We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
26 Houtkapper Street Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$274
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/03/27
Expedia.com
US$246
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/03/28
Agoda.com
US$233
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/03/26
Hotels.comUS$246
PricelineUS$274
ZenHotels.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (375)
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (80)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#18 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Spa
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
788Reviews1Q+A82Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 608
  • 130
  • 28
  • 13
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Frédéric S wrote a review Nov 2020
Bantry Bay, South Africa23 contributions4 helpful votes
We had an amazing time at Majeka House. The room was spacious and comfy, staff is nice and competent, the food served at the restaurant and the bar was excellent - some of the best we have had since we moved to South Africa about 10 months ago. We also tried the spa and were very happy of the treatment we got. A lot of locals are coming to MH to support their business during the pandemic, this also tells about their relationship with their community.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
LorindaVoges wrote a review Sep 2020
Cape Town, South Africa232 contributions31 helpful votes
We are at the end of August 2020 and still in lockdown in South Africa! I was absolutely delighted when I could finally book my staycation at Majeka House in Stellenbosch when we moved to Level 2 earlier this month. It is hard to believe that this beautiful tranquil is in the center of Stellenbosch! With a bold, plush, highly individual style, this small luxury hotel with beautiful gardens and destination restaurant ake for a seductive escape. In fact, Condé Nast Johansens pits Majeka House as the 2017 Award Winner of the Best Design Hotel in the Luxury Hotels. Dining at Majeka House’s Makaron Restaurant makes for the perfect date night venue. It was my 3rd time having dinner at Makaron, and it is still by far one of the best dining experience venues in the Wine Lands. Due to
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Julien J wrote a review Mar 2020
Paris1069 contributions209 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at Majeka house for two nights in mid february 2020. Our travel agency booked a room for us for two nights in order to visit the wine area. On arrival, the road was under construction and we could not access the hotel without the help of workers... The hotel got our email and phone number but nobody took time to give a phone call to warn us. It would have been a good idea to warn guests before they arrived, specially those who rent a car in order not to get asphalt on the car !! The staff was friendly on arrival for check in. The room was not ready before the end of the afternoon. The room was located on the ground floor. Design is not so bad but needs to be renewed... And PVC windows and doors are not really a good choice... Bedding was good. Large bathroom but due to
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Dear julienetsteph, First of all thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for fairly complimenting our staff welcome as well as our breakfast and diner offering. Unfortunately we apologize for the road works debacle, we were not even informed ourselves, and when calling the municipality on that morning they could hardly tell us what was going on and how long it would last. Had we been aware of the road works we would definitely have informed our clients checking in. This lasted a day and a half and we found the worked extremely professional. Regarding linen, it is clearly indicated that we will only change the linen if you leave them in the bath tub and not otherwise. You might be aware that our country has suffered water shortage for 2 consecutive years and that some drastic measures were taken in hotels to survive this. Some of these measures have been left in place to avoid getting back into this situation. We are sorry about the fact that you suffered the lad shedding that this country has been experiencing for the past years. We have some municipal rules in our area and one of them is to respect others and therefore not using any generators from 10pm to 7am, we apply this rule. Looking at your reservation you did not inform us that you were leaving so early as normally we inform our security guard who is there to assist with luggage and fast check-out. Wishing to stay very safe in such difficult times. Kind regards Karine
Read more
chriskuehler wrote a review Mar 2020
Munich, Germany7 contributions8 helpful votes
We absolutely loved it at Majeka. Everyone on the team was nothing but incredible, giving us the best setting to relax and enjoy weather, food and wine in a very chilled sourrounding! We'd definitely come back, highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Dear chriskuehler, Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Majeka House and hope to welcome you soon again in Stellenbosch. kind regards' Karine
Read more
RJG_F9 wrote a review Mar 2020
Edenbridge, United Kingdom42 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
We spent a couple of days in Majeka to relax after some time in Cape Town. The hotel is a haven of tranquility and quality - really nice room, attentive and friendly staff, a fine dining restaurant and one of the best breakfast options we have experienced at any hotel in the world. It was clear that owners and staff stamp their personality over all aspects of the hotel, meaning loads of quirky pig ornaments around the premises and food which clearly stems from family tradition and quality ingredients. Only a few minutes away from several vineyards, a really chilled out couple of days - and one small point I haven’t experienced in many places, we were always referred to by our first names which have a feeling of a very personal service and friendly environment. When dining at the
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear RHG_F9, First of all we would like to thank you for leaving us such a positive review about your stay at Majeka House. The entire team is delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, particularly the restaurant and service team with such a great accolade to them. We hope to welcome you back again for another relaxing stay soon. Kind regards Karine
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
majeka house hotel stellenbosch, majeka hotel cape town
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeStellenbosch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing