We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Plot 9/10/11 NQ 24 Gerald Estates Tati Town, Francistown 0000 Botswana
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$95
eDreamsUS$95
FindHotelUS$96
Agoda.comUS$96
EtripUS$96
TripadvisorUS$95
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (191)
Videos (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/02/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Updated 21/02/25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 35 Specialty lodging in Francistown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge is a self catering establishment situated just 14kms north of Francistown just off the A3 National road. We have three different types of accommodation suiting the pockets of all travellers. A lovely, well appointed, family cottage with two en-suite bedrooms and all the comfortable amentities of home. Fully furnished and equipped. Eight Riverview en-suite rooms with their own kitchenette, also fully equipped. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. Six quaint chalets in the campsite making use of the immaculately clean ablution facility. These rooms (campsite chalets) do not have en-suite facilities. Lovely lawned campsites with water and power points for customer convenience. For the tired traveller a sparkling swimming pool welcomes you on arrival. A tranquil setting awaits all our valued patrons! We are ready to give a warm Botswana welcome. Dumelang!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Gift shop
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Extra long beds
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
Plot 9/10/11 NQ 24 Gerald Estates Tati Town, Francistown 0000 Botswana
Getting there
Francistown Airport9 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
420Reviews0Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 125
  • 25
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sarahjaneadams77 wrote a review 14 Aug
1 contribution
A wonderfully comfortable overnight stop-over. We stayed in a Riverview chalet and it had all we needed for our stay. The sounds of fiery-necked nightjars all evening was a bonus! Thank you Woodlands.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded yesterday
Hello sarahjaneadams77, Thank you so very much for your very high rating of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge and lovely comments about us! So happy to hear that it was a comfortable stay and that the Fiery-necked nightjars were happily serenading you ALL night! Hope they didn't keep you awake? We appreciate your thanks as well. Trust that your whole experience of our beautiful country Botswana was a good one and that we will see you back again soon? Kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tish A wrote a review Jun 2022
Blue Horizon Bay, South Africa9 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
I love everything about Woodlands, the people, environment, accommodation, facilities etc. The owners and staff are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. There are a great variety of birds to photograph. The gardens and camping grounds are beautifully maintained and a joy to walk through.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Hello TishArcher, Wow what a fabulous rating and review! Lovely to have favourites and we are so thrilled to know that we feature on your "favourite list" and that you enjoy everything we offer. We work hard to maintain Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge in the condition that you found it -- a place you find well loved is a place you leave well loved. Thank you Tish and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thank you for sharing all your photos and expertise with us as well! Kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mbarclay2022 wrote a review 10 Aug
Gaborone, Botswana1 contribution
We booked very late but were given 5 star treatment and although they were full they made a plan and fitted us in for which we were very grateful. We all-4 parties- commented on how comfortable and well organised Woodlands in and thought we should pop up for a weekend from Gaborone for a fun getaway weekend. We all booked the frozen meals-all the choices were covered- and everyone commented on how delicious they were and despite looking small everyone had plenty to eat.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded yesterday
Hello mbarclay2022, We so appreciate your very high rating and fabulous review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We have had a wonderfully busy season this year after 2 rather bad, difficult ones! We are delighted that you were happy to be accommodated in close family quarters due to all the rooms being fully booked. The ladies preparing all the meals are thrilled to hear that their 'Mike's meals' filled the necesary gaps and were enjoyed by everyone. Thank you for the compliments! We do look forward to your future bookings with us to get away from the busy city life and enjoy the starry skies without the light and noise pollution of the city. Trust we will see you soon? Kind regards, MIke & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
H4202DBtim wrote a review 08 Aug
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Amazing accomodation. clean and well managed. Beautiful surroundings. We saw that they also have amaxing camping facilities. Lotsa birdlife. We saw the Pearl spotted Owlette and the Barred owl. Altogether lovely experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded yesterday
Good day H4202DBtim, Thank you so much for your very high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We are so thrilled that you found the surroundings beautiful and the accommodation "ämazing"! We do strive for excellence in our little patch in Africa ! The Barred and Pearl spotted owlets have been so very vocal these last few weeks and we are delighted that you got to see them together with lots of other bird life. Do come again in the near future! We trust that your experience of visiting our beautiful Botswana was a thoroughly enjoyable one? Kind regards Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johann wrote a review 04 Aug
Centurion, South Africa2 contributions
We slept over at Woodlands on 28 July ‘22. The place is about 25km outside of town, so make sure you take that into consideration when you arrive late and need to cater for dinner. Unfortunately room 6 had a drain smell that made it impossible for me to sleep and after a sleepless night I was glad to leave for South Africa the next day. Overall, the place is clean, small and caters for the basics. I would not recommend the breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded yesterday
Good day Paradise47086392236, Thank you so much for your rating and review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We are so very sorry that you arrived late at our self-catering establishment. We do have delicious homemade pre-prepared meals ( Mike's Meals ) available in the reception freezer for those travellers who arrive late and /or are unprepared. Sad that you never got to try one of them as they are most popular. We also sell 500gm Braai packs which contain a portion of steak, wors and chicken piece. Our sincere apologies about the bad drain odour in your room. It was attended to as soon as we received your review and are sorry that you never made mention of it to our staff as you left or on the little maintenance card that is on the dressing table of every room for exactly this purpose so that the maintenance can be addressed as speedily as possible. We do pride ourselves on the upkeep of our buildings and property as a whole. Our take away breakfast pack is wholesome and inexpensive and meets the hungry needs of the early traveller who wishes to eat on the move. We trust that the rest of your holiday through Botswana was a memorable one and that you will be back to visit our beautiful country again in the future? Kind regards, Mike and Anne West
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brees254646 wrote a review 02 Aug
Mazabuka, Zambia1 contribution
Our stay at Woodlands was pleasant. Spacious room with all the necessities you might need. Wifi is available which is very helpful. Peaceful setting too. So a great stay for us and a stop-over we would use again if passing through
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded yesterday
Hello brees254646, We are so very happy to hear that your stay with us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge was a pleasant one and that you will stay with us again if and when you pass through again. Our peaceful setting is something that we work very hard at all the time in an ever changing environment where noise and technology intrudes into our very own personal space constantly. Trust you got to enjoy all the night sounds while benefiting the helpfulness of Wifi? Hopefully we will see you soon again? Kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
steveamoss55 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Great place, not the first time we have stayed - but always some extra's have been done or changes made to make the stay better. he gardens and rooms really compliment each other and we also had the precooked dinner when we arrived this was excellent value and really nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello steveamoss55, Thank you so much for your loyal support of us with your return visits. We appreciate it very much as we do your very high rating and lovely review of us here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We do strive to maintain a high standard and are continually working at keeping the property and facilities in a good condition which sometimes does require changes or additions. Very happy and excited to know that you noticed them!! We look forward to all your future visits to us and to our beautiful country, Botswana! Kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rickdjbw wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Very good thank you. Friendly staff. Great facilities. Wonderful setting. Used this as a sop over but will consider spending a weekend. Will not hesitate to reccomend this venue to family and friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello rickdjbw, Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review us so highly here at Woodlands Stop Over & Lodge. We so appreciate it and are very happy that you found the establishment to be very good with great facilities and friendly staff. We look forward to your future visits and are very grateful for your high recommendation of us as well. See you again soon? Kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
c0rreiaj0se wrote a review Jul 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
An absolutely ideal place to stop over at. Clean, spacious and if you can get the cottage (absolutely adorable). Everything I needed I found and then some. Each bedroom had it own private heater, each bedroom had it private onsuite bathrooms, towels to spare and cleand as my own at home. Surprise - Was the lounge fireplace and all the outside furniture to host two famlies and children. This is a Home
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning cOrreiaOse, What a really lovely review and such great rating from you! We so appreciate your comments and the fact that you found our cottage to be adorable! It is designed and furnished to make it is a comforable as possible for the tired but excited traveller. We do hope that you will be back again to visit, not only us in your "home from home", but also our beautiful country? Many thanks again, Kind regards, Mike& Anne West (Owners)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
freddiemeyer wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
The room and grounds are very well maintained, clean and neat. Positioning excellent overlooking river (although it was dry when we were there) and even though it is called a "stopover" it is far enough away from the main road that no traffic noise is heard. Very friendly, helpful and professional staff and deliver what is promised.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike and Anne West, Owner at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello freddiemeyer, Thank you so much for the great rating and the really lovely review. We are so happy that you found the rooms and the estate to be in a well maintained condition. The staff all work very hard in their different areas of responsibilities to keep the establishment looking in top condition for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for your support and we trust that you will be back soon in the near future? Kind regards, Mike & Anne West (Owners)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mike and Anne West
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-East DistrictFrancistown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.