MolenVliet Vineyards

Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 7612 South Africa
Traveller (349)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 23 cottages in Stellenbosch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
MolenVliet Vineyards offers our guests various luxury Accommodation options throughout the Estate. Our four En-Suite Cottages are ideally situated at the Entrance of the Estate; this is the perfect hideaway for guests wanting to lounge around at the swimming pool or sitting on their private balcony. The Cottages are situated close to the Helshoogte Pass and not recommended if you are noise sensitive. The River Manor is nestled in the Vineyards overlooking the Simonsberg Mountains; this Boutique Guest House consists of four double En-Suite bedrooms, with Bath and Shower facilities. It is the ideal getaway for a family, corporate parties or even conferences. The River Manor can either be booked as a unit or individually. Only two Suites has got vineyard views from their shared balcony Executive Suite 2 and Luxury Suite 1. The River Manor is ideal if you are noise sensitive. The Manor House is simply not to be missed; this Homestead was fully restored to its original glory, and consists of six Double En-Suite Rooms, a Chefs Kitchen opening onto the Private Dining room with spectacular Vineyard and Mountain Views. The Residence has 360° views over the Estate and boasts also its own private swimming pool, personal service and all the luxurious amenities one would expect. The Executive Suite 1 has got spectacular mountain and vineyard views and walks out onto the communal pool. Executive Suite has got Mountain View from their private balcony and the other two suites only have views from the communal areas. All our guests can enjoy the beautiful views of the Vineyards, Mountains, River and well established gardens, whilst staying at MolenVliet Vineyards.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Banquet room
Makeup services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
529Reviews2Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 437
  • 48
  • 26
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
pperrin1 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
I recently had the absolute pleasure of spending a weekend at MolenVliet celebrating my daughters wedding.
I have never been this impressed with a venue EVER....it is in a beautiful setting surrounded by mountains set in a glorious garden. The property it mainly classic Dutch colonial complemented with beautiful, carefully chosen furniture to complement the style. the staff were very attentive and professional we didn't want for anything and nothing was too much trouble. I also liked their no tipping policy, it was so much easier to show your appreciation at the end of our stay and know that any money received were shared between all staff. Do go, even if it is only for one night, all the rooms are exquisite, or to visit the Vinyard, you will not regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The riverside cottage is traditional colonial and the breakfast is served in this cottage.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilmar wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the guest rooms, and it was worth every cent to wake up to the vineyard and mountain in full view. The room is spacious and luxurious, the bathroom is big and everything is catered for. Checking in was online and smooth.

Our biggest critique however is that there seem to be a fairly big disregard to the current COVID-19 situation, and the rising 3rd wave in South Africa. We saw 1 tiny bottle of hand sanitiser at the reception hall, and 1 small bottle during our second morning of breakfast. Other than that, NO sanitiser in the rooms, foot operated bottles when entering buildings, or any other common space. It was quite disheartening. The staff wore masks, but for the guests we were left to use our own sanitiser (hopefully you have ) as we moved through the venue. Also no one was enforcing the "no masks no entry rule" they seemingly follow.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upper level rooms have a bit more privacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hennie wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
We stayed here for our honeymoon and all the staff went above and beyond (special mention of reception/Porsche with recommendations and reservations)! The location is the perfect mix of privacy while still being close to all the main attractions. However with the view the rooms have and the heated private plunge pool it is sometimes hard to leave.

The breakfast is also a highlight of every morning, but I honestly I cant think of anything on the venue/food/people/room that was not flawless.

Definitely hope to return again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you get the room with the heated private plunge pool!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ockie Oosthuizen, Owner at MolenVliet Vineyards
Responded 07 Dec 2020
Dearest Hennie, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review. It really is much appreciated!! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and Magriet back in the near future!! Kindest Regards The Molenvliet Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hendrik wrote a review Jan 2020
South Africa1 contribution
We had a suite with private pool. Beautiful view but that’s all. The check-in was terrible as the room was not available yet. Normally it is 14:00, however in our case it was way later. Instead of offering a drink and a snack for free for the inconvenience they told us that we mustn’t check-out after 11:00 as that would cost R450 per hour. The rooms definitely need to be renovated, the TV wasn’t working properly, the pool was nearly empty, the mini bar was only stocked upped after we moved in. Also the breakfast buffet was really basic. Communication with the staff via WhatsApp is in general a good idea but they didn’t always respond. We are not happy with the service and the quality and wouldn’t recommend this place at all. There are way better places for that amount of money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MVliet_Management, Manager at MolenVliet Vineyards
Responded 03 Jan 2020
Dear Mr Nagel, Thank you for your review and feedback. I have personally contacted you with regards to your stay as we at Molenvliet strive to improve and to ensure that guests leave us happy and rested. Regards Kimble
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rene D wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Staff and location really well set out and very friendly, a definite must on your bucket list. The view was really beautiful, and the pool really warm for June weather. Rooms are very well presented and staff are really always willing to assist and are always friendly and smiling.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ockie Oosthuizen, Owner at MolenVliet Vineyards
Responded 13 Jun 2022
Dear Rene, Thank you so much for the great review! We are extremely happy that you had the most wonderful weekend with us! Thank you for complimenting our staff - we truly appreciate hearing this and will definitly pass on your compliments to them all. We can't wait to welcome you back to Molenvliet Vineyards. Kindest Regards, The Molenvliet Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bmorri379624 wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
All great but they should pay more attention to cleaning the room and refreshing the linen and doing a turn down at night, closing the curtains, etc. Housekeeping was not good at all (they even forgot their cleaning equipment in the room and had to rush the cleaning) but everything else was great. Mind you we also spent a lot of time in the room and maybe they didn’t have enough time to refresh the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ockie Oosthuizen, Owner at MolenVliet Vineyards
Responded 06 Jan 2021
Dearest Anthony & Caroline, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review :-) We are very happy to hear that you were delighted with your room and we do apologise that the Housekeeping was not good at all. The Ladies did their best to get to your room the minute Reception informed them that you have left late morning/afternoon for a hour or two. Your comments have been taken to heart and we will most certainly make work on a few things in order to improve our overall service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Molenvliet in the near future!! Kindest Regards The Molenvliet Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Note to Self wrote a review Dec 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa15 contributions25 helpful votes
We arrived on a public holiday, and security merely handed our room key over without a word. No one to assist with our luggage and subsequently had to park 500m from the rooms.(that's where the parking area is). We didn't book a plunge pool room, so we had to call to find out if there was another pool that we could use. There was, but you have to walk half a kilometer to get there, and what an excuse of a pool it was. It's not on any of the photos because it's not worth including. Those with a plunge pool suite will have neighbors above them enjoying the view on the balcony, which doesn't offer privacy. The pool bar area is desolate, with no pool towels on the loungers (no pool towels in the rooms either). We discovered that the breakfast area was located there too, so another long walk every day for food. The rooms are modern and the view is outstanding, but the layout of the property on such a large area is a problem. We left on the same day without getting a refund and moved to River Manor Boutique hotel - a life saver at half the cost!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ockie Oosthuizen, Owner at MolenVliet Vineyards
Responded 06 Jan 2022
Dear Garth, Thank you for the feedback given. Kindly note that due to it being Christmas day, on the day of your arrival, we sent the staff home earlier, at 15h00. As mentioned on our website, which you have booked through, we do not have hospitality staff on the premises 24hours, other than our Security who is also available to assist with guests’ needs at any time of the day or night. A courtesy message was sent to advise you on the this, as well as an email stating that due to Covid-19, we are still working with skeleton staff (hopefully this will change soon, fingers crossed!). With the above being said, we also do provide after hour numbers for guests to get in touch should they have any inquiries or emergencies. As per our understanding, you were quite upset with the room you booked through our website, as you were under the impression it was a Mountain View Executive Suite (with a plunge pool) and instead you reserved a Mountain View Luxury Suite (without a plunge pool). Should we have had a Mountain View Executive Suite available (and as discussed with Management telephonically on the day after you arrived), we would have gladly assisted with an upgrade free of charge, however these rooms were unfortunately already fully booked for the duration of your stay, 25 & 26 December 2021. Please note that MolenVliet Vineyards is a farm and not a Boutique Hotel, therefore our grounds are bigger. The breakfast area and swimming pool is slightly further away but still walking distance from the building you booked, which is actually such a beautiful walk being surrounded by nature. We also regret to hear that you think our pool is an excuse and not to your preference, however we have received many great feedback regarding our newly renovated pool area. With saying newly renovated, that is the reason why there is no photos of it anywhere, because it is brand NEW and we are so excited about it 😊 We will be sure to add some photos to our website soon. After our Whatasapp communication, where you requested for a refund, you have given us very little time to come back to you before writing your review. However, needless to say, we have since offered you a voucher to come back and enjoy the true service MolenVliet Vineyards are well known for, but unfortunately haven’t received a response from you as yet. We hope to hear from you soon and look forward to welcoming you back to Molenvliet in the near future. Kindest Regards, MolenVliet Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Incredible venue for both larger and more intimate weddings. We had an amazing celebration at MolenVliet and the service providers were all fantastic and executed extremely well, in coordination with the MolenVliet staff.
The wedding venue is well priced and stunning, the only frustrating part is having to commit to taking all the accommodation surrounding the wedding venue, which are 17 beautiful, but very expensive, rooms.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ockie Oosthuizen, Owner at MolenVliet Vineyards
Responded 01 May 2022
Dear Mark, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your stay with us! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and had an incredible wedding celebration at Molenvliet Vineyards. Thank you for complimenting the service received from the providers as well as the team at Molenvliet. We regret to hear that you felt frustrated that you had to commit to taking all 17 rooms. This arrangement is purely due to the location of these rooms, as we can not have them available for individual guests, whilst we have a wedding taking place at the venue. Imagine having your Ceremony on the Vineyard Lawn and non-wedding guests occupying the Mountain View Suites 😉 We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kindest regards, The Molenvliet team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NathanUdi wrote a review Oct 2021
Cape Town, South Africa25 contributions
This place not only met but also exceeded my expectations. Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated with beautiful artwork and furniture. Everything looks and feels luxurious, from the door to the floors, ceiling, bathroom, large mirror, comfortable bed, I loved everything! The staff was so friendly and helpful, they made us feel welcome. The views of the mountain and vineyard were majestic. The experience made my birthday a memorable one. I have only one request, please can you put a small side table between the 2 chairs in the rooms so that drinking that much-needed glass of champagne is more convenient. That's it.
Ten-ten-ten all around!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ockie Oosthuizen, Owner at MolenVliet Vineyards
Responded 21 Nov 2021
Dearest NathanUdi, What a lovely comment - thank you so much It was lovely having you here with us for your birthday and delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and made your stay memorable! We passed on your thank you to the staff, which of course made them smile from ear to ear! Regarding the request about a small side table - we will definitely look into this We look very much forward to welcome you back in the near future! Kindest regards, Molenvliet team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ziyaad M wrote a review Aug 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa18 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited during August and understood the risk in terms of weather and unfortunately we had 4 out of 5 days of rain. However the staff at Molenvliet were superb in terms of trying to make our stay as enjoyable as possible by providing useful suggestions on where to eat and visit. They offered to book for us and were constantly helping out via Whatsapp with quick and friendly assistance. Thanks to Ashleen and Sunette for incredible service. Both deserve huge praise plus all the other staff including chef, cleaners and waitresses. The rooms were also amazing with everything we needed and the farm was truly beautiful with picturesque views of the mountain. 5 out of 5 stars
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ockie Oosthuizen, Owner at MolenVliet Vineyards
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Dearest Manie family, What an absolute pleasure having you all stay with us! Thank you so much for the wonderful review - we truly do appreciate it. We are extremely happy that you loved your stay with us, as well as the rooms and the beautiful views Molenvliet has to offer! We also do appreciate hearing the praises for our staff - we will definitely pass on your compliments! We look forward welcoming you all back very soon! Kindest Regards, The Molenvliet Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marlene S wrote a tip 19 Feb
116 contributions115 helpful votes
"Buy a robe from this property, as the Indulgence Spa Products robes are heavenly and available at reception for purchase."
Read full review
Chris White Shark wrote a tip 02 Feb
Greater London, United Kingdom132 contributions77 helpful votes
"Bring your own water :-) Make sure to double check every bit of info you're given."
Read full review
Matars_Z wrote a tip Jan 2024
Washington DC, District of Columbia589 contributions624 helpful votes
"Go with no expectations of service. Do not go if you may need help in an emergency."
Read full review
Daleen W wrote a tip Apr 2023
2 contributions
"Take walking shoes"
Read full review
Bosammy wrote a tip Apr 2023
Kuwait46 contributions11 helpful votes
"have your own car. Lize Mari is an outstanding help, and very pleasant person. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stellenbosch area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,842 - R 7,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeStellenbosch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOLENVLIET VINEYARDS - Cottage Reviews & Price Comparison (Stellenbosch, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about MolenVliet Vineyards
Which popular attractions are close to MolenVliet Vineyards?
Nearby attractions include Franschhoek Motor Museum (7.0 km), Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden (7.7 km), and Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MolenVliet Vineyards?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at MolenVliet Vineyards?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at MolenVliet Vineyards?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at MolenVliet Vineyards?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MolenVliet Vineyards?
Conveniently located restaurants include Helena's Restaurant, Fat Butcher, and Stellenbosch Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at MolenVliet Vineyards?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at MolenVliet Vineyards?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MolenVliet Vineyards?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to MolenVliet Vineyards?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boschendal (4.2 km).
Does MolenVliet Vineyards have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.