We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (4)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
The inspiration for the name OBESA LODGE comes from the Euphorbia Obesa, commonly known as the 'African Hut'. Obesa Lodge is a colorful complex and offers affordable 'value for money' accommodation to large groups, families, couples or the single tourist. Travellers can choose between Self-catering units and family cottages OR Budget Twin rooms with bathrooms with the option of a full English breakfast delivered to their doors. The self-catering units and rooms are decorated according to various themes e.G. Sundowner, Spring Breeze, Tutti Frutti and Mellow. The Lodge is surrounded by beautiful gardens, complete with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, braai areas and safe off-street parking with remote controlled gates. Credit cards are accepted (Visa, Master and Diners). The Obesa Cactus and Succulent Garden is situated opposite Obesa Lodge - one of the twelve most spectacular cactus and succulent gardens in the world.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 102
  • 124
  • 26
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
It may seem complicated when you arrive, if you have booked multiple rooms - but the cottages / rooms are within the same plot of land and have characters of their own. It's easy to walk around town and the rooms were well equipped. We really enjoyed staying at Obesa Lodge.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Sonja B, Owner at Obesa Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Andrew. I appreciate your positive feedback. I hope your projects in South Africa will have wonderful outcomes.
Read more
Oven was not cleaned. Did bring it under their attention. They appologised and we accepted the appology. Bedroom and bathroom was clean. Location is in "down town" Unfortunatelly won't stay their again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Sonja B, Owner at Obesa Lodge
Responded 05 Feb 2019
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your accommodation.
Read more
Super location for an overnight stay, quiet & secure. We had 2 rooms both provided spacious accommodation with the benefit of a well thaught out kitchen and living area. Air conditioning was great in the heat! Excellent value so highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Sonja B, Owner at Obesa Lodge
Responded 26 Jan 2019
Thank you! I appreciate your review and I am thankful that you have enjoyed your stay at Obesa Lodge.
Read more
We had a comfortable stay-over at Obesa Lodge, conveniently located in a quiet part of twon and close to all needed amenities in Graaf-Reinet. The rooms were well equipped, everything working just fine.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Sonja B, Owner at Obesa Lodge
Responded 11 Jan 2019
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Obesa Lodge.
Read more
Courteous and friendly service. The recommendation for Xmas lunch absolutely perfect.This was followed by a visit to the Valley of Desolation late afternoon and a relaxing evening.Well appointed rooms supplied with everything required for a pleasant stay. Nice little shaded area
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Sonja B, Owner at Obesa Lodge
Responded 03 Jan 2019
Thank you! I hope you will visit us again. I will tell the owner of Profcon that you enjoyed their Xmas lunch.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementObesa Lodge
Tutti Frutti
la mia camera
Twin Room
Honeymoon Suite
Photo provided by managementObesa Lodge
Sundowner Mini-Kitchen
Hi, we suggest that you visit our website to see what we have available. We have 18 rooms in total but they don't nearly accommodate 80 people. You will probably have to spread your family among different guesthouses in town.
0 votes
Hello Alana - Yes, we have one room with a queen size bed, air-con, ,mini-kitchen and bathroom for R600 per night and a few rooms with 2 single beds each, ceiling fan, tea/coffee facilities and bathrooms for R480 per night. Breakfast is optional at R70 per person. Unfortunately I don't know what the South African Rand is worth now in your country. Kind regards Sonja Bouwer - Obesa Lodge, Graaff-Reinet
0 votes
"We did not check all the available rooms. we had 3 of the 5 or 6 rooms alongside the braai/pool area."
"Jade is the room to book as it is central to the swimming pool and braai."
"Don't pay till you see your room... They said nothign when I said I was looking forward to the aircon, even though there was none..."
"Jade room was great"
"We stayed at the back of the property and had no noise problems. The rooms have well insulated dividing walls."
US$48 - US$56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
obesa hotel graaff-reinet
South AfricaEastern CapeGraaff-Reinet
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing