We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-1176
10 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
US$187
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/26
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hilton
US$192
View deal
Hurb
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/26
TravelocityUS$187
Hotels.comUS$187
Trip.comUS$208
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (804)
Room & Suite (247)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 22/04/27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Updated 22/04/27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#79 of 187 hotels in Phoenix
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Surrounded by mountain views, our resort is a 20-minute drive north of downtown Phoenix. We offer seven pools, a 138-foot water slide, private cabanas, waterfalls, a championship golf course, and a full-service spa. A variety of dining options, nearby hiking trails, and seasonal family-friendly amenities are available
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Waterslide
Kids club
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1950Reviews82Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 906
  • 437
  • 260
  • 188
  • 159
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JessNY wrote a review 07 Aug
New York86 contributions47 helpful votes
Let me start out this review by stating that I don't blame the staff for the state of our room. It's clear that the housekeeping department is understaffed and the people working are rushed through cleaning rooms in between stays. Both of the front desk clerks I dealt with were pleasant, too. That said, our room was gross. Really below what you'd expect from a Hilton resort property. Here is a quick rundown of what we encountered: hair on the bathroom floor (not ours), stained couch, dirty walls throughout the suite (time to invest in some Mr Clean Magic Erasers), smudged door handles (don't even want to know what was crusted on them), a comforter that I discovered in the morning had a huge red stain (didn't initially notice due to sheet/duvet cover). My husband kept trying to get the air conditioning adjusted to make the room tolerably cool. In doing so and poking around, he noticed the the air filter was filthy and clearly hadn't been switched out in ages). We should have left and gone elsewhere, but I didn't want to spend an extra couple hundred of dollars and deal with switching hotels at night when we had an early flight the next day. I'm glad I happened to have a package of Clorox wipes with me because I wound up wiping down most of the bathroom and some high touch areas in the hotel room. This may have been a great resort property years ago. It's clearly now a place for lower end conferences and maybe bachelorette parties on a budget. If you get a great deal on what seems like a nice property, know that there is a reason you're getting such a low price. It's not worth it. I booked this place because the pool looked incredible and I figured my kids would enjoy it. What a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Just don't book here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 5 days ago
JessNY, I regret to read that your stay wasn't what it should have been. We take your concerns to heart, as we strive to deliver high-quality standards to all of our guests and I sincerely apologize that those standards were not met. The condition of your accommodation is not acceptable and we thank you for brining it to our attention. Your comments have been reviewed with our resort team and we'll be reaching out to you in an attempt to make it right. We look forward to speaking with you.
Read more
Ldybug16 wrote a review Aug 2021
Etna, Ohio179 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Went with my best friend for a week getaway in July. We had a perfect stay at Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort. We loved all the amenities and pools at the resort. The POV restaurant was delicious and offered stunning views of the city and landscape. All hotel staff was amazing as always.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 27 Aug 2021
Ldybug16, thank you for choosing to spend your recent summer getaway with us! I am very happy to know you had a great time and enjoyed yourselves and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
davdaven wrote a review 03 Aug
Richmond, California6963 contributions89 helpful votes
+1
We spent two nights at the Tapatio Cliffs Resort and wish we hadn't. I am sure this was a nice resort 30 years ago, but except for some remaining charm in the lobby and resort pool area, I do not have much good to say about this Hilton property. Check in was a little slow, and we were given a suite that smelled of smoke and looked rundown. We returned to the front desk and were eventually given another suite that showed and smelled better but was far from perfect. The bed was not particularly comfortable and featured cheap polyester bedding, and the air conditioning performed poorly in the living room. The shower drained so slowly that it was difficult to bathe, and we would have changed rooms if we had not already gone through the hassle of changing once already. The clientele at this establishment left something to be desired too. On one of the two nights of our stay, the adult's only spa was overrun with people who were smoking, drinking, and playing music. There was no staff around to manage the situation, nor do I suspect management pays the workers here enough to care. We purchased directly through Hilton and the promo included a reduced resort fee and free breakfast--once. The breakfast was fine, but it would have been nice if breakfast had been included both mornings. To add insult to injury, the full resort fee was charged to our bill, and I had to call Hilton accounting afterwards to correct the overcharge. Long story short, we will not stay here again. I felt embarrassed by my insistence that we splurge on a resort instead of a regular hotel while visiting Phoenix, as the entire experience was a disappointment for my fiancée, and I am now leery of the Hilton brand.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 1 week ago
davdaven, first and foremost, thank you for choosing Tapatio Cliffs. We truly appreciate your detailed feedback and are concerned to hear that your recent stay was so disappointing. I extend a sincere apology for the inconveniences you faced with the overcharge and your accommodations. I'm also sorry to hear of the poor behavior of other resort guests as well. We will discuss your concerns as a team in an effort to improve our overall guest experience. We do strive to provide the very best and apologize for not meeting even our own expectations. I truly hope you will give us a second chance the next time your travels bring you through the Phoenix area.
Read more
MomTraveler_11 wrote a review Jul 2022
Rancho Santa Margarita, California32 contributions4 helpful votes
We just loved our stay at this resort. If you enjoy hiking, a walk throughout the resort with its hills and interesting villas is a workout. No need to hit the gym. It's a nice workout. But there is a nature preserve right across the street that goes on for miles that you can walk to as well. At first glance, it seems a bit out of the way. But it only takes fifteen minutes to get to the heart of downtown Phoenix and to Roosevelt Row. I think most of the rooms had balconies (at least our building did). It was nice watching the sun set from the balcony. The room service was good and so was breakfast. However, if you plan on dining at their popular restaurant with roundabout views, you had better book at least a week before your hotel reservation. If not, you will never get a table. Other than that, we had a great time and will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 1 week ago
MomTraveler_11, thank you for taking the time to share such great feedback. I'm happy to know you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of our entire resort team, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Read more
DN wrote a review Jul 2022
Atlanta, Georgia9 contributions
First the good news. 1. The attendant at the understaffed check in desk was kind, courteous, and helpful. 2. The hotel is situated on the side of a beautiful desert mountain. It looks very nice at night with the lighting. I’ll bet this place was nice when it opened in the 80’s. Now for the bad news. 1. Extensive deferred maintenance on both the interior and exterior of the building our room was in. The elevator seems to have exceeded its useful life. The elevator in the lobby was out of order. I have a feeling the elevator in our building isn’t far behind the one in the lobby. 2. Our room looked like it had been updated at some point in the last decade or two, but the furniture was a mishmash of old broken down items and some newer looking items. There was no design theme or rhythm. It looked like they just used whatever furniture was available from wherever no matter how old or what it looked like. 3. The room didn’t seem all that clean. The night stands were dusty, the floor and furniture had stains. There was a small puncture or crack in the wall at the entrance, and there were crumbs on the desk. 4. There was no small shampoo bottle for the shower. This is advertised as a 4 star Hilton hotel. I was shocked that there was no shampoo. I don’t know if I’ve ever stayed at a hotel that didn’t have shampoo for the guests. There were two individually wrapped tiny sliver bars of soap. One at the sink and one in the shower, but no shampoo. I’m really surprised Hilton hasn’t de-flagged this place. 5. Aside from the two overworked attendants at the understaffed check in desk, there was no one else to ask for help. We arrived after dark and the property isn’t that easy to navigate in the dark if you’ve never been there. There were several people checking in at that time (at least 8 to 12 guests) and no one to answer questions without standing in line and waiting for the two check in attendants. 6. We had trouble falling asleep due to the extremely loud air conditioning unit. I’ve never heard one so loud. It sounded like a noisy dehumidifier but about 10 times louder. It vibrated our room. 7. The squealing pipes from the shower in the room next to us only added to our sleep difficulties. 8. The roads leading up the mountain to the various buildings seem too narrow by todays standards considering the large size of vehicles these days. We were unable to pass through at one point because there were three huge pickup trucks parked along one side of the road and a golf cart blocking the other direction. We had to back up our car on a narrow, curvy, mountain road to get out of the situation and there were more guests pushing up behind us (recall the busy check in time with 8 to 12 guests checking in and only two attendants). Staying here was a big mistake. I really wish I would have read the recent Trip Advisor reviews instead of relying on the 4 star rating I saw along with the pictures on the Hilton website. I dropped the ball on this one and ruined what was supposed to be a relaxing evening for my wife and me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 1 week ago
YSFPT, thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. I sincerely apologize for the troubles you encountered and that you left the resort disappointed. I invite you to please email your reservation and stay details to enjoy.tapatiocliffs@hilton.com so we can look into this further for follow up. Thank you again
Read more
karlavaldez91 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We’ve have started here before and love it but this was a disappointment since we decided to get a bigger room. The room was full of dead bugs that we cleaned up mostly ourselves. Under the bed was disgusting!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 1 week ago
karlavaldez91, I sincerely apologize this was your experience, but appreciate you bringing it out my attention. Please email details of your reservation and stay to enjoy.tapatiocliffs@hilton.com so we can look into this further and discuss appropriately with our housekeeping team. I do not want this experience to deter you from being our guest again and hope you will give us a second chance for a future visit. Thank you again
Read more
Jason M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
When I was packing to come home I was stung by a scorpion that was in the closet. Although the security guard who treated the wound was polite (why I gave 2 stars instead of 1), the other security guard quickly flushed the scorpion down the toilet without capturing any images. I had to seek medical treatment upon my return home. When I checked out, the front desk supervisor ignored the fact that I was stung even though he said he saw that on my account then I brought it up. No hotel manager ever reached out to see how I was doing. So either scorpion stings are so common at this hotel that they don't care when their guests are stung, or their customer service is that bad. When posting my review I actually saw others with the same complaint about scorpions in their rooms and owner responses that they are working to improve bug control but it appears not effective or a priority to management. This hotel is identified as a 4 star and was likely in the past, but the buildings are run down, my wife saw a pool attendant who handles food leave a bathroom stall without washing her hands, and they have a policy that you cannot bring your own food to the pool although their own menu is very limited and when you stay at the hotel for more than a couple of days, having to eat the same food everyday or having to leave the pool for lunch is frustrating, especially when you have to pay very large resort fees.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Jasonam23, I'm terribly sorry that your visit fell short of anything but wonderful. It is our intention to provide a safe and comfortable stay and I apologize that your experience was so troublesome and you left disappointed. In addition to safety, our priority is to have our associates, much like our security team member that treated you, show compassion and care to each and every guest. I appreciate your feedback so we can use it to train and improve. Please know we do use a licensed 3rd party pest control vendor in an effort to avoid situations such as this. I do hope we have the opportunity to deliver a better experience on a return visit.
Read more
Coach5000 wrote a review Jul 2022
Chicago, Illinois284 contributions131 helpful votes
Stayed at this property for two nights at the front end of a much overdue vacation. Upon arrival, the "resort" looked decent and my wife and I were full of high hopes. The check-in process was smooth, and we received an upgrade to a VERY large suite. Getting to the room was quite the adventure as the elevator to the top floor was never pointed out, and parking near the suite was not plentiful at all. Once in the room, I noticed that the A/C was not operating properly, so I texted the 24/7 number and was told maintenance was on the way. 3 hours later, and after multiple follow ups, no one showed. I went to the front desk, and was moved to their "show suite". Again, the size of the suite was impressive and appreciated, but we found numerous bugs in the suite, some dead others moving - even a dead infant scorpion. After the debacle with the first room, and the fact that the A/C worked in the room, we elected to stay. The pictures on the Hilton site and here on TripAdvisor are VERY misleading. I'm sure at one point, this place was an outstanding option, but today, not so much. The facility is in significant need of maintenance, absolutely every aspect of the property. Look, you can paint the buildings, but take the time to repair the huge cracks in the stucco! Just not an appealing look. The clay roof tiles on many of the buildings are broken up and needing repair. Pools are absolutely gross. From the dirty tiles, to the scum on the pool surface, there are just no words to describe how nasty it was in the water. WiFi is non-existent, and if you are lucky enough to grab a signal, it would fade immediately. Parking near the suites is a joke, very limited and actually dangerous. There's absolutely no possibility that the parking near the suites meets fire protection code. We were barely able to get a SUV down the "street" when cars were parked. I can't imagine how a fire engine would navigate those roads. There is a larger parking lot to use, but it's a hike to most rooms. If you have limited mobility, do not stay here, period. The property isn't terribly close to nice conveniences (5 minute drive or so to donut shops and fast food - not the best options), and getting to the property from the airport takes you through some questionable areas. Had we had other options after night one, we would have left. Unfortunately, no internet meant that I couldn't conduct a thorough search and were kind of stuck. We did find the staff to be kind and courteous, and I would like to recognize Zach for his help. He seemed to be the glue holding the front desk together, and did so very professionally. Food and drink at the pools were fairly priced, and the staff in those areas were great as well. Backing up to a trail network was fantastic, and we got good hikes in both mornings we were there. Unfortunately, these are the only positives from our stay. To summarize, this property was probably once a great place to stay. Today, it needs a TON of attention to carry the Hilton name. Being a Diamond member with Hilton, I stay in a lot of their hotels. This one should not carry the Hilton badge, especially being considered a resort. My suggestion is to take a strong pass on this property, and consider nicer options in other areas. We traveled to Scottsdale each night for dinner, and that location is a much more preferred destination to consider.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Most rooms have nice views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Coach5000, thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. I sincerely apologize you left the resort disappointed and that we did not meet expectations. Please email your reservation and stay details to enjoy.tapatiocliffs@hilton.com so we can look into this further for follow up. Thank you again
Read more
anthony a wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This place absolutely sucks! I’ve stayed at other Hilton hotels before and i’ve never been this dissatisfied in my life. Absolutely NOBODY answers the phone I’ve called almost every number in the directory to get in touch with the office and there was not one answer. Food at the Cascade was Alright, and the Continental Breakfast was Pricey (17$ for a child is ridiculous) I will certainly not be coming back here. The hotel suite was okay I did catch a smell of cigarettes in there so you might want to bring an air refreshener.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aahumada9149, I'm very sorry to see your 2 star review. I have forwarded your feedback regarding the unanswered phones to our front office management team and IT department to review and fix. I completely sympathize with your frustration and we will do a better job! For our breakfast buffet pricing and dining outlet menus, we price them competitively and always try to make them more affordable than other local resorts. We also offer many custom packages on our website that include a breakfast option or food and beverage credit to help families save money. I hope you will reconsider and give us a second chance for a much better stay in the near future.
Read more
tm1sskdmac wrote a review Jul 2022
Joseph City, Arizona51 contributions2 helpful votes
Maintenance across the board from the rooms to the pools is severing lacking. Smaller pools are ignored and the grounds maintenance is really lacking. We had to provide pour own towels for the pool as the small amount of towels provided every day were not sufficient to cover the amount of guests using the pool.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeff Lesker, General Manager at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
tm1sskdmac, thank you for providing your honest feedback. I'm very sorry to hear you left the resort disappointed. Our team works hard to provide a pleasant experience and we do strive to exceed expectations, but it seems as though we missed the mark. Please reach out to us at enjoy.tapatiocliffs@hilton.com if you would like to discuss further, referencing your review and reservation details. I hope you will give us a second chance for a much better visit.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$139 - US$257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pointe hilton tapatio cliffs hotel phoenix, hilton hotel phoenix, hilton phoenix, pointe hilton tapatio cliffs resort, phoenix hilton
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaPhoenixNorth Mountain
NUMBER OF ROOMS
584
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort?
Nearby attractions include Arizona Tactical Adventures (5.0 km), Phoenix Mountain Preserve (3.4 km), and Piestewa Peak (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Original Breakfast House, Bobby-Q, and Different Pointe of View.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wrigley Mansion (8.7 km), Cosanti (11.7 km), and Sahuaro Ranch Park (11.8 km).
Does Hilton Phoenix Tapatio Cliffs Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.