We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Majeka House

Orbitz.comUS$146*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$189*
US$146*
Great Deal
US$151*
US$189*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Majeka House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

511 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Majeka House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 429: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Our third visit in three years and as usual - absolute perfection. We enjoy the room comforts, pool and annemities, sumptious gourmet breakfast, lounging at the pool with wonderful attention and service from the efficient and friendly persoal staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nevshot
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 7 March 2011

"I just wanted to thank you for a wonderful stay at Majeka House last week Saturday. My husband and son really enjoyed their swim, I just love your herb & veg garden, and the breakfast was great! The premises is lovely, our room was spacious, and everyone so kind."

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nooline
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean and very spacious. The grounds and pools were lovely and well tended. Food in the restaurant was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevbing
Hamptons. NY
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We spent four nights and five days at Majeka. We loved almost every minute. The food was excellent. The table service very good. Internet service was erratic. Housekeeping could have been more attentive: tissues and towels (in the room, and the swimming pool) were not replenished without request. There was a 'turn down' service at night but little attempt to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makoHamptons.NY
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I stayed with my lady who was lecturing at the University in Stellenbosch, while I was busy recovering from heart surgery. I found the hotel extremely well appointed, service excellent and unobtrusive. We did not have evening meals at the hotel but found excellent restaurants in close proximity. I found there office/computer facilities excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikec004
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2011

A delightful, relaxing experience with a French flair. Beautiful garden to relax in with prolific flowers and a warm and inviting pool for swimming. Delicious cooked breakfast, complete with home made yoghurt and granola to start. Comfortable bed with luxurious bedding and toiletries. One of the best Swedish massages I have ever had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KathyG123
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Wrong room allocated on arrival , we booked 2 x 2nd floor rooms, we were allocated 1 x 2nd floor and one dark dismall ground floor room. My sister and her husband were made to move room to accomodate later customers. Bath towels and bed linen not changed, dirty towels were removed dried and returned- we were not sure if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda30375
LloydMajekaHouse, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Guest We were very sad to hear that you had not enjoyed your stay with us. We do however feel that we need to respond to these allegations: 1. Wrong rooms had not been allocated - we do not have two superior rooms on the second floor and would never have told you that we did. We upgraded you...

London
Reviewed 5 February 2011

When we arrived at this place from Cape Town we felt we were slightly out of the way, but this is just a perfect place to settle yourself when exploring this area. The Service is the best part of this hotel, the staff are great and the waiters are warm and friendly. We especially wanted to say a special thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauritaLondon
Cape Town
Reviewed 2 November 2010

What a gorgeous hotel! The swimming pools are lovely and the decor appears very sophisticated and lends the whole property a very tranquil feel. The Accommodation is delightful, the food exceptional from Anri, and the spa super relaxing. The Staff were friendly and we would recommend at least a three night stay, as this Hotel made a great location to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeHip
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I stayed at Majeka House for a real treat. I had a day package in the Spa booked for my birthday which included lunch. It was fantastic! I had arrived early, took full advantage of the pool, the sauna, the steam room & then had my treatments which were great. Very professional, lovely & quiet and full on value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sioni R

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.5 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
627 reviews
5.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
857 reviews
7.5 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.3 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
370 reviews
6.0 km away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Stellenbosch
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: R1 608 - R3 520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Majeka House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“208 nice ground floor room but no views”
A371QLpeterd, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if difficulty with stairs ask for first floor flats.”
barryp384, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pool rooms have their own pool to share between 2 rooms”
RadiaS, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suite 502, the devil is in the detail!”
ErnRam, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be great but suggest you e-mail / call reception so they can meet your requirements.”
richardrH1356DL, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$146* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$151
CancelonUS$189
PricelineUS$151
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates