We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$111*
US$111*
US$111*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 319: English reviews
Start your review of Eight Bells Mountain Inn
 Click to rate
Onrus River
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were warmly greeted on our arrival, and shown to our room by a charming gentleman. As the Inn is quite away from towns they automatically booked us for Diner, and what a lovely meal it was. The following day we woke to pouring rain and sat in the lounge, they same gentleman came and lit the fire for us...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We are returning guests and every time we go back, we think that things might have changed. But it doesn't! The accommodation, the staff and the excellent food is consistently excellent! We love ...just love!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa T
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

All reviews are appreciated especially those from regular guests. As owner and GM I always emphasize to the staff that consistency is what makes guests return year after year. It is good to hear that you find our product to be of an consistent high standard and we thank you for that. Looking forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights at Eight Bells over a weekend and were particularly impressed by the well kept surroundings,the amenities, the good food served on white tablecloths and the efficient staff. The room was comfortable and even the weather was kind. Anyone looking to relax and enjoy old fashioned hospitality at a reasonable price should seriously consider the Eight Bells.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robwR1862SH
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

It is good to hear that your stay with was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed all the aspects of our offering. Thank you for the kind words and recommendation. It is much appreciated.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a nice house. It was decorated nicely. We slept in a Swss-styled chalet, located with beautiful surroundings. Breakfast and dinner were very delicious. We very much enjoyed our stay and we would recommend it to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 359wimj
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the accommodation and food was to your satisfaction. Thank you once again, looking forward to your next visit.

Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Why anyone would consider staying in Mossell Bay when just up the road is this hidden gem. A hideaway from the hustle and bustle of city living that oozes character, tranquillity and space. First impressions are so important and as soon as you are met by the front staff you know you are going to have an enjoyable stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AustralianTravelGuru
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

It is heartwarming to read a review like this and we thank you for that. It is not often that we tick all boxes and meet all expectations but in this instance it does look like it. Thank you so much for staying with us and for this great review. It is much appreciated.

Riebeek-West
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything was just super and out the top draw. Wonderful staff, from the reception to the staff working the gardens. Brilliant food. Best ever medium rare fillet steak ! The most lovely gardens and surrounds. Loved the daily visit from the "cat with no name". Thanks to All for a great stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie P
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the food, the gardens and the visits from our resident cat "Skye". We are looking forward to your next visit.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took my parents, who are both 92, to Eight Bells for a week across the Easter Weekend. They had spent their honeymoon there in 1950 and we had later gone there as a family when we were children. It was a wonderful chance to relive the old memories. The charm is still there as is the anvil and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveForestg
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

It was wonderful to be able to welcome you and your folks back to Eight Bells after so many years. I am glad I got the chance to have a chat to them and hear about their past visits. And for them to find their entry written in our visitor books that dates back to 1950 must have particularly pleasing....

Paarl
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Wow, what a great time we had. Great service, great food and a beautiful setting. The kids had a ball and great MTB!! We have already made a booking for 2018!! I would highly recommend Eight Bells to families with small kids!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank talita_guizot
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your visit and your positive review. As you said we are able to entertain all guests be they small kids or more mature visitors. We look forward to your next visit and thank you once again.

Stoke-on-Trent, England
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Unfortunately this was only an overnight stay, i arrived late and vacated early. But i can say that the standard of these log cabins is excellent. Set in the mountains on the Robinson Pass the setting is very tranquil. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and made sure we were provided with a packed breakfast for our early start. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Two E' S
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We are certainly the type of establishment that lends itself to a longer stay as we offer such a vast range of activities, but we are however pleased that you choose us for your visit. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for reviewing us. We have had a few problems with our wifi connection and have taken steps to...

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 12 April 2017

This is one of my favourite places to overnight when travelling on the Garden Route in South Africa. It has a unique old world charm about it from the beautifully kept gardens, the historic pub and the giant Oak tree in the front of the hotel to the dining experience in the spacious dining room or breakfast on the sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildguide
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your visit. We appreciate your kind words and take note of your comments regarding the road noise. We are planning an upgrade of the Pool Terrace rooms which I am sure will eliminate most of the current road noise experienced. Thank you once again.

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
28.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
26.3 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
175 reviews
29.6 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
234 reviews
28.9 km away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
47 reviews
19.9 km away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#3 of 32 in Mossel Bay
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in South Africa’s picturesque Garden Route, Eight Bells Mountain Inn nestles in the Ruiterbos Valley Region at the foot of the Robinson Pass on the R328 between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (50km). Renowned for its friendly hospitality, superb service and range of recreational facilities amidst magnificent mountain scenery.Facilities include swimming pool, tennis courts, squash, bowls, billiards, children’s play park and playroom, horse riding, walking trails, birding, on the 400-acre estate.Free wifi in all public areas and rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Address: Robinson Pass on R328, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: R1 230 - R1 666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eight Bells Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eight Bells Mountain Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Eight Bells Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If staying for any length of time, we would advise arranging a room away from the road, which is quite busy in the early morning.”
170annp, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“The Swiss Chalets for best views, others for courtyard outlook”
AustralianTravelGuru, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Lovely Palm Court.”
angiep489, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stairs to chalets are quite steep but the Palm Court offers easy access.”
SteveForestg, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Insist on a room as far from the road as possible.”
wildguide, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$111* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$111
Orbitz.comUS$111
Hotwire.comUS$111
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates