Shades of Africa Guesthouse

Shades of Africa Guesthouse

Traveller (46)
Küche
Dining (7)
Pool/garden view at night
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#22 of 44 guest houses in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Shades of Africa Guesthouse and Boutique Olive Estate is situated in the heart of heritage Oudtshoorn amongst shady orchards of olives, pomegranates and flat top acacias. Centered around one of the last remaining Ostrich Baron Tower Houses in Oudtshoorn, the three beautifully restored historic sandstone buildings are separated from each other by private Victorian style gardens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Special diet menus
Bicycles available
Golf course
Babysitting
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Table tennis
Children's television networks
Pushchairs
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans

Location

173 Hoog Street, Oudtshoorn 6625 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
George Airport
52Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MurphyT99 wrote a review Jan 2020
Providence, Rhode Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Shades of Africa could not have been a more perfect spot for a few days in Oudtshoorn. Lizanne and Graham and the girls were fantastic hosts, with attention to every detail. The Carriage House was beautiful and perfect for our family of four. Shades of Africa is safe, clean, beautifully decorated, and close to everything.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julia H wrote a review Nov 2018
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a gorgeous property and extremely helpful hosts who made our experience of Oudtshoorn one of our favourite places. The accommodation was very comfortable, clean and stylish. Graham was very interesting and hospitable. Breakfast on the veranda was delicious. I would highly recommend a stay here - can’t wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizanne P, Owner at Shades of Africa Guesthouse
Responded 05 Dec 2018
Dear Julia Thank you for your lovely review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yweinstock wrote a review Apr 2017
herzliya, Israel
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This has to be one of the nicest places I have stayed anywhere in the world (and I have traveled a LOT). The rooms (actually, suites) feel like a beautiful boutique hotel, the bathrooms are luxurious, breakfast delicious, and best of all, the hosts are thoughtful and extremely helpful. Don't think twice before booking here!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ZAJB wrote a review Dec 2016
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Did not get to stay at the establishment and frankly speaking thankful to not be!

Contrary to the reviews below, the Lizanne I encountered had a totally different persona altogether. Infuriated by her own lack of understanding of a "free cancellation up to 3 days before arrival" led to a request for details to invoice and claim payment which I refused. An apology was tendered, citing a recent change in policy as the reason. Following this an extremely unprofessional, uncalled for email followed a day later. A telephone call from myself to address this incurred the wrath of person on the other end of the line that screamed non-stop before ending the call.

Messages to request the moving of a sleeper coach from one room to another allowing a family to stay together and having an alternative to pork meat at breakfast for halaal friends, were dubbed as sweat-talk to get the red carpet rolled out for my guests. If basic requests like that are viewed as red carpet events, I dread to experience a normal night in this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma B wrote a review Oct 2018
Orewa, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Looking at the reviews on here it seems that a couple of other people have had a similar experience, which seems to come about when there is an issue. Unfortunately for us, the owners were so rude and aggressive that we decided not to stay for the night and found accommodation elsewhere.

We had just made the long 5 hour drive from Cape Town and were looking forward to a comfortable stay prior to our visit to Cango Caves the next day. The price was relatively high for one night in Outdshoorn (NZD177/ 1,667 ZAR), but we had decided it would be worth it as we needed cooking facilities, as well as a good night's sleep. Our son has a serious medical condition which means we need to prepare his meals ourselves, and the listing was very clear that cooking facilities were available in our room, with our reservation stating the following were included: refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, dining area, electric kettle, kitchenware, toaster, tea/ coffee maker, wine glasses. I've included a screen shot so you can see what we were told was included. To us this sounds like a decent kitchen - right?

However, when the on-site manager showed us to the room, it was obvious these items were not in the room. Although it was very nicely furnished, with many attractive touches, there was no ability to store the food we had travelled with, prepare a meal, or even make a cup of tea. We raised this immediately with the manager hoping they could provide us with the room we had reserved, and although she was very understanding and pleasant, ultimately she could not help. She explained the property does not do self-catering and none of the rooms have kitchens or even kitchenettes - which clearly would not work for us. She said she may be able to talk to the owner and see if we could use the communal kitchen in the main house, i.e. a separate building and quite a walk away. This was also not really ideal for us after a long drive, being tired and with a small child, and for the price we were paying, we really didn't feel it was an acceptable solution. However, we asked to speak to the owner to see how we could resolve the situation - we understand that misunderstandings can occur, and were expecting to have a solution-focused discussion that would help us deal with the issue at hand.

However, the response from the owner was pretty much the opposite of what we were expecting. Instead of trying to understand our situation and fix it, the owners (specifically the female owner, who did not provide her name) were defensive, angry and downright aggressive. I can honestly say that in all my years of travelling (which are quite a few, we're no spring chickens) I have never come across such appalling customer service. As soon as we pointed out that we were expecting kitchen facilities (which are stated as being included, in black and white on our confirmation), the discussion escalated into an enraged rant about how they had been extremely hospitable, we were completely wrong, and everything was our fault. We had previously emailed to confirm that the room would have a single bed (for our son) and a double (for us), as we understand that bed configurations can vary in the same room, based on requirements. According to the owners, we should also have confirmed any other "special requests" at this time via email - i.e. the inclusion of kitchen facilities in our room. Of course, since kitchen facilities were written on the listing, we hadn't bothered to confirm they were included, any more than we had bothered to confirm the room had a bathroom and the bed had pillows. However according to the female owner (shouted to us down the phone, with a few swear words thrown in - "You're making an a*se out of you and me!"), we should have known that a 44sm room could not possibly have cooking facilities, with the implication being that we were crazy and unrealistic, and perhaps just a bit stupid. We have all travelled a lot all over the world for both business and pleasure (including in South Africa), and are familiar with how accommodation listings work - it is totally possible to fit kitchen facilities into a room of that size, and if those facilities are listed as part of the room, it means...they are in the room. Having a kitchen (or washing machine, or tumble dryer) in another room, or another BUILDING - is certainly not the same thing, and to list these items under the room description is at best misleading, and bordering on fraudulent.

Anyway - by now things were unbearably heated and it seemed that the female owner was more focused on proving a point than assisting us. She told us we could use the communal kitchen in the building that our room was in, and it should be "good enough" for us. At this point the manager explained to the owner that this would not actually be possible, as they were out of gas. The owner then told us we should just leave if we didn't want to stay at their property, and "Oudtshoorn is fully booked, so good luck finding anywhere else to stay". Quite charming. She became so aggressive that the manager took the phone back and ended the call, as it was embarrassing for everyone else involved.

By this stage it was around 5pm so it was pretty upsetting to find out that on top of having been given a room that did not meet the description, we had no way to feed our child, and possibly nowhere else to stay. However, we felt we really didn't have a choice given how unpleasant the owner was being, and fortunately within about five minutes we were able to make a reservation 5 minutes from the Cango Caves, at less than half the price of Shades of Africa, and with kitchen facilities in the (smaller than 44sm) room.

I guess the owner didn't like this outcome and wanted to keep berating us, as she subsequently sent us four long text messages telling us why we were wrong to expect kitchen facilities, and that we should have used "a degree of logic" to understand that the facilities we were expecting "can not all possibly be inside a 44sm room". We didn't respond, as by this time we felt we were dealing with a rather childish playground bully, and just wanted to find somewhere to eat and rest for the night - which we achieved quite easily.

Probably worth mentioning that it wasn't just the kitchen facilities that were misrepresented on the room details. We found out that there was also no wifi in the room ('due to the thick walls'?), and there was also no 'separate entrance', no washing machine, no tumble dryer, and of the two pools on the property, one was empty, and the other was green and not suitable for swimming.

I guess if you are expecting a straight-forward B&B, this could be a good place to stay, as long as you don't end up with an issue that requires involvement from the owners. For us, no amount of tasteful decor can make up for the abusive attitude we received. This could be a great property if the listings were updated to be accurate, and the owners learned how to treat their guests when things don't go as expected. When travelling you get used to things not always being perfect, but empathy and a professional, courteous approach can go a long way. Unfortunately in this situation, that was sorely lacking.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizanne P, Owner at Shades of Africa Guesthouse
Responded 16 Oct 2018
I suggest that all guests reading this response look up our listing on booking.com and you will note that we are a Bed and Breakfast not a self catering establishment The guest above never informed us even upon a enquiry from us that they have special needs or requirements, arrived at the guesthouse and demanded a kitchen facility in their room. After explaining to them that there is a fully fitted kitchen in their house plus they have the use of the guesthouse kitchen to prepare meals they would not budge. We therefor had to request that they depart from our property as their uncompromising attitudes were potentially disturbing to our other valued guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ipeleng P wrote a review Jan 2017
South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, to be clear, I am rating the service I received from the manager/owner Liz, rather than the property itself. Starting with the positives, this property is really nice, well decorated. The bedrooms are spacious and just what we needed after a bit of a hard festive season. We relaxed, enjoyed the pool. The service man/manager/chef was very friendly and so welcoming. He was chatty but not in your face. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Unfortunately, I was also dealing with Liz over email and this must have been the most horrendous service I have received from an establishment....and I do use a lot of places as I travel quite a lot - both for work and pleasure. From the beginning, I found Liz's attitude defensive and slightly aggressive. I made a mistake as I thought I saw a room with two single beds - which was not the case. But instead of being amicable, friendly and solution orientated, Liz told me that I might be better looking for another place elsewhere.... But this was not what really upset me with Liz and how she treats her guests. On the pictures of the place I booked there is a kitchen, fully equipped with a stove. On my confirmation email, on the long list of facilities available, a stove and oven is mentioned - in black and white. This is one of the main reasons I booked Shades of Africa. I have an autoimmune disease and it is absolutely important to me that I prepare as many of my meals as possible. The list of foods I cannot eat is long and bothersome to be fair, but that is my life. As we entered Oudtshoorn, I went to buy my food so I can prepare it. I prefer to do things like roasted salted carrots and cauliflower to snack on. And I usually prepare my salads and some meat. I was told by the service man that the stove was not working but he would try to fix it for me. Later on, he came to inform me that essentially, I could not cook. I was okay with it actually - because this man was a gentleman and amicable in how he was communicating. I then received an email from Liz saying that the establishment offers B&B and not self-catering. I did not like the tone of her email because I felt there was something condescending about the way she had been communicating with me overall. I replied with a copy of the booking confirmation - outlining that the stove and oven are clearly stated as facilities offered by the establishment. This spiraled into emails back and forth from Liz and myself. Liz recons that even if I see pictures of a stove and oven, and see on my booking confirmation that there is a stove and oven, I should still pick up the phone to double check if I can use the facilities. This does not make sense to me...if they did not want people to use these things, they should say so...and preferably not show them as facilities that are offered. I then asked Liz, what else COULD WE NOT USE as it was really wishy-washy? She never responded to me but instead went on a tirade of telling me that she had asked me if I had special requests in the emails that she sent initially. I did not even respond to those emails because I honestly did not have special requests. I had a stove and oven and was convinced I could prepare my own food, so was not going to bother them about the long list of foods, spices and condiments I cannot eat. Not once did Liz try to offer me a solution. She was a 0/100 in terms of service delivery, empathy or offering a solution. In the meantime, it was still not clear to me which facilities we could use and which ones we couldn't use as Liz did not bother to clarify. I told Liz that she needs to treat her guests better, talk to them better - because she does not know our stories and our struggles. I had just come home from the North West from the first festive season without my dad - who passed away in July. I was with my sister and my daughter. We have had a really hard time and were feeling fragile. I do not expect this to be Liz's problem but I think she needs to think twice about her attitude and the way she treats people. She has no idea of the battles I have had and how I have come to be in Oudtshoorn. Kindness goes a long way Liz...I hope you treat your other guests with less dismissal than you did with me. I am not sure why you were so defensive about a stove and oven...it does not make sense to me. Either way, your manager/service guy had already settled this with me. If you had bothered to find out and the way he handled it make me okay with not cooking. I am baffled at why you became so personal about using a stove and oven. Even if you had called me to explain why not...I think I would have been okay with a good old explanation. Not the defensive, back and forth emails that you sent me. Funny thing is that we really enjoyed our stay at Shades of Africa. It was exactly what we needed to close off the holidays and soothe our souls. But the way you treated me left a bitter taste in my mouth.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Spacious rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShadesofAfrica, Owner at Shades of Africa Guesthouse
Responded 12 Jan 2017
Yes, we have four fully equipped kitchens at our guesthouse; however, we are not listed as Self-Catering. The luxury manor house accommodation at Shades of Africa that you booked also has two Chefs and a Butler who cater for special requirements by reservation. Hence, our personalized emails to all guests ahead of their arrival, the email you did not bother to reply to. Most airplanes and hotels have kitchens, you may see a photo of the kitchen on "Emirates" or at the "George V" on their own or a third party "booking.com" marketing material; however, to presume that you may use the kitchen to prepare your own cooked meals carries no logic. To assume, get angry, insulting and become malicious as you have become when told you may not assume, is very childish. Kind regards Shades of Africa Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gillian M wrote a review Jan 2019
Kent, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Two years ago we stayed at this property and had a fabulous time. How things have changed. Despite directly booking over a year ago with a lot of emailing conversation, they had no knowledge of our reservation. Luckily, the lovely Apronia managed to clean the room and accommodate us..much to our relief. I send a factual email to the owner,as I had booked directly with her...for clarity this is my email..
Just arrived and to my shock we haven't got a booking.
How annoying is that?
Lucky it's available.
Also just been told we now have to pay for the cooked breakfast.  You should have told me this prior to booking as it was all included last time.
All very disappointing

I was then summoned to the phone by the owner, Lizanne, started ranting at me that she could have us thrown off the property and how dare I email her and disturb her on a sunday!! Literally, she yelled at me for 20 minutes...i was in shock at her utter rudeness and belligerence.
I just wanted to leave but as we were 4 people travelling in January I worried we wouldn't find anywhere else. However, I wish we'd have moved.
The pool was dirty, slimy and green, the wifi useless, the bedroom had been prepared for decorating and abandoned, the bath enamel chipping off, grass needed cutting, no aircon, dog poo in the garden. Poor Apronia tried her best but it was so so disappointing to be so abused by an owner of a guest house and that totally spoilt our time there. Unfortunately our next location could not accommodate us early so we had to stay. The vile manager didn't even attempt an apology although gave a small discount which was the same price she had already agreed! Oh and a very sweet unlabelled bottle of fizzy plonk.
Nothing would make me return.
Do yourself a favour...stay away
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PORTSETONMAN wrote a review Mar 2017
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Outstanding Bed and Breakfast in Oudtshoorn. Huge rooms, tastefully decorated. Ours had a lovely pool at the end of the balcony; shared with the room next door.

A lovely breakfast was served each day on the veranda. We found the owners and staff to be very friendly and helpful.

One of the most impressive and memorable places we have ever stayed. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendygoesaround wrote a review Dec 2016
Mol, Belgium
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice house, perfect if you book with family as there are only 2 rooms in each house. Very nice decorated & clean. Nice restaurant within walking distance.
Oudtshoorn itself did not impressed us though but the comfortable house and friendly service did.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LeonHoman wrote a review Mar 2016
Pretoria, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a beautiful venue. Staff so friendly. Excellent facilities from rooms and communal facilities. Very nice breakfast. A must to visit if you are in Oudtshoorn. Would definitely return. Very central to town. Just a short walk to center of town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Carrolfam wrote a tip Nov 2017
Cape Town, South Africa33 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"SoA is located right in the middle of town which is very convenient when getting around!"
Read full review
CazK1974 wrote a tip May 2017
Hout Bay, South Africa24 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the Manor House, which comprised of both the garden and the pool suites."
Read full review
Ipeleng P wrote a tip Jan 2017
South Africa19 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spacious rooms"
Read full review
Megvan14 wrote a tip Jan 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any room would be AMAZING"
Read full review
Esdeka wrote a tip Nov 2015
Tilburg, The Netherlands338 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room in the carriage house is next to the garden and next tot the seating area."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oudtshoorn area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOudtshoorn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHADES OF AFRICA GUESTHOUSE - Reviews (Oudtshoorn, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Shades of Africa Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Shades of Africa Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Swartberg Pass (1.1 km), Cango Ostrich Show Farm (0.4 km), and Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shades of Africa Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Shades of Africa Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Shades of Africa Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shades of Africa Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nostalgie Restaurant, Bello Cibo Restaurant, and Jemima's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shades of Africa Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Shades of Africa Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Oudtshoorn.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shades of Africa Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Shades of Africa Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arbeidsgenot (1.0 km) and St Jude's Anglican Church (0.3 km).
Is Shades of Africa Guesthouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Oudtshoorn HotelsOudtshoorn Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OudtshoornHotels near Shades of Africa Guesthouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire