We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Millcroft

Save
Share
Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BT Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (78)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (31)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 5 hotels in Gairloch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Millcroft Hotel is a newly refurbished hotel in the Highlands of Scotland. We are located in the centre of Gairloch (NC500), overlooking the bay. We have sea-view en-suites and a number of suites available as well as our public bar and our restaurant.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
237Reviews3Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 106
  • 58
  • 22
  • 25
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nananne2013 wrote a review 19 Jun
Gairloch, United Kingdom22 contributions7 helpful votes
Four or us called in for lunch , it was set up in the bar area, very interesting menu of ( small plate meals) we each ordered something different with 4 side orders and a bottle of wine , we all thoroughly enjoyed what we had and it was so reasonably priced , served by very pleasant staff, so I can recommend it highly!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Bee wrote a review 16 Jun
1 contribution
We have just spent 2 nights in this lovely hotel. They could not do enough for us. The staff were really friendly and helpful,the rooms were good, and we really liked the white fluffy towels. We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food in the evening and breakfasts in the morning were really good. We will stay here again and can well recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Jack S wrote a review 14 Jun
Rugby, United Kingdom2 contributions
The Millcroft is a nice little find - I was cycling and the owner was able to help me store it safely. The room was nice and comfortable and both dinner/breakfast were good. Gairloch is a lovely little village and worth a visit. Definitely would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Michael L wrote a review 09 Jun
Maldon, United Kingdom1 contribution
We booked a table in the restaurant for 7.30pm and paid a deposit of £20 to secure same as they had had a lot of no shows. On arrival we were advised that we had now been moved to the bar as they had had a lot of guests turn up who had booked a room, but not a table, via Booking.com and had come down to eat before our arrival (10 minutes early) and that in consequence they no longer had a table in the restaurant for us. The bar was a very unwelcoming dreary room with no diners, just drinkers.After much discussion and argument we did get our money refunded but ended up with nowhere to eat. No wonder they end up with no shows, do they even deserve to be in the hospitality business.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not use this restaurant
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Millcroft Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Millcroft
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning, it is always disappointing to hear about unhappy visitors to the hotel. We try to respond to reviews in a professional and courteous manner but after having met my bar manager in tears and having been informed of your disgraceful language which you were repeatedly asked to stop I do not have any sympathy at all for this outrageous and disrespectful conduct to other human beings............... another guest actually informed us that he wanted to confront you and be less than polite with you but luckily he reframed from making this unacceptable situation even worse. We are in the hospitality industry because we genuinely care and try to make all guests have a wonderful and memorable time with us but I can certainly question your behavioural skills to other genuinely kind and polite people who are still upset at your conduct. You were not really worth replying to but other visitors do read these reviews so its best they hear both sides of a story. Regards, Millcroft
Read more
CherryClift wrote a review 09 Jun
Dulnain Bridge, United Kingdom448 contributions121 helpful votes
First - may be wearing a 'Joker' facemask at check in is not such a good idea? Second - we live not far from Inverness and stayed just one night on 25th May. There was no hot water when I had my shower at 10:00pm, I reported this to the front desk. On check out I told the person at the front desk who had it on record but said he could not help but to go through the agent Hotels.com and he would respond. This I did and asked for partial refund. Hotels.com got back to me 3 days later to say there had been no response from the hotel and they would get back to me again. This they haven't done and when I tried to call yet again (I've tried them lots) they're not available. Don't really know what else to say - just disappointed in the poor service and cold shower - oh well........ breakfast was good
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Millcroft Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Millcroft
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning, It is always disappointing to hear about any guests not enjoying their time with us. The joker mask is a personal preference and not something we generally considered an issue and we are genuinely sorry this has offended you. You were absolutely correct about the no hot water and this was a genuine mistake on our behalf that was rectified immediately. We did mention to you that we were more than happy to reimburse you but because you booked through Hotels.com we would have to go through them selves in order to keep everything correct, when customers book directly with us we can avoid such delays should there be any problems with their reservation. I can assure you that Hotels.com have not contacted the hotel nor have their been any email communications which I have diligently been waiting for in order to refund yourself............a lack of response back from the large booking agents is a very common practise unfortunately as we are still waiting on several issues still to be resolved since the beginning of this year. I am not sure why you have not been able to contact anyone as I personally am answering the phone calls between 7am and 2pm and have never had any phone calls from yourself? Delighted you enjoyed your breakfast at least. The Millcroft
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
millcroft hotel gairloch
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsGairloch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Millcroft
Which popular attractions are close to The Millcroft?
Nearby attractions include Gairloch Museum (1.0 km), Inverewe Garden (7.8 km), and Shieldaig Falconry (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Millcroft?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Millcroft?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Millcroft?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Millcroft?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bridge Cottage Cafe, Coast Coffee Company, and The Barn Cafe.