We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bonniemile Road, Off M12, Stellenbosch 7599 South Africa
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (139)
Room & Suite (8)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20/10/02 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cultivar Guest Lodge
Updated 20/10/02 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 90 Speciality lodging in Stellenbosch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
If homelyness, exquisite location, professional and sincere South African hospitality is what you are looking for in a property – Cultivar Guest Lodge in Stellenbosch offers all this in one package. Nestled between the Stellenbosch mountains and vineyards, located 7 km from the town centre, lies the majestic Cultivar Guest Lodge. This property with its welcoming feel, endless green lawn areas, exhumes a feeling of utter relaxation and astonishment experienced by all visitors to the property. The building style and design of the main house, outside wings and balcony is in harmony with the surrounding backdrop of greenery and mountains. Cultivar consists of 16 individually decorated rooms that have all their own look and feel, still keeping in harmony with the ambiance of this property. Cultivar Guest Lodge still remains the most exclusive gem, your little piece of heaven, right in the heart of the Cape Winelands. We are looking forward to your visit!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
186Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 57
  • 13
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ImanPearce wrote a review Jan 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
My husband and I had the best stay! Welcomed the new year in a beautiful, peaceful location. We loved everything about our stay: the rooms, the pools, the views! The staff were friendly and always ready to help with any request. We will definitely be back again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultivar Guest Lodge, General Manager at Cultivar Guest Lodge
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Dear Iman, thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! We´re delighted that you had a great time with its and hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
GourmetAdvisor188113 wrote a review Mar 2020
Zurich, Switzerland40 contributions34 helpful votes
A road-panel to help to find the hotel is inexistant. The rooms have old fashioned looks which are not at all safe. We were not informed when the electric supply was interupted for hours although we asked several time for. There is no feeling at all of a responsible host Manager. All this together does not come up to a boutique hotel for the time beeing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultivar Guest Lodge, General Manager at Cultivar Guest Lodge
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback and the constructive critical feedback. We not only appreciate this but take it seriously. There are two road panels coming towards our lodge, one on each side of the main road M12. In South Africa, load shedding is a very common phenomenon which is indeed very bothering. The governmental company ESKOM then interrupts electricity for certain entire areas. So, every building in that specific area is then affected and has basically no influence on this. We do have a generator to have the fridges and freezers etc. going but yes, there then is an outtake in the rooms for a certain period of time. We only renovated the rooms in 2017, so we are a bit surprised by the feedback that they are old-fashioned. We take it here that tastes differ but we do always keep an eye on updating the interior when necessary. All the best from South Africa The Cultivar Guest Lodge Team
Read more
Alan A wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom425 contributions103 helpful votes
+1
We had a 2 night stay at Cultivar. The rooms are extremely good and set in beautiful landscaped gardens. There is a choice of 2 pools and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. It’s located a little outside Stellenbosch which means it is away from the main restaurants etc. But it was more relaxing for it and the town is only 20 minutes away by taxi. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultivar G, Owner at Cultivar Guest Lodge
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Dear 310alana, thank you so much for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
Shaun M wrote a review Mar 2020
Kloof, South Africa2 contributions
Beautiful setting with amazing views from some of the rooms. Rooms are quite sparse but clean. Take repellent - clouds of mosquitoes greet you in the evenings and early mornings. Very good breakfast selection. We never had wi-fi for all 3 days of our stay - reported it several times, but no solution offered. Staff seem tired and overworked - hardly ever received a smile and greetings were forced. Septic tank cleansing had been arranged for Friday evening! Very questionable timing. Fair drive to and from the centre of Stellenbosch.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultivar G, Owner at Cultivar Guest Lodge
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Hello there! Thanks a lot for your feedback, we really appreciate this! The mozzies are very annoying this year, that is true. However, we have already installed mosquito shields in front of the rooms windows now and that issue is solved :-) For the wifi, we unfortunately depend on our provider. It generally is very reliable, there are just certain times when signal interrupts when maintenance is done. The tank cleansing unfortunately is timed not by us but the supplier and we try our very best to not do it at night time but sometimes it is inevitable. We still hope that you had a good time at Cultivar Guest Lodge! Kind regards Barbara
Read more
Courtney wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
We had a great stay and especially enjoyed being able to braai outside our unit each evening. The unit was well appointed and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Thanks for having us at Cultivar.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Cultivar G, Owner at Cultivar Guest Lodge
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Courney, we're delighted that you had a great time at Cultivar. We´d love to welcome you back any time!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeStellenbosch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cultivar Guest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Cultivar Guest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Rupert Museum (6.5 km), Eagle Encounters, Stellenbosch, South Africa (3.5 km), and Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cultivar Guest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Cultivar Guest Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Cultivar Guest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cultivar Guest Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cultivar Guest Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kunjani Wines and Restaurant, The Restaurant at Clos Malverne, and Helena's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cultivar Guest Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cultivar Guest Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cultivar Guest Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cultivar Guest Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Cultivar Guest Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.