We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beautiful South Guest House

Save
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (27)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“honesty bar”(10 reviews)
“guest house”(17 reviews)
“thatched house”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
47
31
15
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
47
31
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barguest housethatched housecape townamazing weekendother guestswine toursun loungersinternet accessa wonderful staybreakfast areawonderful guesthousestayed for one nightlovely gardenwine countrytbsvineyards
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

A very well located, cosy and pleasant Guesthouse, within walking distance to the university. Very friendly and professional staff who really make you feel at home. Rooms are big, very clean and comfortable. This, combined with great breakfast contributed to make my stay very enjoyable.

Thank JKaninda07
Reviewed 14 March 2018

The security at THBS Guest House leaves much to be desired. Our room was robbed when other guests left the garden gate to the compound open as they departed. A man dressed as an official took the opportunity to come into the complex and took...More

2  Thank cox_pauline
Response from Bryce S, Owner at The Beautiful South Guest HouseResponded 3 days ago

Mrs Cox, again we are sad about your experience, which is the first "theft" here. Having said that, you literally let a strange man into your room, where he helped himself. Why were your valuables not locked in your safe? He asked other guests to...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night with a couple of friends. We rented two rooms. None of the rooms were in sufficient quality for the price we were charged (which was higher from what we paid for a very good guest house in Cape Town) : one...More

Thank Ron19562013
Response from Bryce S, Owner at The Beautiful South Guest HouseResponded 14 March 2018

Hi, thanks for your review. I will address your "complaints" "Too hot" So the room was "too hot"??? But we have air conditioning that you can set the temperature to the exact degree with a simple remote control! How is it possible to be too...More

Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

The rooms were fabulous and the pool area was lovely, cool water and great sunloungers. Breakfast was good variety and plenty with help yourself tea, coffee and juice. The manager Dennis greeted us and showed us the room, but said he couldn’t offer us a...More

Thank Phil D
Response from Bryce S, Owner at The Beautiful South Guest HouseResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Phil, we apologize for that unusual character- he was indeed unusual, & not our regular handyman. Furthermore, he was not authorized to work past 5pm & we had no idea he was doing so. Perhaps if someone had called/emailed & let us know, we...More

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay! TBS is well taken care of by it’s friendly staff and the facilities are just perfect. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed however was, for my taste, way too soft and was squeaking with every tiny movement I made....More

Thank SamanthaS31
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Stellenbosch
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$54 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (27)
Dining (8)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Beautiful South Guest House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Do not get a room by the pool and the compound exit as these are very vulnerable to opportunistic theft"
Read review
"All the rooms looked awesome. Ask for the honey moon suite if its available."
Read review
"Number 8 is a small room for a couple...nice, quiet, and steps to the pool..."
Read review
"Some ground floor rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing