We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Majeka House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Majeka House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Majeka House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Stellenbosch
Reviewed 16 January 2017

great service and cute surroundings, excellent location bed slightly lumpy, woke up with sore backs. Pool nice and jacuzzi great. wish we had been able to try the spa! Breakfast was really superb! overall: wonderful stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanime
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Jeanime, Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review. We have taken note of your comments about the bedding and will look into it as this is an unusual remark. We are sorry that you could not get into the Spa, but we do send numerous amount of correspondence asking you to pre-book as we might...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. A combination of luxury with good money for value relationship. Extremely well located in a very nice and cosy neighborhood! Many wine estates nearby and amazing complementary wine&chocolate complementary experience!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariaaJ2791TI
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear mariaaJ2791TI, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review about your experience at Majeka House. Our team is delighted to have had a positive impact on your stay and hope to welcome you back soon again at Majeka House. Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I would highly recommend this property for a stay in the wine country. Every aspect from staff, food, grounds, room and overall ambiance was amazing. The location is very near many wineries.. this place is a jewel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamcS1117TB
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear pamcS1117TB, The entire team is so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and join us in thanking you for leaving us such a lovely review about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at Majeka House in the future. Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Contemporary elegant accommodation with very fine dining and an excellent SPA. Helpful personnel booking golf and any other reservation needed when travelling in season. Breakfast is ok. The position is convenient and very quiet ideal for a rest in today's hectic times. WLAN works impeccable also at the pool. There might be a shortage of pool chairs when fully occupied.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank female2017
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear female2017, Thank you very much for your very positive review left on your experience at Majeka House. Our team is delighted that you enjoyed their service and our facility - restaurant and spa! We look forward to welcoming back at Majeka House in the near future. Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Majeka House was an incredibly intimate and magical boutique hotel in the heart of Stellenbosch. Its impeccable service and attention to detail created the most memorable experience for my husband and I. They were very keen to provide the best recommendations to add to our time there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucassU9064MR
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear lucassU9064MR, The entire team joins me to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your experience at Majeka House. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in Stellenbosch and hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 30 December 2016

nice place to be. Striking electric blue garden chairs 5 minutes drive from most of the wine-tasting vineyards. Afforded me the possibility to appreciate nature and vineyards technology from a close-up vantage.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nafezh
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear nafezh, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Majeka House. We are glad that enjoyed your stay with us! Kind regards Karine

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We had a wonderful time here. The Spa is world-class, the rooms are spacious, modern, and inviting. The staff is very attentive and always accommodating. The pools are great as well – plus, the overall location allowed us to really relax while still having access to all of the great destinations Stellenbosch and Franschoek offers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BorisGei
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear BorisGei, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such lovely feedback. We have also made a note of your private other feedback and appreciate your genuine positive criticism. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated our team's effort to make you feel at home. We look forward to welcoming...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

This is a difficult one because the staff are just so nice and helpful that it's easy to review and overlook the poor general upkeep, location and grubbiness of Majeka. Badly stained furniture in the lounge and common areas, unclean wooden shower trays ( wood absorbs so is very unhygienic), very dirty toilet brushes, ill fitting cupboards, grubby swimming pools...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorlddTravellerr
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Worlddtravellerr, First of all we would like to thank you for your honest feedback which we take very seriously. We are surprised about a few of your comments such as the price you mention as our most expensive rooms - poolside rooms - are currently at the rate of R5980 per night with breakfast. These rooms are the ones...

Reviewed 8 December 2016

This hotel is beautiful. I had read great reviews before my trip to Majeka House but it far exceeded my expectations. On arrival, we were shown around by the wonderful Wonder who took time to show us all the facilities to help us get the most from our stay. Our room was just beautiful...every detail has been thought of with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Sarah M, We are so please that you took the time to write us such a detailed and positive review about your experience at Majeka House. Our entire team and those you mentioned join us to thank you, as this is the best reward for the team's hard work to read such amazing feedback! We definitely look forward to...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Excellent coffee in the room and nice rooms. For my taste the beds are to soft. Nice garden! Very good breakfast! The service is very good, you feel well cared. The staff is very ambitious to help you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 591ullrichm
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear 591ullrichm, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Majeka House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and more particularly our staff eagerness to please and make your stay a memorable one. We have made a note of your comment about the beds. Looking forward to welcoming you...

245 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (194)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.4 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
613 reviews
5.6 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
843 reviews
7.6 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.2 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
359 reviews
6.1 km away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: R2 101 - R3 990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Majeka House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“208 nice ground floor room but no views”
A371QLpeterd, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if difficulty with stairs ask for first floor flats.”
barryp384, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pool rooms have their own pool to share between 2 rooms”
RadiaS, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suite 502, the devil is in the detail!”
ErnRam, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be great but suggest you e-mail / call reception so they can meet your requirements.”
richardrH1356DL, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5