We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queens Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Queens Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 266: English reviews
Start your review of Queens Hotel
 Click to rate
George, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

At short notice decided to visit KKNK and was pleasantly surprised to get accommodation at this lovely jewel in Oudtshoorn. Very friendly and helpful staff, warm and inviting ambiance. Returning in 2018 for another wonderful experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerrie V
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Breakfast at Queen's Hotel is a must at Oudtshoorn. Lovely buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Scrumptious breakfast. After an amazing weekend at the KKNK - no better way to end a perfect weekend with amazing people at Queens Hotel with a 5 Star Breakfast! Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanno B
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Hanno, I trust that you will visit us again at KKNK 2018

Knysna
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the Queens hotel during Oudtshoorn's annual KKNK festival. We couldnt have asked for a better location as we could park our car and walk wherever we needed to be. We stayed in the family room which was spacious, had puffy white bedding (a must!), aircon (another must) was very clean, and comfy. Breakfast in the stunning...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank esterv387
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay. See you again next year.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about the hotel is wonderful - the rooms spotless, the reception warm and welcoming and situated in the heart of this beautiful town. The big disappointment was the two restaurants - meals not really tasty and the service unacceptable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank antonv767
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. You have stayed with us during the annual arts festival, an extremely busy time, which could had an influence in your experience at the restaurant and the coffee shop.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here before, durind our annual visit to the KKNK. The hotel is ideally situated in the central of town. Rooms can be bigger. The restaurant serve an excellent breakfast and the alla cart menu is great. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. You can't go wrong.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP S
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

JP, I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The room sizes is an historic fact that we unfortunately cannot do anything about, but is still bigger that most hotels of the same age in the European cities. I trust that we will see you again at KKNK 2018

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely time at the Queen's Hotel! Beautiful decor, stunning location for KKNK. My highlight was definitely the breakfast! The walls are a bit thin, so you do get woken up early, but then you get to take a shower in their awesome facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eleneb2017
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. See you again at KKNK 2018

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

old but with very good maintanance I guess tht parts of it where renovated lately The hotel is well situated at the center, very clean The bad was too hard for us Good breakfast, but not more than good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oferta10
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

The Queen's Hotel in Oudtshoorn is the third oldest hotel in South Africa and we pride our self to keep it well maintained.

Silsoe Bedfordshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the hotel looks slightly dated in decor, I thought this added to its old world charm.It is very clean and comfortable. It is in an excellent location for visiting the town and provides delicious breakfast and dinner. The staff were very helpful. Parking is secure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank margaretcP666JB
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Margaret, I am glad that you had a pleasant experience with us.

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The fourth hotel on the Saga Game Route tour. The Queens Hotel, named after Queen Elizabeth II after her visit as Princess Elizabeth with her father, (George VI) her mother, and Princess Margaret in 1947. It has retained the colonial air although Oudtshoorn is a very ordinary South African town, but it is surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pgp394
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Kokhav Yair
Reviewed 9 March 2017

After visiting Hermanus, Svellendam and Mossel Bay, we settled for one night at Queens Hotel in Oudtshoorn. This hotel is in a "colonial" building, in which also the furniture and the entire atmosphere have a colonial flavor. The breakfast was tasty, the staff was friendly, the wifi enjoyable. After breakfast we went to see the impressive stalactites and stalagmites in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yehuda70
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated.

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 km away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
289 reviews
1.7 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
466 reviews
1.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
25.7 km away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
166 reviews
0.3 km away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: R828 - R1 657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Queens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not at the main street side, it might be noisy”
oferta10, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Hotel ;ocation and parking is great - breakfast too - but dinner less so.”
L3027TWlindaw, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs, front of premises”
jennymR3680UZ, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room faced the busy main street with the cafes and eateries, but it was okay for me as I liked it that way.”
369theresac, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms very small, no fridge and very tiny bathroom.”
R2581YLmaryd, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5