Vinehill Guest Cottages

Vinehill Guest Cottages

morning view from Mountain cottage
Traveller (1)
morning view from Mountain cottage
Room & Suite (8)
Sunset Cottage Dining area
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#22 of 23 cottages in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
Situated on the Helderberg Mt, outside Stellenbosch, amongst vineyards and within walking distance of 3 wineries, Vinehill is proud to offer 2 secure, luxury, self-catering cottages with spectacular views, stretching from Cape Point and the lights of Cape Town in the west to the rugged Boland Mountains in the east.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
9Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brendan S wrote a review Sept 2017
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of 4 stayed in Sunset Cottage which has an interleading door into the Garden Cottage which makes it perfect for families.The cottage has everything you could want whether it's Summer or Winter.Under floor heating, spacious lounge/dining area, DSTV for sports matches, huge under cover braai on the expansive patio with breathtaking views of Lions head in the distance across the beautiful vineyards, pool for the kids to enjoy, wine estates within walking distance, Markets within 5 minutes drive. I could go on and on. A really lovely place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley-ann L, Owner at Vinehill Guest Cottages
Responded 21 Jun 2018
Thank you for staying with us. Please come again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sansmerrill wrote a review Oct 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night but wish it was a week!
This is truly the best equipped self catering establishment that we have ever been too! Everything you could think of and more.
The stunning patios for sunrise & sunset & the beautiful views are just glorious.
Excellent quality linen & Devine beds make it easy to enjoy a good sleep.
This is not to be missed!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley-ann L, Owner at Vinehill Guest Cottages
Responded 21 Jun 2018
Thanks Sandy. We look forward to seeing you the end of July!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter R wrote a review Feb 2017
Athelhampton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For self-catering, this property has everything - location, views, facilities, superb linen,welcoming host. I could go on.
Not the cheapest, but definitely the best we stayed at in Western Cape.
Make sure you book well ahead!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley-ann L, Owner at Vinehill Guest Cottages
Responded 21 Jun 2018
Oh wow! Thanks for the positive crit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate U wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the cottages in December 2019, the bedding was really dirty and there were flies everywhere. We complained and the bedding was changed but we received no apology. The owner's wife had a really bad attitude and we felt very unwelcome. The views are lovely, but unfortunately even without the hiccups, it's poor value for money. There are much better places to stay in Stellenbosch for the rate. We never complain, but out of principle we needed to write this review.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Find another venue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley-ann Lea, General Manager at Vinehill Guest Cottages
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Apologies Mrs Usher, for the dirty mark on the duvet cover. It should never have been put on the duvet and should not of passed housekeeping.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JvR1971 wrote a review Jul 2016
Pretoria, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights - perfect hosts (thanks Dom) and Sunset Cottage and the Garden Room was just wonderful. Beautifully maintained, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Beautiful patio and braai (BBQ) facilities.
It is about 11kms from the centre of Stellenbosch but very easy to get three on the main R44. Lots of eating places close by if you don't want to go to Stellenbosch centre.
Loved it! We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley-ann L, Owner at Vinehill Guest Cottages
Responded 21 Jun 2018
Thanks for the vote of confidence. Please come again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve D wrote a review Jun 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My brother made a booking at Vinehill for a stay and paid a 50% deposit. Plans changed on his side and he requested a refund. This was some SIX weeks before his booked time. He was denied any refund (R2400) and when he asked if he could then leave the deposit for another time as he has sons at varsity there, he was also denied.
I find that kind of service appealing and very out of touch. I certainly will not be supporting Vinehill when visiting next.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley-ann L, Owner at Vinehill Guest Cottages
Responded 01 Jul 2016
Hi Mr. Dahl, With regards to your review I would like to make you aware that we have a non-refundable deposit policy as stated on all invoices, on our website and agency websites. Your brother chose to cancel his reservation as he wanted to stay somewhere else. He was offered a return on his deposit if we got another booking at that time. Sadly we did not get another booking. Your brother and his wife came to stay with us a few months later and used the previously paid deposit and have subsequently returned to our establishment. Regards, Vinehill Guest Cottages
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VeraLaura1962 wrote a review Mar 2014
Pretoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the mountain cottage for 4 nights and it was simply perfect. The cottage is very well decorated. It's open plan which makes it very spacious. The kitchen area has everything you would want and more, the sitting area opens into the deck with beautiful views of the vineyards and mountains. The bed is very comfy we slept like angels! Next to the cottage is the Longridge Wine Estate with a perfect restaurant, but make sure to book ahead! You can make long walks through the neighbouring vineyards listening to the sound of birds. Lesley Ann and Robert are very nice people with eye for detail and comfort. We felt sorry to leave after for nights and will most certainly be back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicky F wrote a review Mar 2018
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at vinehill mountain view and had a great time. An early hiccup was quickly resolved and Lesley was most accommodating and helpful. It’s a great location just outside Stellenbosch and close to great wineries and restaurants. She has an array of pets, horse, cats, dogs, chickens and a pot bellied pig! Would recommend and look forward to returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley-ann L, Owner at Vinehill Guest Cottages
Responded 21 Jun 2018
Thanks for the positive crit Nicky. Hope to see you soon>
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Kate U wrote a tip Jan 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find another venue"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stellenbosch area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeStellenbosch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VINEHILL GUEST COTTAGES - Cottage Reviews (Stellenbosch, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Vinehill Guest Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Vinehill Guest Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Helderberg Nature Reserve (7.2 km), Root44 (2.3 km), and Blaauwklippen Wine Estate (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vinehill Guest Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Vinehill Guest Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Vinehill Guest Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vinehill Guest Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cavalli Restaurant, Rust en Vrede Restaurant, and Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vinehill Guest Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Vinehill Guest Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vergelegen Picnic (8.0 km).
All Stellenbosch HotelsStellenbosch Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in StellenboschHotels near Vinehill Guest Cottages
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire