We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley

Save
Share
278 Hendrik Verwoerd Drive Jip de Jager off-ramp, ext 20, Welgemoed 7530 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$80
Hotels.comUS$80
Booking.comUS$80
PricelineUS$80
eDreamsUS$80
TravelocityUS$80
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (72)
Dining (25)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley is now a full service 3 star Cape Town hotel overlooking scenic views of Table Mountain and offers unrivalled convenience and value for money. As a budget hotel in Cape Town the Protea Hotel Tyger Valley is strategically located near the airport and CBD and is tailor-made for the executive traveller. All rooms have individually controlled air-conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, 32" flat screen TVs with DVD players in all rooms and en-suite bathrooms. The hotel's new a la carte restaurant, Point of View, caters for breakfast and dinner, whilst the exclusive residents' bar and lounge is ideal for informal meetings or sundowners. Secure, individual parking bays are strategically located outside each room. Off the restaurant, situated in the park-like surrounds, is the hotel's swimming pool and sundeck. Various other sporting activities are available nearby, including golf only a few minutes away. A cozy lounge facility off the reception area offers comfortable seating and a fireplace. For the Corporate traveller, the 3 star hotel in Cape Town offers a small business centre with internet and word processing facilities. Tyger Valley Shopping Centre and Willowbridge Mall is only 5 km away from the Protea Hotel Tygervalley. Within a 5 km radius, there are more than 30 restaurants to choose from. There is a Virgin Active Gym 5 km away. Shuttle services can be arranged to all destinations at a cost to the guest. For the adventure seeker, the hotel is only 8 km from Ratanga Junction.
Read more
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
148Reviews1Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 47
  • 39
  • 20
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MsimangaMR wrote a review Jun 2020
Harrismith, South Africa138 contributions42 helpful votes
There were no problems with check-in and check-out. The room was clean. There were many stairs to be climbed to access the restaurant and there was no restaurant parking for guest who could not climb the stairs. Service at the restaurant was the worst service in any of more than twenty Protea Hotels we stayed at. We waited for more than an hour and a half before our dinner was served and the restaurant was not busy. During breakfast we struggled to get tables and when we got them they were not clean. Different guests were allocated the same tables and that caused tension amongst the guests. Food was not replenished and that caused long queues at buffet and there was tension amongst the guest. One morning when we were queuing for food we were told that the restaurant was closing earlier as the hotel had new hours for breakfast and we were not told when we arrived. Staff members used any name tag they came across and we could not know who is who. One night the television was not working and we called for help but could not get it until we called again the following day. The same happened with the door. The hotel service was a disaster and did not meet the standards of Protea Hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Meloquin wrote a review Mar 2020
Eastbourne, United Kingdom1587 contributions155 helpful votes
+1
I spent 3 nights at the hotel, located not too far from airport, and around 25 minutes from the city centre. The rooms can be a bit of a trek from reception. Though not looking much from the outside, the room was clean and sizeable, with a large shower, and a fridge. I had to request an iron and ironing board. The restaurant was OK, friendly staff, and an OK selection of meals for dinner, with a bar. Sitting outside the restaurant you have a great view of table mountain, perfect after a long day. Late check out (until 17.00) costs 400ZAR.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Talitadp, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley
Responded 21 Mar 2020
Dear Meloquin, Thank you so much for your review, we highly appreciate it and we really encourage feedback to ensure we meet the requirements of our valued GUEST. I will surely share your reviews with our TEAMS to ensure we meet the requirements of your future stays, I have taken the liberty of updating your profile to ensure we allocate you to the closest building to reception to eliminate the long distance walking to the main area. Thank you so much for your review we highly appreciate it. Yours Sincerely Samantha De Koker Sales and Marketing Executive
Read more
stuart wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary at this hotel. What a huge disappointment. The lady who took our booking did not inform us that there is a only buffet dinner which we only found out once we arrived in restaurant. Starters shabby. Main course rice so little and dried out and I served myself curried potatoes, I think it was, only to find out it was a lamb stew but no meat in it. Chicken also curried, strange cuts of chicken, Beef sausage, must of been left over from breakfast as it was so hard to cut. Vegetables was the only saving grace. We are not big eaters but as I took up my plate to try get more food, I could not even fill half a small plate. Rice was just a few dried kernels laying in the pot. Another diner asked for chef as he is not happy that the food is so little that is left. This is at 20H00. I finally thought the sweets will make up for the lack of food. Alas, this was not to be. All that was left was cakes, which were hard, from standing out in air for some time, and a baked pudding which I had to scrape with a spoon to get some into my plate. Lots of custard. Left having coffee as we just wanted to get out and home. Marriot Group is an international hotel chain and cannot believe that they allow their standard to go down so much at one of their prime hotels. Will not go back and will not recommend to family or friends. What a way to celebrate what should have been a joyous 35 years wedding celebration. Worst dining experience ever.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Talitadp, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear Kirkmans1, Thank you for your valued feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations during your stay. Please be rest assured that your response was communicated to all TEAMS and we are now investigating this further. Kindly note that I am making contact with you to discuss the mentioned issues further. Your's Sincerely,
Read more
singha wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of January, in 2 rooms-family of four.There were no family rooms,so when I booked,I asked for us to be allocated 2 rooms that were next to each other-this was confirmed by the person I communicated with at the hotel.When checking in,we were informed that we had two rooms on two different floors.It took way too long for them to understand the problem and rectify the situation.We were finally allocated rooms that had one room in between them.Rooms were fairly spacious,neat and clean.There was also a fridge in the room.Breakfast was pathetic,despite me informing them that we don't eat beef and pork,no effort was made to accommodate us.So we had 6 days of eggs for 3 of us, and toast for my son,doesn't eat eggs.Staff at breakfast were pleasant.We couldn't eat supper there-very few dishes that didn't have beef and pork.Cleaner stole our fruit from the room while we were out.One day we returned +/-1pm-rooms hadn't been cleaned.I reported that the hairdryer in our room was not working,asked for it to be changed-never happened.There is a view point on the road adjacent to the hotel,people use this as a party spot-partying till about 3am one night- couldn't the hotel not request a time restriction?I think it's very sad because the hotel is actually in a good location-beautiful views central to most of the tourist attractions we visited;but the management is really very poor.I most certainly do not recommend a stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Talitadp, Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear Singhan36, Thank you so much for your valued feedback. My humble apologies for the delay in response, and that we fell short of your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that the mentioned complaints was shared with the relevant department. Please feel free to email me at any time, to discuss your feedback further. Samantha Dekoker Sales and Marketing Executive Samantha.Dekoker@proteahotels.com
Read more
Tuliparoxa M wrote a review Jan 2020
Kempton Park, South Africa7 contributions1 helpful vote
Last weekend I stayed at Tyger Valley Protea Hotel and I had a great time, I enjoyed the view while having dinner and during breakfast. The staff was very friendly and and attentive. I will definitely recommend it to anyone. Best regards Emma
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Talitadp, Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Hi Tuliparoxam, Thank you for your valued feedback. So sorry for only responding to you now only. It warms our hearts knowing you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much and have a lovely day further. Your Sincerely, Samantha Dekoker Sales and Marketing Executive
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tyger valley hotel, protea hotel tyger valley
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel Tygervalley
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownWelgemoed
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley
Which popular attractions are close to Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley?
Nearby attractions include Cool Runnings (2.8 km), Tyger Valley Centre (3.6 km), and Barnyard Theatre Willowbridge (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include De Grendel Restaurant, Moksh Indian Restaurant, and Durbanville Hills.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Protea Hotel Cape Town Tyger Valley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Irma Stern Museum (14.0 km) and Mostert Mill (14.2 km).