We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 17 hotels in Stellenbosch

Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

636 reviews
Save
Traveller (358)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (23)
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wine tasting”(57 reviews)
“cigar lounge”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (636)Write a Review
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
339
116
42
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
339
116
42
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingterrace restaurantcigar loungecellar tourstar hotelwine estatelovely experiencecape townold world charmtasting roombeautiful hotelunderfloor heatingmanor housemain restaurantour honeymoonbeautiful surroundingsattention to detail
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

I love this spa. It is one of my favorite spa's in the western cape. The location is great. Facilities are also very nice as you have access to many of the facilities after a minimum spent. The vitality bar etc adds additional benefits that...More

Thank corlia_swanepoel
Response from LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & SpaResponded 2 November 2017

A sincere thanks for your recommendation of the Lanzerac Spa!

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

I had the privilege to go for a full body massage at the newly renovated Lanzerac Spa. No money was spared to ensure that it looked and felt truly luxurious. I walked two minutes early into my appointment and from there felt like royalty. Very...More

Thank Teddy H
Response from LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & SpaResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review of your Lanzerac Spa experience!

Reviewed 20 July 2017

The room we stayed in was interestingly decorated, very comfortable and spacious for a couple. The Deli was awesome for lunch, with a great selection of gourmet sandwiches, and the restaurant food was top notch

Thank 54321Tommy
Response from LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & SpaResponded 10 August 2017

Sincere thanks for the 5 star rating!

Reviewed 19 July 2017

The Lanzerac Hotel in Stellenbosch is known by the locals as being the best hotel in the area. We enjoyed a wonderful stay there last year, but unfortunately, it suffered a devastating fire this year and I do not think it will be open for...More

Thank ann-marie v
Response from LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & SpaResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your ranking of best hotel in Stellenbosch, very much appreciated. As you mention, the hotel is temporarily closed due to a fire, but will reopen mid 2018. Lanzerac team is positive that we can restore Lanzerac’s glory and legacy during this time...More

Reviewed 25 June 2017

We were devastated to hear about the recent fire which affected several parts of this historic property. We visited less than one month ago while celebrating our honeymoon and cannot say enough nice things about this property. The hotel grounds are gorgeous, with mountain and...More

2  Thank tw954
Response from LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & SpaResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your review and your positive comments about your stay. We certainly concur that Lanzerac is a special place!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456108
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$150 - US$459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$150 - US$459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (358)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (23)
Pool & Beach (10)
Hotel & Grounds (277)
Bathroom (19)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BTay-Traveler
17 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from drpaulfoodlover | Reviewed this property |
Hello Bill PH 021 887 1132 if You are outside SA add 0027 hope this helps dont miss out it's a great place to stay Regards Dr Paul Murray
0
Votes
TheGlasgowGal
21 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LanzManagement | Property representative |
Thank you for your query. The fitness area will be housed in the new gym, which will be operational in Jan 2017. The fitness room will have basis cardio equipment and free weights. Bikes can be arranged and bought in by a... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for the upgraded rooms."
Read review
"Our room (101) was situated towards the back of the property and it was very quiet and private."
Read review
"All rooms are different in delivering satisfactions"
Read review
"Privacy depends if you want to be in the hotel or further away in the lower garden All the rooms are special"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite