We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
 Click to rate
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had been hesitant to book a game reserve stay, but all our doubts vanished after just a few hours. The lodge is fantastic, with large, clean rooms & bathrooms, and very, very friendly service all over. The morning and afternoon drive with Chris, the ranger, Were absolutely stunning! Whatever the game reserve lacks in 'big 5'...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travel_Jan95
Mcamdeboo, Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Travel_Jan95, Thank you for your kind message and for taking the time to post your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; we will be sure to pass on your comments to Chris and the rest of the team. Warm regards, The Mount Camdeboo Family

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiancée and I thought we would visit Mount Camdeboo as a 'pre-moon' escape prior to our wedding. It was like a honeymoon, so relaxed, the food was excellent and our trip was filled with unforgettable memories and adventures. Our adventure began when we flew from Cape Town to a near by landing strip in a 402 Cessna organised by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eon d
Mcamdeboo, Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Eon D, Thank you for your kind and thoughtful feedback - it was a delight to have been able to host you and your financee! It is always a privilege to be able to share this special part of South Africa with visitors. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team and hope to welcome...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at Mount Camdeboo this week and my stay was absolutely perfect. Whilst this is not a Big 5 reserve, the game drives are more focused on smaller animals and flora which are often overlooked when on safari. The staff are just fantastic and nothing was too much effort for them. A big highlight during my stay was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amroid22
Mcamdeboo, Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear amroid22, Thank you for your very kind feedback! You have captured the essence of this part of South Africa so well, we are delighted that enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team and hope to welcome you back to Mount Camdeboo in the not too distant...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I can't fault Mount Camdeboo - the accommodation/service/food/staff were all incredible. No Big 5 on the game drives, but we still saw lots! The views of the surrounding valleys and vistas made the drives even more exciting; we had sundowners on a mountain and breakfast above the clouds. I would stay here again in a flash. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
Mcamdeboo, Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear CharlotteK09, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely feedback. The mountains and skies are indeed some of the things that make the Karoo so special - and of course the wildlife. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of the team and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, The...

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Camedeboo is an amazing game reserve offering first class service and game drives with the most amazing views. You won't find the big 5 here but you will find a very friendly oasis in the middle of the Eastern Cape. Make sure you add this to a Garden Route itinerary and if travelling as a couple, make sure you ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank issywiggy
Mcamdeboo, Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear issywiggy, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your lovely comments. You are right in that one of the things that makes this area so special is our beautiful views and beautiful setting - the Karoo has many surprises! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, The Mount Camdeboo Family

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

My wife and I and two adult sons, who we were treating to the delights of South Africa stayed for two nights in January. What a fantastic experience. The location and scenery are absolutely stunning. The accommodation was top class and the quality of the food on offer and service levels was also outstanding. We had a terrific guide (Dane)...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
Mcamdeboo, Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Frank S, Thank you for your lovely comments. It is always a privilege to be able to share this beautiful part of South Africa with our guests and we are delighted to have been able to host you and your family. Being so close to nature and her wildlife still leaves us speechless too. We look forward to hopefully...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed at Mt. Camdeboo for 2 nights and went on 4 game drives. There are places with more plentiful game, but surely nowhere with quite such spectacular scenery. The views from the top of the mountains are wonderful. Our guide Chris was excellent, and we were lucky enough to see a cheetah hunting (though not successfully!). We had a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
Mcamdeboo, Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Richard H, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely feedback and apologies for our delayed reply. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in the Great Karoo - the scenery is indeed one of the things that make this part of South Africa so special. We will be...

Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We arrived to an honour guard as a welcome to this prestigious resort . Every thing from the minute you arrive is tip top . After we had settled into our superb room we relaxed in the beautiful grounds and chilled by the swimming pool with a G and T. At about 3-30 we were given High tea in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anonpeo
Mcamdeboo, Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Anonpeo, Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback and apologies for our delayed reply. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that your game drives were filled with great wildlife sightings. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of the team (including David)...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Stayed just for 1 night with my brother & cousin visiting from the UK. The location, views, accommodation & service was excellent.... Lauren at the main lodge, and Dave our ranger deserve a special mention for taking care of us so well. Foodwise - although the "high tea" was great, the dinner was a bit of a disappointment - especially...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melaniet608
Mcamdeboo, Manager at Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear melaniet608, Thank you for your lovely feedback and for choosing Mount Camdeboo for your visit with your brother and cousin. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and we are looking into your feedback about the dinner. Please be sure to take a look on our website for our winter specials (we have a...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Everything about Mount Camdeboo was perfect. The rooms are beautiful, the food exceptional, the service was spot on and the guiding (Chris) was some of the best we have had. As for the scenery - out of this world. The children (age 2+4) were so well looked after and absolutely loved every second, it was perfection. We long to return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice S

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mount Cambedoo Private Game Reserve offers the discerning, yet authentic-seeking traveler a safari experience like no other. Eleven spacious double en-suite rooms. Each of the manors boasts a full-length swimming pool, and all the other modern cons. Game drives or walks are a must in this breathtakingly beautiful environment to view a wide range of African game with experienced guides. Interactive cheetah experiences in the wild are the highlight for many guests. Mount Camdeboo is the perfect destination for families, extended families and groups to visit for celebrations such as weddings, birthdays, reunions, meetings etc. Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve provides guests with the rare opportunity to simply relax and absorb the natural beauty in an untouched part of the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve

Address: Petersberg Road, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: R4 421 - R8 434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are good”
yvetteandyk, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“De luxe rooms are very nice and are situated in the manor building”
Semigrant, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seemed great but the honeymoon suit was excellent.”
lindanobetsiki, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms are beautiful, quiet, and have great views.”
vcraighi, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in Room 1 which opened up to a lovely grass area.”
993anitat, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5