Hotel Portao Diaz

230 Alhof Drive D'Almeida, Mossel Bay 6506 South Africa
Traveller (41)
Self Catering room
Room & Suite (5)
I had a warm welcoming stay..#Raphiri KT
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

R 1 030
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#6 of 10 hotels in Mossel Bay
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Portao Diaz has become a household name in Mossel Bay and worldwide. With more than 50 years in the industry, Hotel Portao Diaz offers every visitor the experience of a lifetime in a uniquely South African setting. Friendly and professional staff, combined with a rich history, makes for a rewarding experience for both the businessman and the traveler. Hotel Portao Diaz presents every visitor with all the necessary creature comforts infused with true South African cuisine and lifestyle. Situated in D'Almeida, Mossel Bay, Hotel Portao Diaz has beautiful panoramic views of the bay and the Outeniqua Mountains. Nestled in a previously disadvantaged suburb of Mossel Bay, Hotel Portao Diaz creates the sense of local living with the peace of mind of 24/7 security. The hotel is less than an hour’s drive from George International Airport and close to the center of town which has various, restaurants, pubs, museums, casinos, shopping centres and much more. Hotel Portao Diaz boasts newly redesigned rooms in true South African style. Comfort is abound in every suite and spectacular views of the local township, with the Atlantic Ocean as backdrop, makes for one of a kind accommodation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
253Reviews1Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 102
  • 41
  • 14
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lyndle wrote a review Jan 2020
Robertson Wine Valley, South Africa3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was pleasantly surprised by this place! Initially I said I would never sleep there but when we were left with no option, my husband and I decided to check it out with our two young children! I experienced the best customer service here, better then anywhere I have been in Mosselbay! The rooms are extremely neat, bedding and beds are comfortable, linen was crispy fresh! Safe and secure, even though the area made me uncomfortable initially. It was a great experience!!! Leonore, thank you for your friendly nature and great assistance. I will never stay anywhere elae again when I visit M/bay! Regards, Lyndle Sparks
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sarankiprojects wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Easy to find, close yet not so close to the beach. Reception by staff: friendly and very helpful- there are room for improvement always. Consider including breakfast to costs. Serving of breakfast at 08h00 is late for guests that leaves early
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rober2cupido wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Security is an issue when you enter the premises in the evening. People that dont belong there enter and ask yoi for money. Not good. Also, sell pizza's or burgers on the premises. The bar closed early on new years eve. 11 o clock. Not good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ilhaam Saban wrote a review Nov 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa494 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately we decided very late to drive through to Mossel Bay for the IronMan event. By then most places were booked. I found this place via Discovery Vitality and thought it wouldn’t be as bad as some of the reviews stated because a) Discovery had them listed and b) I’m not usually a fussy person and have stayed in low star or even no star establishments before and I’m okay with just the basics.

However, this wasn’t just basic, it just felt dirty and grimy.

Portao Diaz has so much potential to uplift the surrounding area but the establishment is no less than what’s on the other side of the high walls.

Basic is one thing but it was run down and dirty. It was stressful and uncomfortable being there :(

1. The shower doesn’t look nor feel clean and was broken.
2. The kitchen in the communal space was seriously disgusting, dirty dishes everywhere and the surfaces and provisions was in a poor state.

The concept is cool, the township, shack look and decor of the backpackers shack was unique but the upkeep is poor.

The bed wasn’t hugely uncomfortable and the bedding was clean and the towels were fine, the tv was also okay, but one can’t help but feel like you’re just in a really dirty place :(

Nothing about the hotel feels great and sooner or later it will start to draw the wrong crowd and push tourists away.

Please read through all the negative reviews as constructive criticism. We all want to see Portao Diaz do well but not in this state…we want to return and recommend your establishment not feel obliged to turn others away so they don’t waste their money and have a bad holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandile Magidigidi wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Someone else made the booking for us and he mistakenly made it for 4 people instead of 5. We had an emergency with our car hence we booked this hotel on the last our. We arrived at a hotel where the Manager has no interest or whatsoever in people at all. He has an I don't care attitude. I think his name is Jaydene and he treated us like nobodies. We didn't want that type of an attitude on top of our frustrations due to our car giving us problems. We just wanted to rest and that was all.

Shame I felt sorry for the lady at reception who tried to accommodate us while the Manager was running up and down very busy with what I don’t know. We were told that he would attend to us after counting money as it was closing time for them at 10pm. We asked that they give us a room that accommodates 4 people and that our 8 year old would squeeze with one of her sisters. We didn't mind paying for an extra person. He was not even interest to talk to me and my family as his potential guests, but he was talking to our driver in Afrikaans, then our driver would explain to us what he was saying. Not that I don't speak and understand Afrikaans but, I just find it very odd that he would show no interest at his guests.

When the Manager finally find some time off from his busy schedule to attend to us, he came and listened harshly to my request. His response was "OK, just give them room 216 and don't put an extra bed for the 3rd child. You must also charge R120 for the extra child" he said this giving an instruction to the lady at reception right in front of us. Immediately after this he left us looking at each other as if to say "I have no time for this nonsense" We had to humble ourselves because all we wanted was rest after traveling all the way from the Eastern Cape (former Transkei) I've been to hotels and I've also worked for hotels but I've never experienced such attitude before. Nonetheless we ended up taking room 208 as we didn't like the layout of 216. Room 208 came at a higher rate but we didn't mind. The room was clean and spacious.

The following day on check out I was so shocked to arrive at reception at a completely different mood and environment. We asked for a late check out at 12noon and this was given to us with no drama at all. This is why I'm giving this Hotel a 2 star rating; it's because of the 2 ladies I that helped us at reception on check out.

I think that late duty Manager needs to be sent to some kind of a Customer service training. I will visit Mosselbay again but I will not dare staying at this hotel and let my family experience such an attitude again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
risimati vincen... B wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The worst place i have ever stayed , the front desk staff had not customers service experience. He was not helpful at all, he kept using the hotel policy as a scape goat. I battled to get iron at night because i have to leave early. A simple breakfast arrangement was complicated and i ended up giving up. No one assigned check temperature when checking in. Parking lot is closer to rooms and very noisy gate when opening and closing. Poor bed standard, Front desk not very familiar with the area and not sure about hotel meal delivery and very rude .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: stay away..
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nyoung274345 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of of the hotel was very convenient for us ...We enjoyed staying close to family and friends and minutes away from everything. Your staff was very friendly and helpful. My mother is from mosselbay and loved seeing all the pictures in your lounge area of people she knew and grew up with . Was very nostalgic for her seeing it. She loved her stay . Thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ntuthukomthembu wrote a review Oct 2022
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Extremely poor service. Food was not prepared as per request. Bed in a bad state, shower not working as it should. Toilet left untidy. Noisy environment made it difficult to sleep at night. Had to keep reminding the guest attendant of my requests that were emailed prior to my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim M wrote a review Aug 2022
Cape Town, South Africa13 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in the Hotel Portoa Diaz for a weekend in August. The hotel was an incredible let down. First impressions of the hotel as you arrive are not good as you have to go through a rough part of town and the hotel is located between a taxi rank and a liquor store. The room was small and there was literally nothing nice about it. Basic furniture and no attempt to make the rooms look nice. The photos on the website overstate the rooms appearance.

The bathroom was tiny, the toilet was fitted right up against the wall so it is not possible to sit on the toilet at right angles! The shower was ok but water pressure was low.

The floors were not properly cleaned and had a slimy feel to them.

There was a lot of noise from other residents who we’re having a massive party in the common area and there was no one on duty to ask them to keep it down. Once they finally went to bed, the stray dogs from the township and the local taxis made certain that a good nights sleep could not be achieved

Not a great hotel, unless having a massive party in the common areas is what you’re planning

Oh yes and there was a rooster which was also very weird.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andrewZ7001WY wrote a review Mar 2020
George Town, Malaysia1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good quality food.
Service in general not good.
Toilet flush not working properly.
At early morning checkout long wait for desk staff to help.Desk staff not at desk.After few calls and long wait desk staff came to assist.
Bed not comfortable.
Hotel needs upgrade, espesially bathroom fasilities.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ilhaam Saban wrote a tip Nov 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa494 contributions54 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else."
Read full review
risimati vincen... B wrote a tip Nov 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"stay away.."
Read full review
Avid Traveller wrote a tip Jul 2019
Western Cape, South Africa111 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Well worth the stay"
Read full review
Natalia S wrote a tip Mar 2019
St. Petersburg, Russia281 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better to have a room upstairs with a view on the ocean."
Read full review
993reception wrote a tip Feb 2018
Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"do not go to this place."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mossel Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 652 - R 748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeMossel Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PORTAO DIAZ - Now R 679 (Was R̶ ̶7̶7̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Mossel Bay, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Portao Diaz
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Portao Diaz?
Nearby attractions include St. Blaize Trail (3.9 km), Santos Beach (1.7 km), and Bartolomeu Dias Museum Complex (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Portao Diaz?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Portao Diaz?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Portao Diaz?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Portao Diaz?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carola Ann's, La Peron Visskerm, and Cafe Gannet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Portao Diaz?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Portao Diaz?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Portao Diaz offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Mossel Bay HotelsMossel Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Mossel BayHotels near Hotel Portao Diaz
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire