Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges

Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges

Traveller (965)
Honeymoon Suite with Crater View
Room & Suite (120)
Karibu Camps And Lodges - Ngorongoro Lions Paw
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 17 campsites in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Welcome to Ngorongoro Lion’s Paw. Ten minutes from the crater floor, comfortably nuzzled by the thick red thorn acacia trees, resting within the Eastern Ngorongoro Crater rim lays Lion’s Paw Camp. You are in for a treat if you seek intimacy with nature’s finest in Ngorongoro as you set your eyes upon the panoramic crater gaze. The evergreen caldera promises an all-year wildlife siting to its resident Lions, Elephants, Zebra, Buffalo and many more roaming the area. If you are lucky, you are sure to see the rare, endangered Black Rhino. Lion’s Paw effortlessly offers luxurious comfort, an abundance of excellent service and elegance. The perfect combination to an African Safari.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Private check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili

Location

Serengeti, Ngorongoro Conservation Area Tanzania
755Reviews5Q+A94Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 716
  • 30
  • 4
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Daniela F wrote a review Jul 2023
11 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For our last night on our safari, we decided to spend the night in a slightly more expensive accommodation than the previous nights. Lions Paw was worth every penny! First of all, its location is outstanding, at the rim of the crater, in a jungle like area, with a beautiful view over Ngorongoro. The apartment was unreal, big and modern, with nice furniture, a spacious bathroom with a nice shower, and a comfortable bed. As it can get quite cold in the evenings and at night, they supplied us a gas heater and a thermal blanket which were cozy and provided us with the best sleep. The staff is courteous and lovely. Dinner and breakfast were served buffet-style and it was so delicious! Best food we’ve had all safari (and food was great everywhere)! Also the drinks they served at the cozy bar were fancy and totally worth the money (fair prices). All in all, this accommodation is a real gem and totally recommendable! Asante sana
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Misha Pattni, Owner at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 08 Jul 2023
Dear danifoelmli, Thank you for your fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that Lion's Paw exceeded your expectations and provided you with a memorable experience for your last night on your safari. We're glad you found the location outstanding, with its prime position at the rim of the crater and the beautiful view over Ngorongoro. Being surrounded by the jungle-like area adds to the allure and natural charm of our property. It's wonderful to know that you were impressed with the unreal and modern tents. We take pride in providing spacious and well-appointed accommodations to ensure our guests' utmost comfort. We understand that the evenings and nights can get quite cold, so we're pleased that our provision of a gas heater and thermal blanket ensured you had a cozy and restful sleep. Your comfort is of utmost importance to us, and we're glad that we could provide you with a comfortable stay. Thank you for your compliments on our courteous and lovely staff. We strive to provide exceptional service, and it's rewarding to hear that our team made a positive impact on your experience. Thank you for recommending Lion's Paw as a real gem and a highly recommendable accommodation. Your endorsement means a lot to us, and we truly appreciate it. Asante sana for choosing Lion's Paw and for sharing your positive experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future for another exceptional stay. Karibu Tena! Ngorongoro Lions Paw Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carteeeeee wrote a review Jan 2022
New York City, New York2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lion's paw was the perfect 'home' while visiting Ngorongoro. Each staff member took the time to get to know our preferences and were ready to ensure we were comfortable at the fire each night to watch the beautiful sunset. You are surrounded by nature no matter what portion of the lodge you are choosing to relax.

Although my favorite spot was by 'bush tv' (the fire) our room was equally as comfortable with the BEST turndown service. With the cool evenings of October we would arrive back to the cleaned room to snacks, heaters our fresh laundry and warm water bottles in the bed.

The meals were plentiful, of great quality and taste. The first evening we arrived I was not feeling well from the previous evening's dinner at a different lodge. The staff and chef prepared very specific food and drinks to soothe my stomach, ensuring I would be ready for game drive the next morning. It was so appreciated.

You should stay at Lion's Paw if you have the chance! Truly memorable because of their team and the environment.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karibu Safari, Marketing at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 09 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for the detailed feedback and we are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay at Ngorongoro Lions Paw. Our team at Lions Paw will be very happy to read your feedback as this is what thrives them and when guests leave with a smile, it makes them feel appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed the sunsets, the fireplace, food and had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. For updates on Karibu Camps and Lodges properties and wildlife please like our page on Instagram and Facebook @karibucamps. Karibu Tena! Ngorongoro Lions Paw Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
arushan73 wrote a review Jan 2020
Arusha, Tanzania342 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was not really expecting such an amazing view. This property is nestled on the Ngorongoro Crater rim, within the forest of Acacias. Easy to reach and very quick access to the Crater floor for early start to your game drives.
Staff were lovely and knew the perfect balance between giving us space and being there to assist us.
Rooms are large, spacious and clean. Lush beddings and great modern bathrooms.
Gets cold at night and thankfully we get a heater in the room, hot shower, hot water bottles.
We all loved the option of sitting outside by the fire place. Most other camps and lodges do have this feature but this one made us feel at ease and could see far to the Crater and what an amazing sunset.
This was an abrupt trip but truly worth it for all of us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Misha P, Guest Relations Manager at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 06 Jan 2020
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the crater view and the new luxury tents. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we do hope the beautiful memories made here will have you longing to return. We would truly enjoy having the opportunity to welcome you again. Warmest regards from Tanzania, Karibu Camps & Lodges
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicolette A. Munoz Consulting wrote a review Aug 2022
San Luis Obispo, California251 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Ngorongoro Lions Paw has one of the best locations on the crater rim with close access to the Eastern crater entrance to the base of the crater. Its position gives guests an advantage of getting down to the crater earlier and not being caught in a traffic entering and exiting the crater. The 15 tent suites are set within a lush rainforest jungle.

Views from the central portion of the camp by the dining room are spectacular. Suites are well appointed with gas heaters to ward off the cold due to the high elevation. Lions Paw was the third of five lodges we stayed in during our 11 day safari visit. We stayed there for two nights.

The problems first began when Lions Paw mixed up our booking. We requested two neighboring twin bed rooms, instead we were given two rooms with one bed each. After over an hour, D.C., the assistant manager, said he had found a solution. The solution involved half of our group of four being on one side of the camp in a twin bed tent and myself and my daughter being in one half of a "family unit" on the complete other end of the camp. I asked D.C. if the other half of the family unit would be occupied, as I didn't want to be subjected to the possible noise of a honeymooning couple or family with small children. D.C. said that the adjoining unit would not be occupied. I thought that the problems would be solved. Not so. We went to sleep, then at about 10pm we heard noise next door with a couple talking loudly over what sounded like a video call. I called the desk. Not only had I been lied to by D.C. that the unit would be unoccupied, we were dealing with loud noise through canvas from the adjoining unit. The manager, Isayah (sp?), not D.C., came to the door. I voiced my discontent about being lied to and asked that he say something to the couple next door. I believe that he did say something to the couple next door, but then they started up again with the loud conversation. It wasn't until I yelled at the top of my lungs "For God's sake, stop talking!!!" that they finally shut up. After voicing my discontent the next morning, when we came back there was no one is the adjoining unit for the second night and there was a bottle of wine and fruit basket from management. While I appreciate the effort of local management, it in no way made up for being lied to by D.C. As a travel industry professional, I understand that mistakes happen and you recover by acknowledging the mistake and overcompensating. Lions Paw chose not to do that. The whole episode is particularly chafing because the tents at Lions Paw are not inexpensive and this marred what was a perfect vacation.

Additionally, I found the food generally unremarkably bland and the meats substantially overcooked.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a tent closer to the center of the camp.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karibu Lodges, Owner at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Dear NMunozConsult, Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with this valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t have a great experience at Lions Paw – our mission is to provide excellent guest experiences, so we are sorry to have let you down. Your feedback has been taken to the management, and we will strive to make improvements accordingly. Our sincere apologies once again. Ngorongoro Lions Paw Team!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
USALouise wrote a review Sept 2022
Illinois788 contributions341 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at Lions Paw Lodge in September. It has a terrific location for early departure into the Ngorongoro Crater and the lodging is beautiful as well. The lodging is not what I would call a tented camp; it seems like treehouse cabins in the woods, with sliding glass door to a patio, luxurious bathroom, and wooden front door…much nicer than many hotel rooms we have stayed in. There were three spacious rooms (bedroom, huge bathroom, and large foyer) plus a patio. The weather was cool, as expected, but we were very cozy with our heated blankets and portable heater. I appreciated the thermos of hot water and tea in the cabin, which was still hot when we awoke in the morning. Our cabin #14 had a lovely scenic view from the patio.

The food and service were excellent. The dinner and breakfast buffets had a huge variety of delicious choices. The manager, Issa, was welcoming and checked on the guests continually. Zakayo was also extremely attentive and helped us learn a few new phrases in Swahili. We enjoyed the sundowner firepit and delicious snacks that Zakayo served before dinner. He also shared the photo of the elephant which visited the Lions Paw. You can enjoy a spectacular sunset from the comfortable patio near the restaurant. I would heartily recommend Lions Paw for your Ngorongoro trip!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Cabin #14 had a lovely view and was the second furthest from the main lodge.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Misha Pattni, Owner at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 25 Sept 2022
Dear USALouise, It is such a pleasure to read your feedback and we are loving it as we thrive to give the best service to all our guests. Isaah and his team always make sure guests have a memorable stay with us. Thank you! We are glad and delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the services, amenities, delicious food and the location. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Asante Sana! Ngorongoro Lions Paw Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte A wrote a review Jul 2022
Keele, England, United Kingdom16 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a wonderful one night stay here. I chose to stay here for the close location to the descent road into the crater to ensure that leaving at 6am in the morning would mean we are one of the first into the crater. It really is the perfect location with just a 10 minute or so drive until youre down in the crater, so perfect for those who want to maximise game viewing time before the crater starts to get busier. However, I was wowed by everything at Lion's Paw. We were worried about being cold at night but there was no need to be, we were lovely and warm in our room with the gas heater, thick duvet and hot water bottles left in the bed whilst we had dinner. There were hot drinks available in the room which was a lovely touch, and we enjoyed sitting on the terrace at the back of the room with a cup of tea whilst surrounded by the trees. The sunset views are stunning. The bathroom was huge and the shower was nice and hot. They have 24/7 electricity and power charging points in the room. The staff are fabulous and kept us safe escorting us in the dark. The escort from the room was very easy to arrange, just a quick call from the phone provided in the room. The food was also wonderful. We had a passion fruit cheesecake which was a food highlight during our 10 day trip in Tanzania, and the lunch box was the best of our trip too. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karibu Safari, Owner at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 27 Jul 2022
Dear Charlotte, Thank you very much! We are thrilled to hear we were able to exceed your expectations, feedback like this is very encouraging and I will certainly pass on your kind words to the whole team. Our camp's location on the Crater Rim allows guests to enjoy spectacular sunsets and an early start to the crater game drive and the unique experience of being immersed in nature and the wildlife around. We are so pleased you were able to experience this. We look forward to your next visit! Karibu Tena!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Baria553 wrote a review Mar 2020
Riga, Latvia5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of Lions Paw Camp it self is stunning , creating the space on the foot of the world famouse unbroken caldera yes the only one knowingly the famous Gorongoro crater, the friendly envioroment created by the highly experience staff and the kitchen master delicious good serves. Rooms are very clean and comfy and finally the service is excellent, if you have a chance than don't miss to book Karibu Camps Properties.
Thank you.
Travel To Tanzania SIA.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: Very comfortable rooms and safe.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Misha P, Guest Relations Manager at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are absolutely delighted to read your comments and thrilled that your stay at our camp was excellent. We are always conscious of our guest's needs and comfort. It is our endeavor to make your stay as wonderful as we can. Karibu Tena!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dawn E wrote a review Nov 2021
122 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second time staying at this camp. The location of this camp right on the edge of the crater is amazing with wonderful views of the crater right from your tent. The food was outstanding with so many wonderful choices. The tents are wonderfully laid out with plenty of room and all of the amenities of a fine hotel. The staff is where this camp really stand out above others. They welcomed us with song and dance. They are so extremely welcoming and friendly and make you feel like you are part of their family. They really showed this while we were there as my mother wasn't feeling well the night we arrived and the staff went out of their way to make sure that she was taken care of and had everything she needed. They even brought her soup to her tent the first night. The next morning she & my father stayed in camp late and got some extra sleep while the rest of the group left on game drive. When they did get up and went for breakfast the staff made sure she was comfortable and was given the right foods to eat to help calm her stomach down. They even made her a local drink to help her feel better and packed her a special lunch to take out on game drive. They were very attentive to our whole group the whole time we were there. And very personable as well.
Love this camp and the staff!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karibu Safari, Marketing at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 01 Dec 2021
Dear Dawn, Thank you for taking the time out for such a wonderful and detailed review. We enjoyed having you and being able to take care of your Mother who was not well. We are glad we were able to help her and make her feel comfortable. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the experience and we would love to see you come back in the not-so-distant future. We will be ready with a very warm welcome! Warmest regards from Africa, Ngorongoro Lions Paw Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zia B wrote a review Dec 2022
London, United Kingdom264 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Gem in the trees.

This place is a experience, the staff are friendly and welcoming. The cabins are spacious, with individual views not overlooked at all. The beds were comfortable and had mosquito nets provided alongside all toiletries required in the big bathrooms. No bath just showers.

Lovely balcony overlooking the trees wildlife spotted whilst we were there too. They ask you to call ahead in the evening when it’s dark so someone can escort you to the main blocks for dinner or drinks.

Food was nice not a huge choice but good buffet and the dining area was heated well and nice and cost.

Room also comes with a gas heater in the cooler months.

Good bar selection and also some board games in the lounge area, there’s a outside balcony with a fire pit too and a nice place to relax and see the sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manraj Chadha, Owner at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 28 Dec 2022
Dear 25ziab, Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Ngorongoro Lions Paw Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan60745 wrote a review Jul 2023
Boston, Massachusetts237 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lions Paw camp is named after a flower that carpets the rim of the crater. It’s a magical place situated at an altitude of 8000 feet and perched on the edge of the crater rim in what seems like a cloud forest of misty umbrella acacia trees. At happy hour you can sit on the elegant deck by the fire and gaze over the canopy to the crater floor as the sun sinks below the trees. It feels like a story book.

In the morning the location is right on the access road to the crater and it’s a short drive to the crater floor, a place so full of animals it feels like the garden of Eden or another planet. The camp can pack a delicious hot lunch so our July 4th picnic this year was at a picnic site in a national park surrounded by birds and next to a pond of hippos.

The lodge is stylish and quite luxurious with good food and very friendly efficient staff. There is electricity, Wi-Fi and piping hot water. The location is chilly due to the altitude but there is good heating in the rooms and electric blankets. The architecture of the lodge is elegant and unusual. It is only small so very quiet with personal service.

A couple of things to note - the altitude means that it is cold and a bit damp, like Scotland. The tents and lodge are snug but be prepared if you want to st outside. We found the beds a bit hard, but we tempered that thought with the knowledge that we were staying in a magical tent at 8000 feet with animals snuffling outside. The location is excellent for dropping into the crater but it’s a rough bumpy dirt road on the edge of the rim from the visitors center. I’m nervous of heights and I was glad when the drive finished, especially as we shared the road with elephants and Cape buffalo. On the other hand, the drivers who cross the rim are highly experienced professional guides, who stay in special accommodation at the lodge.

Overall, it is a magical place. I was sorry to leave after two nights and it will live in my memory.

Overall
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karibu Camps, Owner at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Responded 16 Jul 2023
Dear Susan60745, Thank you immensely for your rich and heartwarming review about your stay at Ngorongoro Lions Paw. We are thrilled to read that you found our lodge to be a "magical place." We are delighted to know that the mesmerizing views from the deck, the proximity to the crater, and the myriad wildlife encounters, all contributed to making your visit a memorable one. Your description truly captures the enchanting and unique atmosphere we strive to offer. We appreciate your positive comments on our stylish lodge, good food, and efficient staff. It is our joy to make every guest feel warmly welcomed and comfortable, and we're glad to hear that our heating amenities and personal service added to your positive experience. Thank you again for your glowing review, and we are touched to know that your stay at Lions Paw will live on in your memory. We would be delighted to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Ngorongoro! With warmest regards, Karibu Camps & Lodges
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from BobbyKaribuCamps
1 contribution
HI, I am part of the Management. Lions paw is part of Karibu camps and lodges ltd. The camp can arrange for crater walks and Game drives as may be required thru third parties. (We use them regularly and there is a cost for this) The tent pictures on trip advisor are very old. This property was rebuilt in 2020 and all rooms are the new ones with wooden floors and balconies. To get the latest photos visit the website or search karibucamps online..
Jill S asked a question Dec 2022
Norfolk, United Kingdom608 contributions152 helpful votes
Looking to visit early February. Is it cold and what does the lodge supply to keep guests warm?
Answer from Susan H
Bellingham, Washington44 contributions6 helpful votes
As people have said, it does get chilly at the elevation of the hotel. They have heaters in the rooms and heated blankets etc. You will be perfectly comfortable. Staff is amazing! Tip- take an extra suitcase full of clothes and shoes if you can. The staff everywhere you go will greatly appreciate it. Clothes and shoes are not easy to get and are expensive throughout many African countries. Also deflated soccer balls with a pump- they are so grateful for those things. Have an unforgettable trip!
Erica V asked a question May 2022
Is Wifi Available?
Answer from Misha P
Green Point, South Africa1 contribution3 helpful votes
Yes, we do have WIFI available at Ngorongoro Lions Paw.
Arusha, Tanzania4 contributions
Yes the camp has a computers for guest
Carolyn C asked a question Jun 2016
Ridgefield, Connecticut11 contributions5 helpful votes
Is laundry service available?
Answer from Sue A
Cincinnati, Ohio156 contributions46 helpful votes
Yes there is service. I didn’t think there was but discovered my friends did get laundry done.
Donald W wrote a tip Apr 2024
Bloomingdale, Georgia11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The only negative was that since it's very damp there, mildew can be a problem. Our room had some mildew near the ceiling in the corner."
Read full review
diverdavid wrote a tip Mar 2024
E. Palatka, Florida112 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"After dark, you must be escorted to and from your tent."
Read full review
Diane A wrote a tip Mar 2024
houston3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you can try to stay longer than one night. It would be lovely just to relax around the lodge."
Read full review
Dale S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Edmonds, Washington32 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Say hello to Jackson for us!"
Read full review
Beth W wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a warm sweater for the evenings and mornings. Don't be daunted by the drive there."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area area.
PRICE RANGE
R 8,726 - R 9,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaArusha RegionNgorongoro Conservation Area
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NGORONGORO LIONS PAW BY KARIBU CAMPS & LODGES - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
What are some of the property amenities at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges?
Top room amenities include a desk, a view of a nearby landmark, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
All Ngorongoro Conservation Area HotelsNgorongoro Conservation Area Hotel DealsHotels near Ngorongoro Lions Paw by Karibu Camps & Lodges
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire