The Village Lodge

The Village Lodge

Harare Road Lot 1 Bon Brae Farm Christmas Pass, Gweru 263 542 Zimbabwe
view from the standard room
Traveller (39)
Conference Room
Room & Suite (4)
Enjoy a glass of wine on complementary every weekend  #Stay ,Work,Play ,Dine @The Village Lodges
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#2 of 7 lodges in Gweru
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Neatly thatched chalets with a touch of modernization, home to the only Chinese restaurant in Gweru and the flagship of The Village Lodes Group is The Village Lodge. It is located along the Harare Road, 5 kms from the CBD.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic

Location

Harare Road Lot 1 Bon Brae Farm Christmas Pass, Gweru 263 542 Zimbabwe
51Reviews7Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 22
  • 16
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
saraswales wrote a review Feb 2020
Durham, United Kingdom287 contributions84 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 5 nights whilst visiting local schools. The staff were lovely, the rooms were large and clean with good facilities such as TV, fridge, air conditioning and kettle. The bar was lively and cheap for drinks. The food was OK but not everything was available. The water in shower often didn't work, nor did the WiFi. However, with the infrastructure issues in zim. I didn't expect it to be as nice as it was. Beds so comfy, linen crisp and good quality as we're the towels and toiletries. I have taken off 2 stars for the plumbing and WiFi issues which were a real inconvenience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Good day Saraswales! Thank you for the awesome rating. We are also grateful for feedback and the business support. We look forward to hosting you soon and to have improved on the issues you have raised Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alois C wrote a review Jun 2021
Bulawayo Province, Zimbabwe31 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
situated on the outskirts of gweru there is little noise . even though along main road to harare noise cant be heard because road far. it has onsite standby generator and free wifi. the rooms are great and very comfortable . has parking next to every room . on the downsize your restaurant did not have some stuff which is on booklet menu. and guys do something about change issue. had to sleep on an empty stomach because you could not get change . guys this is an easy fix. anyway nice place guys keep it up .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pascal wrote a review Mar 2012
Province of Malaga, Spain221 contributions130 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Village Lodge is well located for an overnight stop if you travel from Botswana or Vic Falls to Harare, just off the main road, 5 kilometers after Gweru on the road to Harare. Despite the proximity to the road, there is not much noise. It's frequented mainly by business travellers and NGO staff.
The rooms are large, two rooms per thatched roof bungalow, equiped with railway sleeper furniture, a fridge and a small TV with DsTV. There are suites for a few dollars more, and they have a larger flat screen TV. The bath rooms are clean, with a bath tub, a shower, fresh, clean towels and quality amenities. The only criticism I would have here is the quality of the beds which are below the standard of the other equipment.
Dinner was rather limited in choice (half the dishes on the menu were not available), but the food that was available was fresh and ok. Breakfast was very English but good.
In general, you can see that somebody has tried to build a tasteful lodge. In terms of colour scheme and curtain choice they did not really pull it off, but it's a nice place with very friendly and well managed staff. Well worthwile staying there for a night, for business or on overland travel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2016
Good Evening Pascal C Thank you for staying with us at The Village Lodge in 2012. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback . We would like to apologise for the uncomfortable bed and the limited dinner choices. We are pleased to inform you that we have, over the years, improved in these two areas. We embarked on a serious bed replacement program and as for the menu, we now serve Western and Chinese so as to enhance our food range. We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible stay hence regret the inconveniences caused during your stay. Once again thank you for the feedback. We value your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru! Warm Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Innocent wrote a review May 2014
Pemba, Mozambique213 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very comfortable, private and secure motel in Gweru. I enjoyed my stay and the service was worth the money. The best place in Gweru so far and the food is also excellent. The rooms are neat and almost new.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 22 Aug 2016
Good Afternoon Innocent M Thank you for choosing to stay with us in May 2014 at The Village Lodge. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive and encouraging feedback. It gives us a sense of pride when we know our guests have had the best stay and are sharing it with everyone else. We are glad you found the service to be worth the money. Once again we thank you giving our lodge a positive review. We appreciate your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru. Warm Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
djnmusendo wrote a review Jan 2014
London, United Kingdom42 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Village Hotel in Gweru in January 2014. it was a pleasant surprise. The lodges are well spaced with nice parking.
The reception doesnt give you a true picture of what to expect indoors. But once you are inside you will love it and enjoy a restful night. The bathrooms are spot on.
More so, i loved their breakfast. its full english breakfast with all you could expect from a 5 star hotel. The staff were friendly and yes, i will recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Book in advance. They can be full sometimes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 22 Aug 2016
Good Afternoon djnmusendo Thank you choosing to stay with us in January 2014 at The Village Lodge. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for positive and encouraging feedback. It gives us a sense of pride when we know our guests have had the best stay and are sharing it with everyone else. We are glad you found our rooms, bathrooms and the parking to be good. Moreover, we are happy you enjoyed your breakfast. Once again we thank you giving our lodge a positive review. We appreciate your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru. Warm Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarlNcube wrote a review Nov 2013
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe158 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked into one of the neatly designed thatched rooms at the Village lodge ahead of a Stand Up comedy show I had in their bar. Room service was pretty quick considering the distance the waiters have to walk to get your order to your room. The chalets really make you feel like you are the only person staying there. This is such a great place for a layover if making a long drive to Victoria Falls or Bulawayo I would highly recommend it! Be sure to stay there when the top comedian from Zimbabwe is performing at their BONANZA BAR its guaranteed to be a special evening!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose a room with AIR CON because it can get really hot sometimes in GWERU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2016
Good Evening Carl Thank you for staying with us at The Village Lodge in November 2013. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive and encouraging feedback . It gives us a sense of pride when we know our guests have had the best stay and are sharing it with the whole world. We are glad you found chalets very refreshing, and the room service fast. Once again we thank you giving our lodge a positive review. We value your business support and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Gweru! Warm Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joystuck Events wrote a review Jul 2018
Harare, Zimbabwe10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A neat and secluded venue for public and private functions. It offers privacy to travelers and has one of the best restaurants and was served by friendly staff. Keep it up village Lodge, I enjoyed my stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daisy P wrote a review Jan 2018
Harare Province, Zimbabwe2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
the village is a beautiful place to stay .The reception was very welcoming
i really loved the room setup because they are clean and have an air con..
there is a beautiful outside view especially during the night. if u have business stuff to carry out they have wifi for their visitors.....lastly i was served a delicious breakfast....
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Idah Tawonezvi wrote a review Nov 2017
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe55 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 6 nights at this city lodge in the Midlands. The room I stayed in had a thatched room and modern furniture. It was also very roomy with comfortable beds. The conference facilities were also quite comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary U wrote a review Jun 2016
5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The Surbaban Village is form twin peaks and the same with the Village Lodge. I stayed there for two days and it was the worst nights of our life. The place is nice, the rooms are not bad , with very nice bedrooms. However i felt the place to be very scary. Myself and my team member we had almost similar horrific dreams and we had to spend one night in one room together. I wouldn't sleep or book at this place again. It may have been coincidence but i was dsiappointed
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheVillageLodges, Manager at The Village Lodge
Responded 25 Aug 2016
Good Afternoon Mary U Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Suburban Village in June. We also appreciate the time you took to review us online. Thank you very much for the positive, encouraging and candid feedback . It is pleasing to note that you appreciated the rooms and the place in general. We also took note of your feedback concerning the bad vibe that you felt during your stay. We are still trying to establish where that could have emanated from , could it have been a movie you watched or something that you were not quite happy with that could have caused this? We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible stay thus kindly accept our apologies for the inconveniences that may have been caused. Your business support is invaluable to us. Please allow us to recover on your next trip to Gweru and may we suggest that maybe for a change, try The Village Lodge. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gweru area.
LOCATION
ZimbabweMidlands ProvinceGweru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE VILLAGE LODGE - Reviews (Gweru, Zimbabwe)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Village Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to The Village Lodge?
Nearby attractions include St Theresa Cathedral (5.0 km) and Gweru Military Aircraft Museum (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Village Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Village Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Village Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Village Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Village Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milan Family Restaurant, Garden city restaurant , and Garden city restaurant .
Does The Village Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is The Village Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.