Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge

Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge

Plot 9/10/11 NQ 24 Gerald Estates Tati Town, Francistown 0000 Botswana
Traveller (68)
Woodlands Cottage WEST bedroom
Room & Suite (206)
Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Videos (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 ranch in Francistown
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge is a self catering establishment situated just 14kms north of Francistown just off the A3 National road. We have three different types of accommodation suiting the pockets of all travellers. A lovely, well appointed, family cottage with two en-suite bedrooms and all the comfortable amentities of home. Fully furnished and equipped. Eight Riverview en-suite rooms with their own kitchenette, also fully equipped. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. Six quaint chalets in the campsite making use of the immaculately clean ablution facility. These rooms (campsite chalets) do not have en-suite facilities. Lovely lawned campsites with water and power points for customer convenience. For the tired traveller a sparkling swimming pool welcomes you on arrival. A tranquil setting awaits all our valued patrons! We are ready to give a warm Botswana welcome. Dumelang!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Gift shop
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Extra long beds
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Hotel links
Special Deal:Complimentary Continental Takeaway Breakfast

Location

Plot 9/10/11 NQ 24 Gerald Estates Tati Town, Francistown 0000 Botswana
Getting there
Francistown Airport
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
504Reviews0Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 329
  • 139
  • 27
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Zimshirl wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Woodlands is our firm family favorite we stay a few times a year and we always comment on the fact that this is the one place you can stay at and each time you come back they have done something more to improve the property. We love Mikes frozen meals and everyone in the family always looks forward to them. The deck area and garden around it over the river is looking beautiful and definitely worth a stay in the Riverview rooms
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Good day Zimshirl, Thank you so much for taking precious time out of your day to rate us so highly and for the really lovely encouraging comments about us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We do so appreciate them! So thrilled to know that you notice the small but constant steps of additions or corrections that we try to do all the time maintaining the high standards that we have set for ourselves. The chefs will be over the moon to think that you look forward to their "Mike's Meals" -- all home cooked for your enjoyment. We are now making use of the amazing power saving 'WONDERBAGS' for the cooking process. Next time take a peek at the bags as well! -- (available in the reception shop) We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care and kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johann wrote a review Aug 2022
Centurion, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We slept over at Woodlands on 28 July ‘22. The place is about 25km outside of town, so make sure you take that into consideration when you arrive late and need to cater for dinner.

Unfortunately room 6 had a drain smell that made it impossible for me to sleep and after a sleepless night I was glad to leave for South Africa the next day.

