We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3 Salamander Street, Saldanha, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7395 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Destinia.com
Snaptravel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (4)

About

#5 of 10 in Saldanha
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Saldanha Bay Lodge is located on the Hoedjieskoppie below the Hoedjieskop Nature Reserve and is within walking distance to town, the beach, restaurants and other places of interest. All rooms are comfortable with en-suite bathrooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
16Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Elhaam A wrote a review Dec 2020
10 contributions
+1
We are currently staying in the 10 sleeper self catering main house. What can I say as the pics speak for it self. When we arrive yesterday we were welcomed by the cleaner. The house wasn't cleaned we had to clean it ourselves. In the one bedroom last night the room.was infested with ants. The cleaners was here to clean and then an hour later the ants was back. We called the manager Faanie to tell him about the condition of the place and he spoke to.the owner Gaynor and she refused to.refund us orto seek alternate accommodation. We are unhappy as we are unable to sleep in the one bedroom due to the ants. All we asked for was a clean place and clean toilets. We are unhappy as we paid alot of money for it and the owner point blanks refuse to accommodate us. I am in the travel industry and if I had a client t booked here he would.never stay here and demanded his money back. Unhappy client I wouldn't reccomend this place to.anyone. The rest of the place is so much different compared to this self catering house.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Termiet wrote a review Dec 2019
Somerset West, South Africa8 contributions2 helpful votes
I had a horrible reality check when we got to this Lodge. Please look at the pics I posted on Google review. Then compare them with those on the website. The two are worlds apart. I have paid in full for 2 rooms for 4 nights and got 2 backyard cubicles. There are also no burglar bars on the wide opening ground floor windows, the bathroom door fell from it rails, our bed linen had makeup stains on it when we got the room and more. I asked to be refunded in order for us to find alternative accommodations, but got the same answer as other disappointed guests. So yes, I got suckered too. I sincerely hope that this review will help to prevent anyone reading this, to not loose hard-earned money on the presumption that what is presented on the website, is what you will be receiving.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Parking is 4 car tandem. If you plan an early morning, you need to wake all who is parked behind...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jane wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked with Saldanha Bay Lodge and were moved to Saldanha Bay Inn because of a bigger group coming into the Lodge. We contacted Gaynor Francke inquiring about this move and she blamed it on the website we booked on. We told her that is not what we booked and paid for. We asked for a refund as this was not our mistake. We waited for 2 months just to get any response from Gaynor. We contacted the website and that also took long. The only way we got the refund was to go to HELLOPETER and report her there. Her client service and actions were very unprofessional. You will be disappointed if you book here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Dayzee wrote a review Jul 2019
Brackenfell, South Africa47 contributions2 helpful votes
We visit Saldanha Bay Lodge every year, and as always, we had a lovely stay. The rooms are spotless, and beds comfortable. Gaynor and her staff are awesome, and very accommodating of our requests. We look forward to our next visit
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Kim P wrote a review Jul 2017
1 contribution
A huge thank you to Gaynor and the staff at Hoedjiesbaai Lodge. I had a wonderful time with family at the lodge. Staff was very friendly and the accommodation pure comfort. Best way to end the school holidays as the Lodge is peaceful and close to shops. The unit is also filled with all that is needed for self catering. Will definitely see me again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Responded 26 Jul 2017
Dear Kim Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to review us. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again. Warm West Coast Regards Gaynor and the Team at Hoedjiesbaai Lodge
Read more
Debbie B wrote a review Apr 2017
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa32 contributions9 helpful votes
Terrible place to stay. They will never see me again. We were moved from one place to another. Property had guests that was very loud and noisy. The cups was so dirty and the microwave, did not want to drink out of it or use it. No shower mat infront of shower, no showergel or shampoo for guests. No decent tv channels to watch. Owner duck and dive not to deal with guests that complain. People staying in unit above us were arguing and the kids were breaking the place down. We complained but the owner sends the staff to come and sort out the problems. She did not believe us till we recorded the people that was going on like hooligans. This is really terrible. Staff get cocky when you complain about things thats dirty and not up to your requirements. You pay a lot of money to stay in the lodge so why put up with this crap. We insisted to leave a day earlier and we wanted our money back. Owner first said no, but when we played her the recording she wanted to move us to another room again, so i said no i am sorry, i am leaving. Never had such service in my life.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Responded 18 Apr 2017
Dear Debbie Thank you for your feedback. You had booked for the Easter weekend and before your arrival, I had explained to your husband that the room that you have is on the upper level and that it was located next to the lounge and Kitchen. He assured me that it was all in order. You gave the staff the impression that everything was fine until you called me about the noise from the other guests in the house. I was in Cape Town on Good Friday taking my fiance to the airport and I told you that I was not there. The staff gave you a choice of 3 rooms and upgraded you to the King Studio at no extra cost to you. On the Sunday morning, you again complained that the guests above you were noisy. I live right next door and did not hear anything but I gave you the benefit of the doubt since you had made a recording. Easter Weekend is a family weekend where families bring their children on holiday. You were irritated with the children and the families and I realised that nothing would satisfy you than to refund you despite our non-refundable policy. I also did not want our other guests to feel uncomfortable and that they could not enjoy themselves. I feel that we had gone out of our way to ensure your comfort and did everything within our power. As the owner, it is my right to enjoy some family time with my family over the Easter weekend. I also did not appreciate your racist comment that you had to speak with an African woman who you had felt was unhelpful. Kind Regards, Gaynor Francke Owner
Read more
ameliadenny wrote a review Feb 2017
Pretoria, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
Shocking state of the property - poor security, construction underway, workers coming and going, accommodation not the same as advertised. Communal kitchen and living area extremely small, televisions still being installed, swimming pool empty and being repaired - and this all three days before Christmas!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Responded 23 Feb 2017
Dear Mrs Amelia St. Leger Denny, Thank you for your feedback. Yes, we were busy with upgrades to the property and we apologise that there were areas that were still under construction. Like other hotels, we were in the process of trying to enhance our establishment, giving guests a better experience. Unfortunately, the building schedule did run longer than we had anticipated. We apologise for the inconvenience. There was not building rubble everywhere - there was some bricks standing in a corner of the garden which had been set aside for the builder to build the braai areas in the garden. Unfortunately, since we are in a small town, we have to order things in advance as all places had already closed for the holidays. The builder meant to do the swimming pool had disappointed us and had defrauded us, but we managed to find someone to replace him and had to cut our losses. We tried our very best to have it done before Christmas, but managed to have it filled with water before the new year. In addition to that, we had a setback with the unusual rain further delaying the process. I'd also like to add that we had not advertised the facility of a swimming pool so therefore there should not have been an expectation. We only advertised the swimming pool after completion. The room that you had booked was a Family Room and we are very clear in our room description that it is a room with en-suite bathroom only. The kitchen, lounge and dining area is available for guests in the main house to use. These facilities are a bonus for guests who wish to use it. The room is not advertised as self-catering. We do have self-catering units which we advertise, but you did not book one. We always strive to make our guests feel welcome and at home and I'm sorry that you did not have that experience with us. Warm West Coast Regards, Gaynor Francke (Owner)
Read more
jackiez258 wrote a review Jan 2017
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
Before traveling anywhere, it is my custom to call our accommodation and notify them of our approximate time of arrival. This we did before starting off on our road trip to Hoedjiesbaai Lodge in Saldahna Bay. On our arrival we were warmly welcomed by one of the staff members. She showed us around and reminded us that should we need anything, all we needed to do, was shout. Throughout our stay, the staff was literally just a shout away. Hoedjiesbaai lodge was undergoing a face-lift. Braai areas were being installed, and wooden tables and benches were being fitted in the outdoor area.We had braais on two nights and even invited some friends over. Other improvements were also being made to the establishment. New bathrooms and kitchens were being fitted and some of the units were being refurbished completely. There was an element of construction noise around the place. but because we were on the go most of the time, the noise didn't bother us at all. Hoedjiesbaai lodge was clean and neat. The bedding and towels were always fresh, white and crisp. Our experience at the lodge was a good one and we will definitely go back there should we be travelling through the friendly West Coast. .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: It is better to book the self catering units than the single rooms without the mini kitchen.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Responded 26 Jan 2017
Dear Jackie Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your kind words and for the feedback. You were the first guests to try out the new braai. Thank you for bearing with us while we completed the braai facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime! Warm West Coast Regards Gaynor Francke
Read more
Anneke D wrote a review Oct 2016
28 contributions1 helpful vote
We have a great friendly West coast welcome on arrival. Stayed in the beautiful apartment. We would recommend this place as a stop over for any traveller. Good value for money. Nice restaurant close by.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Vern001 wrote a review Apr 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked Hoedjiesbaai Lodge for a family holiday over Easter for myself, my wife and my mother and father (4 adults). Upon arrival we immediately did not like what we saw and this was definitely not the same as per the pictures advertised on websites. We decided not to stay the two nights and had to find alternative accommodation at my expense, and have to this day not received any refunds or feedback to my concerns raised in emails sent to them. Below are my concerns: •We were not in a Family room as per the reservations confirmation •The Hoejiesbaai Lodge set up is a house that rents out the rooms and not separate units •Our "room" did not have an en suite bathroom, which means we would have to walk down the corridor past other guests rooms to use our parents' room bathroom. Definitely not suitable at night. •Our room could not be locked from the outside, how are we supposed to go out and leave our possessions in the room? We were told by the lady that welcomed us not too worry as "people won't steal anything here". How would she know? •There is ONE kitchen for all guests in the house, not what was expected. •There is ONE braai for all guests in the house, not what was expected. Terrible service afterwards and on the day, I am extremely upset and still waiting for feedback.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Do not book if it can be helped
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from g F, Manager at Saldanha Bay Lodge
Responded 02 Oct 2016
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. We had responded to your complaint via the agency which you had made the booking with. We could however not refund you immediately at the time since the funds were not yet in our account but the agency. We had indeed refunded you after discussions with the agency. Since you had cancelled the booking on arrival, we had a cancellation policy in place which we could have upheld with regard to your refund but we chose to refund you. Since the incident had taken place over the Easter weekend which is a peak period, it was impossible to find a replacement booking since we had already indicated to all agencies and potential buyers that we were full. You had booked a family room which has a share bathroom for the exclusive use of only those two rooms and the kicthen, lounge and diner are for the exclusive use of the guests in the main house and is thus at their disposal. The self-catering "units" is something different to a family "room". The self catering units have their own kitchen etc. unlike a family room or a double room. We had made adjustments to our advertising and placed more empahsis on the communal guest areas such as the kitchen, lounge and diner in the main house which is for the exclusive use of only those guests and the self-catering units have their own kitchens and amenities. Guests thus booking the double room or family room have an en-suite bathroom with access to the communal kitchen (should they wish to cook), lounge, diner and balcony in the main house. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your family with this misunderstanding. Warm West Coast Regards Gaynor Francke Manager
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$46 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeSaldanha Bay MunicipalitySaldanha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Saldanha Bay Lodge
Is parking available at Saldanha Bay Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Saldanha Bay Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cup of Cake, Captains, and The Sandstone Cafe & Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Saldanha Bay Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is Saldanha Bay Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Saldanha.