fresh and delicious, but if it's not, we want you to know that we are alwayst ready to make it right! We love that you were happy with your King Suite and the party barge at the marina. Thank you for your kind words about our staff! We enjoy hearing this about our service! It means everything to us! We hope that you will come back again soon - and please, let us make up for that disappointing meal!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia J wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cottage was comfortable and well appointed. Coffee pot, filters and coffee provided. Basic selection of pots and dishes. 4 coffee cups. Air conditioner vents in floor blow very strong air stream, person sleeping in bed near vent should bring an extra blanket. There were none in the cottage. We did not ask for any because we weren't using that bed. Procedure for getting more towels and wash cloths was easy and convenient.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
arkiemommy wrote a review Aug 2020
Little Rock, Arkansas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, Turtle Cove Spa is fabulous! That was the reason that we decided to stay at Mountain Harbor, due to the close proximity from our condo to the spa. Once on property, everything is within walking distance, and the chef is quite talented. Was the perfect venue for a girls' weekend. Highly recommend! Every single leftover bit of food delivered by the chef was packed up amongst the 7 of us - nothing was going to waste, it was that good. It was perhaps the best spinach dip and sausage gravy any of us had ever had. We had all meals catered by the chef and will do exactly the same next time we visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from pati brown, General Manager at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Wow! Thanks for the great review! We got hungry just reading it! We will pass your compliments on to our chef! It was a pleasure having all of your with us and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your location, the condo, the spa and the great food! Thank you!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoriKH asked a question Jun 2020
2 contributions
Is there a pier or anywhere you can fish?
Answer from Noah S
Texarkana, Texas6 contributions1 helpful vote
Mountain Harbor is the fourth largest fresh water marina in the world, that being said, I believe they allow guest to fish off of any of the many floating boat docks and even the marina itself! Growing up, many of my friends were successful fishing for small-mouth bass and crape right from the boat docks. The staff at Mountain Harbor are very helpful and will accommodate your fishing needs while you stay.
Answer from Luv2-Trvl-1492
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma17 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed in an attached small " cottage type" room just below main inn. There was a kitchen and couch but it was not a full cabin. It worked for 2 of us but once there were 3 it was too tight. Hot tub was for public use of residents
garrettbock asked a question Apr 2017
Medora, Illinois
need a phone#
Answer from pati b
Mount Ida, Arkansas109 contributions53 helpful votes
You can call us at 870-867-2191. We look forward to talking with you!
Sue P asked a question Nov 2015
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Are pets allowed (cats)?
Tarra G wrote a tip 10 Jun
4 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is not in Hot Springs. It is 30 miles away. It is NOT a spa. If you want those services, you better call and book it first, before booking a non refundable stay. "
Read full review
WTCarter1656 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sibley, Louisiana115 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect place for a family retreat!"
Read full review
lisa b wrote a tip Sept 2023
olive branch mississippi35 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is about 35 mi utes frim Hot Springs so get what you need before you get there."
Read full review
Jerry T wrote a tip Jan 2023
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be shy. They will help you with anything if they're able!"
Read full review
Texanbybirth wrote a tip Apr 2022
Dallas, Texas195 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Early Spring visit was quiet, not crowded, relaxed, but I bet it gets busy in summer."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mount Ida area.
PRICE RANGE
R 8,413 - R 11,145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mountain harbor hotel mount ida
LOCATION
United StatesArkansasMount Ida
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNTAIN HARBOR RESORT & SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (Mount Ida, AR)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Lake Ouachita (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harbor Lodge Restaurant, Shangri La Resort, and Subway.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Mount Ida HotelsMount Ida Hotel DealsHotels near Mountain Harbor Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire