We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aquamarine Guest House

113 Marsh Street Mossel Bay, Garden Route, Mossel Bay 6506 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (136)
Room & Suite (58)
Videos (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 32 guest houses in Mossel Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Luxury 4 star accommodation in the heart of the Garden Route. Centrally located in the main street of Mossel Bay, with secure off street parking behind a remote controlled gate. Within walking distance (15 minutes) from Santos Blue flag beach, supermarkets, restaurants and Bay View Private Hospital. Aquamarine Guest House is an exclusive 10 bedroom gem, with a fresh, modern ocean theme. Free WiFi is available in all rooms, as well as in the tastefully decorated lounge and dining room. All elegantly furnished rooms have superior quality queen beds, flat screen satellite TV's with DSTV, luxurious en-suite bathrooms, with double basins, big baths & showers, as well as patios / balconies, with beautiful ocean view, except for 2 Standard side rooms. The Deluxe and Superior rooms have kitchenettes with microwave ovens too ! The spacious Honeymoon Suite & Superior rooms have private balconies with magnificent views of the Bay. A delicious cooked to order, full English Breakfast is served on the main patio / balcony, or in the dining room, overlooking the picturesque Bay and Outeniqua mountains on the horizon. Whether it's for business or leisure, Aquamarine is ideal for day trips along the Garden Route. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you !
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Boating
Diving
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Water park
Windsurfing
Aerobics offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay

Location

113 Marsh Street Mossel Bay, Garden Route, Mossel Bay 6506 South Africa
Aquamarine Guest House
474Reviews2Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 300
  • 132
  • 29
  • 10
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
david m wrote a review 14 Apr
4 contributions
+1
Despite our disappointing experience at Aquamarine Guest House in Mossel Bay on the 7th of April, it's worth mentioning that the location was favorable. The guest house enjoys a good location, offering convenient access to attractions and amenities in the area. However, this positive aspect was overshadowed by several deficiencies in our stay. Despite booking the honeymoon suite, which boasted a four-star rating, our experience fell short in various aspects. The redeeming quality was undoubtedly the breathtaking view from the large balcony. However, the suite itself left much to be desired. The walls were in dire need of a fresh coat of paint, and various fixtures such as the hand towel rail and bathroom door lock were broken. The cleanliness of the room was disappointing, with noticeable dust accumulation in several areas, particularly egregious atop the rafters, on top of the TV, and atop the wardrobe. This was especially problematic for me as I am allergic to large amounts of dust. It was evident that the room had not been thoroughly cleaned for quite some time. Furthermore, the lack of privacy due to a gap underneath the door leading directly to reception was unacceptable for a honeymoon suite. The outdated wooden windows exacerbated the discomfort, especially during the stormy night, as they felt as though they might give way to the strong winds. Our sleep was severely disrupted, and the windows in reception suffered from the same issue of poor closure. Despite expectations, the promised breakfast was forgone in favor of a swift departure, as our dissatisfaction grew. The lack of staff presence at the reception desk and the absence of any acknowledgment of our honeymoon status further highlighted the shortcomings of our experience. Additionally, the absence of a welcome drink, despite being mentioned in other reviews, was disappointing, especially considering we had booked the purportedly best room in the establishment. Overall, our one-night stay at Aquamarine Guest House was marred by numerous deficiencies, leading to a regrettable experience that failed to live up to its four-star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nigel W wrote a review Mar 2023
Derbyshire, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Very well presented with great views over the ocean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Safe & secure on site parking. We left something behind by mistake, which was very efficiently couriered on to catch us up a few days later - great service !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A few of the local restaurants do a free taxi shuttle service to & from Aquamarine.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquamarine Guest House, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House
Responded 06 Mar 2023
Dear Nigel Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us ! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful views. Your compliments and support are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again ! Best regards Lientjie and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sandria M wrote a review 07 Apr
7 contributions
Brilliant place to stay they had thought of everything needed in a room. The Breakfast was very nice and was great to have the courtesy taxi to take you to the restaurants in the evening. very friendly helpful staff Definitely want to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
djohns658327 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
We stayed overnight here, easy to find, easy check in and lovely large well appointed room with emsuite and lovely toiletries. The outside area is small But very nicely laid out with small very clean pool. Breakfast and staff lovely and shuttle service to restaurants is a must, driver so friendly and helpful. He picked us up as well. Would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
hwatki284423 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Lovely comfortable big room with balcony and loungers. Delicious breakfast on the terrace. Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. A bit tricky to get into secure car park but manageable. Free shuttle to some restaurants a bonus
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquamarine Guest House, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House
Responded 15 Feb 2024
Dear Guests Thank you for the great review ! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our delicious breakfast. Your compliments and support are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again ! Best regards Lientjie and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John C wrote a review Feb 2024
Macclesfield, United Kingdom14 contributions6 helpful votes
Super guest house / B&B - we were on the first floor with great views over the bay but unfortunately it was foggy / misty for the majority of the time we were there :( Lovely rooms with good facilities. The guesthouse is at the top of one of the hills leading into Mossel and next to a busy road - but not much noise. There are complementary taxis to 3-4 restaurants as it is a bit too far to walk and not the nicest road to walk down .... if you stay on the left side of teh building have you be prepared to have you driving skills tested - b=very tight turns to park. All in all a good place - but do your research.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquamarine Guest House, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House
Responded 15 Feb 2024
Dear John Thanks for the review, we value your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us ! We appreciate your support and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Lientjie and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kimberleywilmink wrote a review Jan 2024
Cape Town Central, South Africa7 contributions
Nice room with a plunge pool and beautiful view. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They also have a shuttle service to town which was great and had amazing tips on where to eat. Breakfast was also very good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquamarine Guest House, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House
Responded 15 Feb 2024
Dear Kimberley Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us ! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and received friendly service. Your compliments and support are appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again ! Kind regards Lientjie and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Q4774NFmartind wrote a review Jan 2024
Pretoria, South Africa99 contributions14 helpful votes
Enjoyed a holiday close to the sea. One or two minor disappointments related to the stay. Room we occupied was on first floor where there was no wi-if reception (wi-fi on ground level rooms). Swimming pool not cleaned daily. Rooms and breakfast served by friendly staff. Affordable accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Access to and from parking would be challenging for a big vehicle. Rooms not equipped with light...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquamarine Guest House, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House
Responded 02 Jan 2024
Dear Martin Thank you for the review, we value your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us ! Please accept our apologies for the WiFi extender which was temporarily out of order and the swimming pool which was not sparkling clean as usual, due to the few days rain. We fixed the Wifi so that its available in all rooms and the swimming pool is inviting blue again. We appreciate your support and look forward to seeing you again in future ! Kind regards Lientjie and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sandria M wrote a review Dec 2023
7 contributions
We couldn’t fault our stay. The room was lovely, clean and bright with a sea view. You had thought of everything. The shuttle down to the restaurant and back in the evening was appreciated. The breakfast in the morning was very good, plenty of variety. Very helpful and friendly staff. Shame we couldn’t have stayed longer. Will definitely stay again if your way. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking available, free shuttle to restaurant in evening.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquamarine Guest House, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear Sandria Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us ! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and received service with a smile. Your compliments and support are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again ! Best regards Lientjie and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
trev0rherman wrote a review Nov 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions
Room 5 I was booked in, had poor wifi reception, could not do my work. Room was at the back with offices and cleaning facilities. Not much a view with such a stunning view available. Other than that, staff was friendly, breakfast was great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aquamarine Guest House, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House
Responded 15 Nov 2023
Dear Trevor Thank you for the review, we value your feedback and are glad that you received friendly service and a delicious breakfast. Unfortunately you booked our cheapest room type, a Standard double room, a side room with no direct sea view. We have 4 other room types with sea view, from Luxury rooms to the Honeymoon Suite, but those rooms are R200 - R600 per night more than the Std room. We've reset the WiFi extender and the internet is working well again in all rooms. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We appreciate your support and look forward to seeing you again ! Kind regards Lientjie and team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mossel Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,126 - R 1,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeMossel Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AQUAMARINE GUEST HOUSE - Now R 1 221 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶6̶2̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Mossel Bay, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aquamarine Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Aquamarine Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Santos Beach (0.6 km), Bartolomeu Dias Museum Complex (0.4 km), and Cape St Blaize Lighthouse (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aquamarine Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Aquamarine Guest House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Aquamarine Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Aquamarine Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aquamarine Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carola Ann's, La Peron Visskerm, and Cafe Gannet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aquamarine Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Aquamarine Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Aquamarine Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Aquamarine Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Mossel Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aquamarine Guest House?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aquamarine Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.