Overall, the place is clean, small and caters for the basics. I would not recommend the breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Good day Paradise47086392236, Thank you so much for your rating and review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We are so very sorry that you arrived late at our self-catering establishment. We do have delicious homemade pre-prepared meals ( Mike's Meals ) available in the reception freezer for those travellers who arrive late and /or are unprepared. Sad that you never got to try one of them as they are most popular. We also sell 500gm Braai packs which contain a portion of steak, wors and chicken piece. Our sincere apologies about the bad drain odour in your room. It was attended to as soon as we received your review and are sorry that you never made mention of it to our staff as you left or on the little maintenance card that is on the dressing table of every room for exactly this purpose so that the maintenance can be addressed as speedily as possible. We do pride ourselves on the upkeep of our buildings and property as a whole. Our take away breakfast pack is wholesome and inexpensive and meets the hungry needs of the early traveller who wishes to eat on the move. We trust that the rest of your holiday through Botswana was a memorable one and that you will be back to visit our beautiful country again in the future? Kind regards, Mike and Anne West
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MJ91019 wrote a review Jan 2020
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very welcoming and lovely staff. Felt very safe and secure due to security guards.
They went the extra mile for us on our honeymoon which was a beautiful surprise and for which we are grateful. Rooms are good size with big bed - no mosquito net over bed but there was one about. Small kitchen area which was handy - very well equipped including microwave. Very clean kitchen and bathroom (one of cleanest we’ve come across in entire trip). Big shower cubicle with powerful shower in a good size en-suite. Had our own little deck, garden furniture, garden area and brai. We could park the truck next to the room. WiFi was quite good.
Easily accessible in 2 wheel drive. Definitely just a one night stop unless you want to just chill out in your room/ garden area after busy days of camping and driving.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mary-AnnePass, Manager at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Hi MJ91019. Thank you so much for taking the time to send in such an informative review and lovely high rating. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge. Thank you for touching on so many aspects of our establishment. We pay attention to detail and we value that you noticed this. Our very hard working team strive for excellence and we work tirelessly to make the property clean and welcoming for all our guests. We hope you had a wonderful Botswana honeymoon experience. We trust you will be back soon. Kind regards. Mary-Anne West Passaportis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BanchoryMartin wrote a review Jan 2021
Durban, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Delightfully quiet and serene overnighting stopover. We were not sure whether Woodlands was open so arrived unexpectedly to find them open and Conni was very welcoming. We were put into the cottage overlooking the flowing river which was beautiful. A Woodlands kingfisher serenaded us. Conni supplied us with our delicious ready-prepared meals, and Mike popped in to have a chat. We were 1300 kms from home but Mike coincidentally knew our little dorp and the surrounding fishing spots
Lovely spot to stay, but I advise you to stay 2 nights not one!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 19 Feb 2021
Hello BanchoryMartin, Thank you so much for taking the time, first of all the stop at Woodlands and then secondly to rate and review us so well. We appreciate your kind comments and are so very thrilled that you enjoyed what Woodlands has to offer--- even after such a strange and unexpected 2020! We have been blessed with a wonderful rainy season and a river that has not stopped flowing the whole season! The visitation of kudu every night during the dry lockdown winter months proved to have their great advantage -- close up views of magnificent animals, pruning of the gardens to the roots, the cultivating of all the flower beds with their constant walking through and of course the huge amounts of droppings left to fertilise throughout. A season never to be forgotten. We look forward to your future visits and appreciate your positive referrals to us. Kind regards, Anne & Mike West
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy C wrote a review Oct 2021
Cape Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Whether you are camping or prefer to stay in a chalet, Woodlands is great. Very well maintained chalet with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The grounds are lovely with plenty of shade.
We had booked for 2 nights , but unfortunately had to return home early. Despite this we were not charged anything at all for the 2nd night even though we only informed reception when we arrived. Highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 13 Dec 2021
Hello T5015LSwendyc Thank you so much for your very high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodland Sopt Over & Lodge. We value your comments very much and find postive remarks very motivating for all of us, especially while we are still limping through this tricky season in tourism-- post Covid. Our staff work very hard to keep everything in as good a condition as is possible. We are also very sorry you could not spend your second night with us but appreciate your high recommendation of us and trust that you will return to Botswana one day soon and re-visit Woodlands? Kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andrew m wrote a review Oct 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The experience was worth the money and time. The staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival and departure. They were quick to respond with lights when the power went off.
However, there was a miscommunication about cleaning the cottage, so it was not cleaned after our first night.
The cottage offers a beautiful view of the river and the front garden is well taken care of.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Good day T1744VCandrewm, So very thrilled to receive your comment ' DOUBLE PLUS' . Thank you for taking the time to rate and review us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. The happy experience of your stay with us is not only one of being value for money and time but also for collecting new memories! Our staff love being of assistance to our valued guests and you experienced their commitment first hand. We trust that the rest of your trip through our beautiful Botswana was happy and memorable and that you will be back again soon. Kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnmynhardt wrote a review Oct 2020
Kempton Park, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here on numerous occasions over the past few years and have not been disappointed. The camping site's are stunning and the chalets are luxurious and well equipped overlooking the river. I also find Woodlands perfectly situated for those trips on route to Nata, Panda, Maun and the Delta. I also find the little shop on site a blessing stocked with all the essentials including wood and braai packs. I would truly like to complement the staff and management on this little gem. Keep up the good work guy's and girls.
I WILL BE BACK!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 11 Oct 2020
Hello johnmynhardt, Thank you so much for the wonderful review with your very kind words and the lovely compliments. We so appreciate your continued and loyal support! Your recognition of the work and effort made to keep the place as you always find it is a great pleasure and honour for us. Thank you! We look forward to your return visits in the future. Kind regards, Anne West
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
res700 wrote a review Nov 2020
Kasane, Botswana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a beautiful place to relax during this crazy time in the world. The gardens are beautifully kept, the pool cool and refreshing and the units are clean and neat with such attention to detail. We loved looking at all the things on display and the information left for us to read. The staff are friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed chatting with the owner who came over to welcome us. We have stayed here before and this will not be our last stay ... We will be back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 17 Dec 2020
Good morning res700, Thank you so very much for such a lovely review and high rating of us here at Woodlands Stop & Lodge. Even though we have limped through this "crazy" period in the history of the world we attempted to maintain our property to the best of our ability so that as our valued guests returned they would give it the "kiss of life" back! Thank you for choosing us to come and relax and be rejuvenated! Mike enjoyed his chat with you as well and we do look forward to all your return visits. Have a BLESSED CHRISTMAS and a happy New Year. Kind regards, Anne West (Owner)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gavindj82 wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic place. Well maintained, with very friendly Staff. The reading lights in room 2 could be brighter for us "old fogies".
The pre-ordered meals were a treat. We even took one home with us, so that we didn't have to cook on arrival at home.
The gardens, pool area and Campsites could feature in a Gardening magazine. Well done to the Grounds Staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Hello gavindj82, WOW thank you -- we really appreciate your high rating of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge together with your lovely review! All the staff work very hard in all their areas of responsibilty The grounds staff and the ladies cooking as well as the staff on reception are all thrilled to hear of your praises of them! Again THANK YOU! We have taken note of your suggestion for higher wattage globes in the bedside lights and will attend to that in preparation for your next visit? Kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
harold h wrote a review Oct 2023
Gaborone, Botswana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Woodlands, just outside Francistown, never disappoints. We stayed in a chalet this time and were not disappointed. It is fabulous. I once told Anne West, the owner, that in my humble opinion this was the second-best campsite in the world. I spoke with authority as we have visited all five continents. The attention to detail, whether in the chalet, the campsite or immaculate lawns, is so impressive. Food packs are now available for sale at reception, which is a terrific innovation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 26 Oct 2023
Hello harod h, Thank you so much for your high rating and very special review of us all here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. A special thank you also, for your continued support of us together with your most sincere and genuine appraisal of us. Our commitment to valued guests, such as yourself, remains unwavering and we will continually strive for excellence as we 'care-take' a special little piece of land here in our beautiful Botswana. WOW -- to be 2nd best in the world! Our humble thanks for that amazing comment as well. Glad to hear that you appreciated the homemade 'Mike's meals' -- helps fill a gap when hungry and tired after long distances in Botswana. Trust that we will see you again here at Woodlands in the not too distant future? God bless and kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
LindsayWynne wrote a tip May 2024
Melbourne, Australia10 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watch the road into Woodlands..."
Read full review
juanti b wrote a tip May 2023
Centurion, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use your GPS to find them. Turn off at night a bit tricky. "
Read full review
Tony Y wrote a tip May 2023
13 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Call to make a booking, or just pop in."
Read full review
dpinpb wrote a tip May 2023
3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Signs were difficult to see from road at night"
Read full review
ChintaSouthAfrica wrote a tip Mar 2023
Cape Town, South Africa126 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Outside Francistown"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Francistown area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,672 - R 1,690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mike and Anne West
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-East DistrictFrancistown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WOODLANDS STOP OVER AND LODGE - Ranch Reviews & Price Comparison (Francistown, Botswana)

All Francistown HotelsFrancistown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FrancistownHotels near Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire